LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Holly Webb - Author

About the Author

Holly Webb was born and grew up in south-east London, but spent a lot of time on the Suffolk coast. As a child, she had two dogs, a cat, and at one point, nine gerbils (an accident). At about ten, Holly fell in love with stories from Ancient Greek myths, which led to studying Latin and Greek, and eventually to reading Classics at university. She worked for five years as a children's fiction editor, before deciding that writing was more fun, and easier to do from a sofa.  She started writing several years ago while working as a children’s books editor. She has written over ninety books including the Animal Stories, My Naughty Little Puppy and Maisie Hitchins series for Stripes Publishing. Holly has also written In The Clever Little Kitten for World Book Day and a sequel to The Secret GardenHolly Webb lives in Berkshire with her husband, children and three cats.

Author photo credit: Nigel Bird

 

Featured books by Holly Webb

A Tiger Tale

A Tiger Tale

7+ readers

Author: Holly Webb Format: Paperback Release Date: 04/09/2014

A moving story about coping with loss from bestselling author Holly Webb. Kate's grandfather has died and she's missing him desperately. Her Mum wants Kate to talk about it, but it only makes Kate angry. Granddad has gone and he's never coming back. At least she has her toy tiger, Amos, to keep her company. It was a present from Granddad, and somehow holding him close makes Granddad seem less far away. But she doesn't expect Amos to turn into a real tiger - a big, comforting, friendly tiger who smells of Granddad, and sounds like him too.

ebook of the month

Other books by Holly Webb

The Frightened Puppy

The Frightened Puppy

Author: Holly Webb Illustrator: Sophy Williams Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/04/2022

Avery is excited to be on holiday with her family. They're staying in a gorgeous cottage right by the river and have lots of fun activities planned. The only thing that would make the trip even better is if she had a dog to enjoy it with. So when she finds Hazel, a frightened puppy all alone on the riverbank, she knows she has to help her. But where has Hazel come from and how can Avery make the little puppy trust her? A new story from best-selling author Holly Webb, perfect for animal-loving children, and fans of ZOE'S RESCUE ZOO and MAGIC ANIMAL FRIENDS.

The Homesick Kitten

The Homesick Kitten

Author: Holly Webb Illustrator: Sophy Williams Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/01/2022

Harper loves spending time with her gorgeous new kitten, Sammy. He likes sitting in the window, exploring their flat and playing in the garden. But then Harper and her family have to move in with her gran after she has a bad fall, and everything changes. Sammy doesn't feel at home at Gran's house. He misses the smells and sounds of the flat, his real home. So when he spots an opportunity to go back, he takes it. But Sammy soon discovers home is more than just a building, it's where your family are... A new story from best-selling author Holly Webb, perfect for animal-loving children, and fans of ZOE'S RESCUE ZOO and MAGIC ANIMAL FRIENDS.

Star

Star

Author: Holly Webb Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 11/11/2021

When Anna borrows a tiny wooden tiger from her Russian grandmother's mantelpiece, little does she realize that it is the start of a magical adventure... Waking the next day, Anna finds herself in a snowy Russian village, where she hears the news that a tiger cub has been spotted in the nearby woods. Anna knows this is why she must be here - the cub needs her help! But is Anna brave enough to set out in search of a tiger in the forest at night? An enchanting wintry tale from best-selling author Holly Webb. For fans of Michael Morpurgo and ZOE'S RESCUE ZOO, this is the perfect book to snuggle up with and enjoy this winter.

Earth Friends: Pet Protection

Earth Friends: Pet Protection

Author: Holly Webb Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/09/2021

The fourth fantastic book in the series about four friends who want to make the world a better place. Emily loves animals. But she comes from a big family and there's no room for any pets. So she decides to help at the local animal rescue centre instead. When the rescue centre comes under threat, can Emily and her friends make sure all the animals don't end up homeless? A brilliant series about the small changes that make a big difference, with themes of environmentalism and friendship. Written by Holly Webb, bestselling author of the Pet Rescue Adventure series. With cover illustration by Owen Gildersleeve. Look out for the other books in the Earth Friends series: Fair Fashion, River Rescue, Green Garden Originally published as Emily's Dream, this edition of the book comes with a brilliant new cover!

Sky

Sky

Author: Holly Webb Format: Hardback Release Date: 02/09/2021

Staying with her grandparents in the Scottish Highlands, Lara is fascinated by the rare white snowy owl her grandad has spotted flying nearby. And when she follows the beautiful bird into the woods, it leads her on a magical adventure... Transported a century back in time, Lara befriends Amelia, who confides in Lara about her cruel cousin, who she's sure is trying to hurt the baby owls nesting in the woods. When Lara discovers the hatchlings belong to her owl, Sky, she's determined to help. But how can she protect them when she needs to return to her own time? An enchanting and magical time-slip adventure from best-selling author Holly Webb. For fans of Michael Morpurgo and THE SNOW FOAL, this is the perfect book to curl up with and enjoy this winter.

The Treasure Map

The Treasure Map

Author: Holly Webb Illustrator: Sarah Lodge Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/08/2021

Brave, clever and never more than a whisker away from adventure! When the museum's visitors are gone for the day, it's time for the cats to come out to play... When the kittens overhear their enemies, the rats, whispering about a treasure map hidden in the museum, Boris is especially excited. Could the map belong to the legendary pirate queen Diamond Nell, whose ship - The Silver Lion - is on display in the museum? And can they stop the rats from getting their claws on the pirate's gold first? The fourth in a charming new series from Holly Webb. Purr-fect for fans of the OTTOLINE books and THE ROYAL RABBITS OF LONDON.

The Abandoned Puppy and Other Tales The Abandoned Puppy, The Puppy Who Was Left Behind, The Scruffy Puppy

The Abandoned Puppy and Other Tales The Abandoned Puppy, The Puppy Who Was Left Behind, The Scruffy Puppy

Author: Holly Webb Illustrator: Sophy Williams Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/08/2021

A collection of three adorable puppy stories to treasure in one book, from best-selling author Holly Webb. The collection includes The Abandoned Puppy, The Puppy Who Was Left Behind and The Scruffy Puppy. The Abandoned Puppy: When Zoe discovers a box of abandoned puppies, can she bring the smallest one, Cookie, back to health, and what will happen when its time for Cookie to go to a new home? The Puppy Who Was Left Behind: Anna and her puppy Fred are staying on a canal boat and they're really excited! But when Fred runs away and the boat has to move on, will Anna find him before he gets left behind? The Scruffy Puppy: Bella adopts a friendly mongrel puppy, but will she be able to prove that rescue dogs are just as good as pedigree dogs to her friend at school?

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×