Neverworld Wake

Written by Marisha Pessl

Fantasy / Magical Featured Books for Young Adults Horror / Ghost Stories Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on Neverworld Wake

In a Nutshell: Chilling Groundhog Day mystery

This smart sci-fi-infused thriller sees a group of friends faced with having to make the mother of all life and death decisions.

The night Bee decides to visit her estranged friends one year on from the mysterious death of her enigmatic boyfriend, Jim, ends with them involved in a car accident, and then they’re dealt a gut-wrenching revelation by a strange old man. Initially dismissive, the friends are soon hit by the realisation that the stranger isn’t just some random crazy, and they really must make the hideous decision he issues them with.

While the rest of the group dive into destruction mode, Bee makes some profound realisations: “Without time, nothing had meaning.” Throughout Bee is an engaging narrator, her language and thoughts incisive, measured, lucidly poetic. As her world implodes, she wonders if their situation is somehow because of Jim, whose “death had been the earthquake that swallows cities”. His death continues to cause monumental convulsions as they try to figure out what happened to him, which sees their group dynamic disintegrate into a tangle of distrust. Throw in the secrets of a cult time-travel novel, a showdown with Jim’s parents, and a whole lot of ricocheting revelations, and you have a compelling cauldron of end-days detective fiction.  

Joanne Owen

Neverworld Wake Synopsis

A compulsive, read-in-one-sitting suspense novel for fans of One Of Us Is Lying and The Hazel Wood.

Trust no-one.

Fear everything.

Five friends - the beautiful elite at their exclusive prep school - reunite a year after graduation. After a night out, they narrowly avoid a collision with a car on a deserted road. Back at the mansion belonging to one of the girls, a storm rages and a mysterious man knocks on the door, announcing something world-shattering. The friends must make a choice: one of them will live, and the rest will die. And the decision must be unanimous. So begins the Neverworld Wake. The nightmare. The nothingness. Time backbends and they are fated to repeat that day, but fears are now physical and memories come alive in horrifying ways. How will they vote? And will they be able to escape the Neverworld?

 

Neverworld Wake Press Reviews

Praise for Special Topics in Calamity Physics

‘A page-turning murder mystery with a gratifying complex plot’  Guardian

‘Beneath the foam of this exuberant debut is a dark, strong drink’  Jonathan Franzen

Praise for Night Film

‘Precision-engineered to be read at high velocity’  New York Times

‘Deliciously spine-tingling [...] all-consuming and mind-altering.’  Daily Telegraph

If you loved this, you might like these...

Kingdom of Ash
Spellslinger 4: Soulbinder
Dark Tracks
The Lost Witch

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781407187952
Publication date: 07/06/2018
Publisher: Scholastic
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781407187952
Publication date: 7th June 2018
Author: Marisha Pessl
Publisher: Scholastic
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 336 pages
Suitable for: YA readers
Genres: Fantasy / Magical, Horror / Ghost Stories
Recommendations: eBooks
Other Categories: Summer Reading

About Marisha Pessl

Marisha Pessi in her own words "I'm a New York Times bestselling author. My first novel, Special Topics in Calamity Physics, was named one of the ten best books of the year by the New York Times. My second book, Night Film, was named a best book by NPR, Cosmopolitan and Bookpage, and is currently in development with Chernin Entertainment at 20th Century Fox. My books have been published in over twenty-five languages. I grew up in Asheville, North Carolina and currently live with my family in ...

More About Marisha Pessl

Share this book

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.

NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×