LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Great Shelby Holmes Meets Her Match

Written by Elizabeth Eulberg

Illustrated by Matt Robertson

Featured Books for 7+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers General Fiction Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on The Great Shelby Holmes Meets Her Match

In a nutshell: Sherlock Holmes given a clever, lively twist

Shelby Holmes is a nine-year old genius with a gift for solving crimes thanks to her extraordinary powers of observation and deduction. In this she’s helped by her friend John Watson, and John it is who records their adventures in his online journal. Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes stories have inspired lots of adaptations and imitations, but Shelby Holmes is the real deal and Elizabeth Eulberg’s series has everything that makes the originals so compelling and addictive. The central mysteries are intriguing, Shelby’s hypotheses always fascinating and the relationship between Shelby and John while spiky is full of real warmth and understanding. This is great detective fiction for kids and should inspire them to seek out the originals too.  ~ Andrea Reece

LoveReading4Kids

The Great Shelby Holmes Meets Her Match Synopsis

Being friends with a super sleuth isn't easy, especially when she's nine years old and four feet tall. But for 11-year-old aspiring writer John Watson, being friends with Shelby Holmes is just the adventure he's looking for. In the few weeks since moving into Harlem with his mum, Shelby has been training John in the art of observation - a skill that comes in handy on the very first day of school. John's new teacher, Mr Cobb, is acting suspiciously, and Shelby knows this is a mystery worth investigating. Something important has gone missing, but as Shelby and John dig deeper into the mystery of the Cobb caper, they discover that there may be someone unexpected involved. Could Shelby Holmes have finally met her match? Girl power comes to Baker Street in a book that's perfect for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce and Robin Stevens.

The Great Shelby Holmes Meets Her Match Reader Reviews

Some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel members were lucky enough to read and review the first in this series, The Great Shelby Holmes Girl Detective. Click here to read their full reviews.

  • Kate Buckley, age 10 - Burford School - 'I thoroughly enjoyed this book and recommended to ages 8 plus. It is very humorous and you always want to read on.'    
  • Huxley Glen, age 6 - 'This was a very well written book which was very funny and had lots of funny characters.'
  • Rachel George, age 10 - 'Silly, mysterious - I couldn't put it down.'
  • Bella, age 9 - 'This book is fun to read and the characters are great.'
  • Toby Little, age 9 - 'I liked this book because it shows how two people can be friends even if they are very different.'
  • Ellen, age 7 - 'When a boy moves in [called John Watson] Shelby is taken by surprise because of his detective type of brain! When a winning dog is stolen she and Watson are caught in a case. Can they solve it?'
  • Isabella Glover, age 9 - 'a bit funny but overall it’s a good book.'
  • Robyn Chorley, age 8 - 'A fun story but a bit too confusing.'
  • Charlie Dunn, age 9 - 'I hope this is the start of a series because you can't help but like the characters and smile at the things they say and do.'

The Great Shelby Holmes Meets Her Match Press Reviews

Mystery fans may try to solve the case, but most, like John, will enjoy just hanging out with Shelby to see what happens next  Booklist

Brisk pacing, likable characters, a few silly Holmes jokes ... and a diverse neighborhood, carefully and realistically described by John, are ingredients for success. A smart, fresh take on an old favorite makes for a terrific series kickoff    Kirkus Reviews

In this series opener, Eulberg (We Can Work It Out) creates a lively present-day update of Sherlock Holmes, one with plenty of winks to the source material. Readers will delight in Shelby's ability to read clues in this well-plotted mystery and sympathize with Watson who, along with the rest of the supporting cast, is generally two steps behind Shelby.  Publishers Weekly

Readers will delight in Shelby's ability to read clues in this well-plotted mystery and sympathize with Watson who, along with the rest of the supporting cast, is generally two steps behind Shelby.  Publisher's Weekly

If you loved this, you might like these...

Pages & Co.: Tilly and the Lost Fairy Tales
Check Mates
Return to Wonderland
My Cousin Is a Time Traveller

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781408871492
Publication date: 11/01/2018
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781408871492
Publication date: 11th January 2018
Author: Elizabeth Eulberg
Illustrator: Matt Robertson
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 256 pages
Suitable for: 7+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: General Fiction
Recommendations: eBooks, Reviewed by Children

About Elizabeth Eulberg

Elizabeth Eulberg was born and raised in Wisconsin before heading off to make a career in the New York City book biz. Now a full-time writer, she is the author of The Lonely Hearts Club, Prom & Prejudice, Take a Bow, Revenge of the Girl with the Great Personality, Better Off Friends and We Can Work it Out. 

More About Elizabeth Eulberg

More Books By Elizabeth Eulberg

Cover for The Great Shelby Holmes Girl Detective by Elizabeth Eulberg
View All Books By Elizabeth Eulberg

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×