Oscar and the CATastrophe

Written by Alan MacDonald

Illustrated by Sarah Horne

Adventure Stories Books of the Month - <b>December</b> Family / Home Stories Featured Books for 3+ readers Featured Books for 5+ readers Featured Books for 7+ readers Humorous Recommended Children's eBooks Star Books Animals

LoveReading View on Oscar and the CATastrophe

August 2018 Book of the Month | A Julia Eccleshare Pick of the Month August 2018 |  Oscar the talking dog is back for a wittily entertaining third adventure with his friend and owner Sam. Oscar’s problem is the very big white cat who suddenly arrives to live next door; Oscar hates all cats but he hates Carmen especially because she sits in all his favourite places. Sam is more worried that there’s a thief on the loose and his mother’s ring has gone missing. Is there a connection between Oscar and Sam’s worries? And can they help the police solve the mystery? With lots of twists and turns along the way Oscar and Sam play a key role in this fun adventure. - Julia Eccleshare

Julia Eccleshare's Picks of the Month for August 2018

Once Upon A Wild Wood by Chris Riddell

Oscar and the CATastrophe by Sarah Horne

Run Wild by Gill Lewis

Peril in Paris (Taylor & Rose: Secret Agents) by Katherine Woodfine

The Garden of Hope by Isabel Otter

Julia Eccleshare M.B.E

Oscar and the CATastrophe Synopsis

The third book in a brilliantly funny new series for 6+ readers from bestselling Dirty Bertie author Alan MacDonald, about a boy and his incredible talking dog.

Sam had a very ordinary life, until Oscar the dog arrived on his doorstep. Because Oscar has a big secret - he can talk! Oscar usually has a lot to say on any subject, but in this book something makes him speechless . . . a CAT has moved in next door! And Carmen the pampered feline is almost as much of a nightmare neighbour as her owner, Mrs Bentley-Wallop. But Sam and Oscar have bigger things to worry about. When a jewel thief strikes, it's time for the daring duo to turn detective . . . Can they sniff out the culprit before it's too late?

Don't miss Oscar's other adventures! Book 1: Ask Oscar Book 2: Oscar and the Dognappers.

Perfect for fans of Spydog, Jeremy Strong, Horrid Henry and Pamela Butchart's Wigglesbottom Primary series.

Oscar and the CATastrophe Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to the review by one of the Lovereading4kids editorial experts some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel members were also lucky enough to read and review this title. Click here to read the full reviews.

  • Sam Briggs, Age 8 - 'A great book about a talking dog, his owner, some cats, a robbery and a surprise ending to the mystery. Definitely worth a read!'
  • Edith Andrews, Age 5 - 'Hilarious book with lots of scope for voices when you read aloud. My 5 year old laughed a lot.'
  • Charlotte Walker - 'A delightful story and a beautifully illustrated book!'
  • Amatullah Khatun, age 8 - 'Amatullah loved this book! She kept giggling at all the funny bits. I couldn’t wait to read it after her.'

If you loved this, you might like these...

Trouble Next Door
Flat Stanley - Chapter Book
Milly-Molly-Mandy & Co
The First Christmas Jumper and the Sheep Who Changed Everything

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781405287241
Publication date: 09/08/2018
Publisher: Egmont Books Ltd an imprint of Egmont UK Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781405287241
Publication date: 9th August 2018
Author: Alan MacDonald
Illustrator: Sarah Horne
Publisher: Egmont Books Ltd an imprint of Egmont UK Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 144 pages
Suitable for: 3+ readers, 5+ readers, 7+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, Family / Home Stories, Humorous, Animals
Recommendations: Books of the Month, Julia Eccleshare's Picks, eBooks, Star Books
Other Categories: Reviewed by Children

About Alan MacDonald

Alan was born in Watford and went to university in Bangor, North Wales, where he studied English and Drama. He started working life in a travelling theatre company, visiting schools all over the country & writing much of their material. He says it was a useful apprenticeship - if the audience didn't like the play, they talked through it or threw bits of paper at the actors. He very quickly learned what children liked.Alan later trained as a drama teacher at Nottingham University, but most of his work in connection with the theatre has been as a writer or ...

More About Alan MacDonald

More Books By Alan MacDonald

Cover for Frights and Bites Fangs! Scream! Zombie! by Alan MacDonald
Cover for Mascot! by Alan MacDonald
Cover for My Doodle Book! by Alan MacDonald
View All Books By Alan MacDonald

Share this book

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.

NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×