LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Black Amulet

Written by J.R. Wallis

Part of the Tales From the Badlands Series

Fantasy / Magical Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on The Black Amulet

In a nutshell: exciting, original magical adventures

In the second of the Badlands adventures, J.R. Wallis creates another tense, exciting story, underpinned by thoughtful questions about courage, free will and the temptations of power. Our three central characters, Ed/Jones, Ruby and Thomas Gabriel all have complicated relationships with the magic that is crucial to the strange world they inhabit: Ed wants to be rid of it completely; Ruby wants recognition that girls can be magicians; while Thomas Gabriel is desperate – dangerously so – to acquire magical skills. It seems that all their problems could be solved in one go, but there are challenges to overcome first, that bring them up against some really frightening creatures. The magical world described is original and convincing, drawing much from old Anglo-Saxon legends in fact, and there’s more than enough action to keep the pages turning. The moral dilemmas faced by the characters feel equally real, and add to the satisfaction of the story.  One to recommend to fans of Jonathan Stroud’s Lockwood & Co series.  

Andrea Reece

The Black Amulet Synopsis

Welcome to the Badlands ... a hidden part of our world populated by creatures which most people think exist only in fairy tales and nightmares. Reunited with his parents, Jones is finally living the 'normal' life he's always wanted. But, despite leaving the Badlands behind, there's still magic inside him... His two friends, Ruby and Thomas Gabriel, are struggling with their new lives too; Thomas Gabriel's magical abilities are fading away and Ruby is realizing she might never be accepted as a 'proper' Badlander in a world of monster-hunting men. One thing could help them all - the Black Amulet, a magical artefact hidden for centuries by the most powerful Badlander that ever lived. But finding it won't be easy, and using it even harder, because things are never simple when magic is involved...

Dive into a world of magic in an adventure perfect for fans of Abi Elphinstone, Jonathan Stroud and J.K. Rowling.

The Black Amulet Press Reviews

Praise for The Boy With One Name;

'Delightfully magical and brilliantly told' Abi Elphinstone, author of Sky Song 

‘Exhilarating all-action adventure’ – Lancashire Evening Post

‘Compelling, action packed story’ – Primary Times

‘An engrossing read’ – Parents in Touch

If you loved this, you might like these...

Rumblestar
In the Shadow of Heroes
Aru Shah and the Song of Death
Malamander

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781471157943
Publication date: 06/09/2018
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781471157943
Publication date: 6th September 2018
Author: J.R. Wallis
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 336 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Fantasy / Magical
Recommendations: eBooks

About J.R. Wallis

JR Wallis is a children’s author who also writes YA fiction as Rupert Wallis.  He teaches on the MSt in Creative Writing at the Institute of Continuing Education, Cambridge University.

More About J.R. Wallis

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×