LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Holly Webb - Author

About the Author

Holly Webb was born and grew up in south-east London, but spent a lot of time on the Suffolk coast. As a child, she had two dogs, a cat, and at one point, nine gerbils (an accident). At about ten, Holly fell in love with stories from Ancient Greek myths, which led to studying Latin and Greek, and eventually to reading Classics at university. She worked for five years as a children's fiction editor, before deciding that writing was more fun, and easier to do from a sofa.  She started writing several years ago while working as a children’s books editor. She has written over ninety books including the Animal Stories, My Naughty Little Puppy and Maisie Hitchins series for Stripes Publishing. Holly has also written In The Clever Little Kitten for World Book Day and a sequel to The Secret GardenHolly Webb lives in Berkshire with her husband, children and three cats.

Author photo credit: Nigel Bird

 

Featured books by Holly Webb

A Tiger Tale

A Tiger Tale

7+ readers

Author: Holly Webb Format: Paperback Release Date: 04/09/2014

A moving story about coping with loss from bestselling author Holly Webb. Kate's grandfather has died and she's missing him desperately. Her Mum wants Kate to talk about it, but it only makes Kate angry. Granddad has gone and he's never coming back. At least she has her toy tiger, Amos, to keep her company. It was a present from Granddad, and somehow holding him close makes Granddad seem less far away. But she doesn't expect Amos to turn into a real tiger - a big, comforting, friendly tiger who smells of Granddad, and sounds like him too.

ebook of the month

Other books by Holly Webb

Frost

Frost

Author: Holly Webb Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/10/2020

The neighbours all complain about the foxes hanging around the flat where Cassie lives, close to the River Thames, but Cassie thinks they're beautiful. Her favourite is a small fox with a white tail-tip, who she names Frost. One night she catches sight of him out in the snow, looking cold and thin, and decides to sneak him some food. But Frost seems to want her to follow him... As he leads Cassie towards the river she feels the world change around her and finds herself in the back in the seventeenth century - at the time of the Frost Fair on the frozen Thames. At first she is thrilled by the sights and sounds of the famous fair, then she glimpses a fox with a white tail-tip. It appears that Frost wants her to follow him again. Can she find a way to return the fox to his countryside home? An magical wintry tale from best-selling author Holly Webb. For fans of Michael Morpurgo and THE SNOW FOAL, this is the perfect book to snuggle up with and enjoy this winter.

Luna

Luna

Author: Holly Webb Format: Hardback Release Date: 03/09/2020

Hannah knows there is something special about the wooden bear cub puppet from the moment she buys it at a Christmas market. So when the puppet gets broken, she cries herself to sleep. Woken by a growling noise, she finds herself in a stable wearing strange old-fashioned clothes. Then she comes face to face with a real-life bear cub! The cub has been locked in ready to be put on show at the local market. Can Hannah return the bear to the wild and find a way back to her own time? A heart-warming and magical time-slip adventure from best-selling author Holly Webb. For fans of Michael Morpurgo and THE SNOW FOAL, this is the perfect book to curl up with and enjoy this winter.

Magic Pets Sequin Edition

Magic Pets Sequin Edition

Author: Holly Webb Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/09/2020

A truly magical animal series from bestselling author, Holly Webb. Molly loves animals and wants to be a vet when she grows up just like her dad - as everyone says; she's got the magic touch. But Molly's talent is quite unique - she can talk to them! Previously published as MAGIC MOLLY: THE WITCH'S KITTEN and MAGIC MOLLY: THE WISH PUPPY. The Wish Puppy No one knows why Star, the King Charles Spaniel, is so unhappy. That is until Molly realises she's been separated from her twin sister. Can Molly find Star's twin before their magic disappears forever? The Witch's Kitten Sparkle, the grey kitten, is lost and he needs Molly's help to get back home. But that means going into the spooky wood ... and to the witch's cottage!

The Pharaoh's Curse

The Pharaoh's Curse

Author: Holly Webb Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/09/2020

Brave, clever and never more than a whisker away from adventure! When the museum's visitors are gone for the day, it's time for the cats to come out to play... The kittens are curious when a rare Egyptian papyrus comes to the museum on loan. But from the moment the artefact arrives, things start to go wrong and rumours of an ancient curse begin to spread. When a pipe leaks and the Egyptian gallery is flooded, the kittens find themselves trapped. Will they be the next victims of the pharaoh's curse? The second in a charming new series from Holly Webb. Purr-fect for fans of the OTTOLINE books and THE ROYAL RABBITS OF LONDON.

The Secret Kitten and Other Tales

The Secret Kitten and Other Tales

Author: Holly Webb Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/08/2020

A collection of three gorgeous kitten stories to treasure in one book, from best-selling author Holly Webb. The Secret Kitten: Lucy can't help but feel lonely when she moves in with her gran. She wishes she could have a pet, but Gran isn't keen on animals. When Lucy falls in love with a stray kitten, where will it go if she can't find anyone to take her in? The Brave Kitten: Helena enjoys helping out at the vet's surgery. Then one day, a kitten is rushed in, having been injured by a car. Helena helps to care for Caramel, but what will happen if his owner can't be found? Sammy the Shy Kitten: Emma loves going to the stables for her riding lessons. One day she arrives to find that Tiggy, the stable cat, has had three kittens! But the riding school can't look after so many cats - so what will happen to them all?

The Saddest Kitten

The Saddest Kitten

Author: Holly Webb Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/07/2020

Isla loves hanging out at her best friend Hailey's house, especially as Hailey has just got a gorgeous kitten, Silky! But someone isn't so keen on the new arrival - the family's old cat, Pickle. When Hailey's family go away for the night, Isla offers to catsit. But to her surprise Silky is more timid than usual. The kitten is clearly terrified of Pickle and Isla has to stop a fight between the two cats. How can Isla break the news to Hailey that her new kitten is so unhappy? A new story from best-selling author Holly Webb, perfect for animal-loving children, and fans of ZOE'S RESCUE ZOO and MAGIC ANIMAL FRIENDS.

The Silver Pony

The Silver Pony

Author: Holly Webb Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 25/06/2020

For the first time ever Daisy isn't looking forward to the school holidays. She's worried about her best friend Mara, who's ill in hospital. But then, walking her dog in the wood, Daisy spots a group of wild ponies quietly grazing. She is especially drawn to a young silvery-white pony and, as she spends time watching the pony, she starts to feel less alone. Visiting the pony one day, Daisy runs into James from school. She's worried he'll tease her but instead he has some terrible news. The pony actually belongs to his dad and it's James' job to help look after her. Is Daisy about to lose her new friend? A heart-warming story about unlikely friendships from best-selling author Holly Webb.

The Midnight Visitor

The Midnight Visitor

Author: Holly Webb Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/04/2020

Brave, clever and never more than a whisker away from adventure! When the museum's visitors are gone for the day, it's time for the cats to come out and play... One stormy night a little black kitten appears on the museum steps. Tabby cat Tasha is delighted to show Peter the museum's passageways and secret corners but the other cats aren't as keen to welcome the new arrival. Determined to prove that Peter is just as much of a museum cat as any of the others, Tasha takes him on a rat hunt. But the pair's quest almost ends in disaster when they find themselves in the Dinosaur Gallery, with its famous T-Rex skeleton... The first in a charming new series from Holly Webb. Purr-fect for fans of the OTTOLINE books and THE ROYAL RABBITS OF LONDON.

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×