Only Love Can Break Your Heart

Written by Katherine Webber

Family / Home Stories Featured Books for 13+ readers Featured Books for Young Adults Recommended Children's eBooks Romance / Relationship Stories

LoveReading View on Only Love Can Break Your Heart

Love, family and finding yourself

Katherine Webber’s story is set in Palm Springs the desert landscape beloved of her central character Reiko and on-off boyfriend Seth providing a dramatic backdrop to a story that changes moods and directions to make this a rich and rewarding read. To most, Reiko would seem to have it all: she’s clever, beautiful, rich with a loving family, already favourite to be Homecoming Queen. Close friends know however that she’s never recovered from the tragic death of her sister five years earlier; readers know that Reiko sees and talks to the ghost of Mika in her room each night. It’s a chance meeting with Seth, one of the uncool kids, that turns into a friendship then a relationship. Her friends are astonished when they finally go public as a couple, what can Reiko see in Seth? We wonder too, but as the story unfolds perspectives change in really interesting and revealing ways. A thoughtful, intelligent and moving YA novel.

Andrea Reece

Only Love Can Break Your Heart Synopsis

Sometimes a broken heart is all you need to set you free... Reiko loves the endless sky and electric colours of the Californian desert. It is a refuge from an increasingly claustrophobic life of family pressures and her own secrets. Then she meets Seth, a boy who shares a love of the desert and her yearning for a different kind of life. But Reiko and Seth both want something the other can't give them. As summer ends, things begin to fall apart. But the end of love can sometimes be the beginning of you... From the author of the acclaimed Wing Jones comes a 'break-up' book about a Japanese-American teenager, set in the Palm Springs desert, California.

Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon's Everything, Everything and Sara Barnard's Beautiful Broken Things.

Only Love Can Break Your Heart Press Reviews

[...] this book ripped out my heart, stomped on it and then revived it with an electric jolt. But I loved every second of it.  booksfemme

It's a very bittersweet story and it's also one of the few books that made me cry so much I had to stop for a moment and wipe away the tears at 4am. [...] This has become one of my favourite books and every time I think about it, my heart smiles.  thegalwholivesofbooks

[Webber] has a real talent for creating nuanced teenage characters  The Bookseller

Praise for Wing Jones:

“…a compelling and heartwarming account of finding hope even in the bleakest of circumstances” The Irish Times

“It’s a powerful and charming book about finding support and inner strength against the odds” Buzzfeed

“A splendidly diverse domestic setup with vivid, evocative details” The Guardian

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Universe Is Expanding and So Am I
Moonrise
Open Road Summer
My Box-Shaped Heart

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781406369052
Publication date: 02/08/2018
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781406369052
Publication date: 2nd August 2018
Author: Katherine Webber
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 400 pages
Suitable for: 13+ readers, YA readers
Genres: Family / Home Stories, Romance / Relationship Stories
Recommendations: eBooks

About Katherine Webber

Katherine Webber is the author of Wing Jones. She was born in Southern California and studied Chinese literature and language at the Chinese University of Hong Kong and comparative literature at the University of California, Davis. She has lived and worked in Hong Kong, Hawaii and Atlanta. She currently lives in London with her husband. Travel, books and eating out are her favourite indulgences. She also spends far too much time on Twitter. Only Love Can Break Your Heart is Katherine's second novel.

More About Katherine Webber

More Books By Katherine Webber

Cover for Wing Jones by Katherine Webber
View All Books By Katherine Webber

Share this book

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.

NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×