LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Holly Webb - Author

About the Author

Holly Webb was born and grew up in south-east London, but spent a lot of time on the Suffolk coast. As a child, she had two dogs, a cat, and at one point, nine gerbils (an accident). At about ten, Holly fell in love with stories from Ancient Greek myths, which led to studying Latin and Greek, and eventually to reading Classics at university. She worked for five years as a children's fiction editor, before deciding that writing was more fun, and easier to do from a sofa.  She started writing several years ago while working as a children’s books editor. She has written over ninety books including the Animal Stories, My Naughty Little Puppy and Maisie Hitchins series for Stripes Publishing. Holly has also written In The Clever Little Kitten for World Book Day and a sequel to The Secret GardenHolly Webb lives in Berkshire with her husband, children and three cats.

Author photo credit: Nigel Bird

 

Featured books by Holly Webb

A Tiger Tale

A Tiger Tale

7+ readers

Author: Holly Webb Format: Paperback Release Date: 04/09/2014

A moving story about coping with loss from bestselling author Holly Webb. Kate's grandfather has died and she's missing him desperately. Her Mum wants Kate to talk about it, but it only makes Kate angry. Granddad has gone and he's never coming back. At least she has her toy tiger, Amos, to keep her company. It was a present from Granddad, and somehow holding him close makes Granddad seem less far away. But she doesn't expect Amos to turn into a real tiger - a big, comforting, friendly tiger who smells of Granddad, and sounds like him too.

ebook of the month

Other books by Holly Webb

Sky

Sky

Author: Holly Webb Format: Hardback Release Date: 02/09/2021

Staying with her grandparents in the Scottish Highlands, Lara is fascinated by the rare white snowy owl her grandad has spotted flying nearby. And when she follows the beautiful bird into the woods, it leads her on a magical adventure... Transported a century back in time, Lara befriends Amelia, who confides in Lara about her cruel cousin, who she's sure is trying to hurt the baby owls nesting in the woods. When Lara discovers the hatchlings belong to her owl, Sky, she's determined to help. But how can she protect them when she needs to return to her own time? An enchanting and magical time-slip adventure from best-selling author Holly Webb. For fans of Michael Morpurgo and THE SNOW FOAL, this is the perfect book to curl up with and enjoy this winter.

Earth Friends: Pet Protection

Earth Friends: Pet Protection

Author: Holly Webb Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/09/2021

The fourth fantastic book in the series about four friends who want to make the world a better place. Emily loves animals. But she comes from a big family and there's no room for any pets. So she decides to help at the local animal rescue centre instead. When the rescue centre comes under threat, can Emily and her friends make sure all the animals don't end up homeless? A brilliant series about the small changes that make a big difference, with themes of environmentalism and friendship. Written by Holly Webb, bestselling author of the Pet Rescue Adventure series. With cover illustration by Owen Gildersleeve. Look out for the other books in the Earth Friends series: Fair Fashion, River Rescue, Green Garden Originally published as Emily's Dream, this edition of the book comes with a brilliant new cover!

The Treasure Map

The Treasure Map

Author: Holly Webb Illustrator: Sarah Lodge Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/08/2021

Brave, clever and never more than a whisker away from adventure! When the museum's visitors are gone for the day, it's time for the cats to come out to play... When the kittens overhear their enemies, the rats, whispering about a treasure map hidden in the museum, Boris is especially excited. Could the map belong to the legendary pirate queen Diamond Nell, whose ship - The Silver Lion - is on display in the museum? And can they stop the rats from getting their claws on the pirate's gold first? The fourth in a charming new series from Holly Webb. Purr-fect for fans of the OTTOLINE books and THE ROYAL RABBITS OF LONDON.

The Abandoned Puppy and Other Tales The Abandoned Puppy, The Puppy Who Was Left Behind, The Scruffy Puppy

The Abandoned Puppy and Other Tales The Abandoned Puppy, The Puppy Who Was Left Behind, The Scruffy Puppy

Author: Holly Webb Illustrator: Sophy Williams Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/08/2021

A collection of three adorable puppy stories to treasure in one book, from best-selling author Holly Webb. The collection includes The Abandoned Puppy, The Puppy Who Was Left Behind and The Scruffy Puppy. The Abandoned Puppy: When Zoe discovers a box of abandoned puppies, can she bring the smallest one, Cookie, back to health, and what will happen when its time for Cookie to go to a new home? The Puppy Who Was Left Behind: Anna and her puppy Fred are staying on a canal boat and they're really excited! But when Fred runs away and the boat has to move on, will Anna find him before he gets left behind? The Scruffy Puppy: Bella adopts a friendly mongrel puppy, but will she be able to prove that rescue dogs are just as good as pedigree dogs to her friend at school?

Nadia and the Forever Kitten

Nadia and the Forever Kitten

Author: Holly Webb Illustrator: Sophy Williams Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 08/07/2021

Nadia spends as much time as she can at her friend Violet's house, playing with the kittens her mum brings home from her job at the animal shelter. When Violet tells Nadia about a pregnant cat urgently in need of a place to stay, Nadia convinces her parents to foster Gracie for the summer. After Gracie gives birth to five beautiful kittens, Nadia is instantly drawn to the smallest and sweetest, who she names Luna. But while the other kittens are quickly adopted, Nadia is heartbroken to see no one is interested in Luna. Can she help the kitten find her forever home? A new story from multi-million best-selling author Holly Webb, perfect for animal-loving children, and fans of ZOE'S RESCUE ZOO and MAGIC ANIMAL FRIENDS.

Earth Friends: Green Garden

Earth Friends: Green Garden

Author: Holly Webb Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/07/2021

The third fantastic book in the series about four friends who want to make the world a better place. There's a sad, neglected part of the playground at Poppy's school. She's desperate to win the competition to transform it and she's got some great ideas - a sensory garden, a hedgehog crossing, flowers to attract bees - but then she's accused of copying! Can Poppy clear her name and create the garden of her dreams? A brilliant series about the small changes that make a big difference, with themes of environmentalism and friendship. Written by Holly Webb, bestselling author of the Pet Rescue Adventure series. With cover illustration by Owen Gildersleeve. Look out for the other books in the Earth Friends series: Fair Fashion, River Rescue, Pet Protection Originally published as Poppy's Garden, this edition of the book comes with a brilliant new cover!

The Wildmeadow Hare

The Wildmeadow Hare

Author: Holly Webb Illustrator: Dawn Cooper Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 10/06/2021

When she was younger, Ellie used to love watching the hares leap and play on the common with her mum. But with every year that goes by since she lost her mum, it's getting harder for Ellie to remember her and those happy memories. Until one day on the way home from school, Ellie finds an injured hare on the path. The poor animal looks so scared, she has to do something to help. Nursing the hare back to health will be a big responsibility, but it might just be Ellie's chance to feel close to her mum again... A touching story about family from best-selling author Holly Webb.

Earth Friends: River Rescue

Earth Friends: River Rescue

Author: Holly Webb Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/05/2021

The second fantastic book in the series about four friends who want to make the world a better place. Izzy and Poppy are being taken for a walk along the river by Poppy's boisterous dog, Billy, when he decides to chase after a water-rat. Both animals land in the river, which is so choked with rubbish that Billy can't get out. His paw is stuck in an old bike wheel and the girls must work to free him. The adventure gives Izzy a great idea for their next project, though, and it's a very very muddy one... A brilliant series about the small changes that make a big difference, with themes of environmentalism and friendship. Written by Holly Webb, bestselling author of the Pet Rescue Adventure series. With cover illustration by Owen Gildersleeve. Look out for the other books in the Earth Friends series: Fair Fashion, Green Garden, Pet Protection Originally published as Izzy's Rescue, this edition of the book comes with a brilliant new cover!

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×