LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Boy Who Flew

Written by Fleur Hitchcock

Books of the Month Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Star Books

LoveReading View on The Boy Who Flew

Intrigue and murder in the snow

March 2019 Book of the Month

Fleur Hitchcock’s exciting other-world thriller oozes atmosphere.  Athan Wilde lives with his mother and sisters, the youngest of whom is unable to walk. The family are poor and his job working for inventor Mr Chen is important, though his mother is suspicious of Mr Chen especially when one of his experiments backfires accidentally destroying her hen house. But someone else is really out to get him and when Mr Chen is murdered Athan is in danger too, the murderer ready to use violence and kidnap to discover his employer’s secrets.  It’s a gripping, fast-paced story with an air of Dickensian gothic and some of the supporting characters – Athan’s nasty, narrow-minded granny for example – are particularly shuddersome.  Enjoyable adventure for robust readers.

Andrea Reece

Other Info

The Editor at Nosy Crow says: “Perfect for fans of Cogheart, this is a thrilling, murderous story of invention, ambition and escape, and one boy's terrible choice - family or flight?”

...........................................................

The Boy Who Flew by Fleur Hitchcock is suitable for teaching to children aged 9+. The four extracts included in this Resource Pack are linked to important themes in the story and are accompanied by corresponding discussion questions and activities. Together, they provide the perfect resource for KS2 classes – developing art and design, literacy and writing skills and stimulating debate in PSHE lessons, tutor time or assemblies. The activities included can be differentiated for upper KS2 and lower KS3 at the teacher’s discretion.

Download the Resource Pack

The Boy Who Flew Synopsis

Athan Wilde dreams of flight. When his friend, Mr Chen, is murdered, Athan must rescue the flying machine they were building together and stop it falling into the wrong hands. But keeping the machine safe puts his family in terrible danger. What will Athan choose - flight or family? From the acclaimed author of Murder In Midwinter, Fleur Hitchcock's The Boy Who Flew is a thrilling, murderous tale set among the steep rooftops and slippery characters of Athan's intricately imagined world.

Perfect for fans of Philip Pullman, Peter Bunzl and Philip Reeve.

MEGA GIVEAWAY! Win our 2019 Star Books!

MEGA GIVEAWAY! Win our 2019 Star Books!

Closing date: 06/12/2019

WE LOVE BOOKS! LoveReading4Kids is the biggest and best recommendation site for children’s books. Our passion for children’s books ranges from toddlers to teens and ensures that whatever the age, whatever the interest, that you have a steady stream of brilliant book recommendations for your child. Created in the same successful format of our original book recommendation website, LoveReading, we have a panel of editorial experts that select books right across the genres and age ranges, reading the latest releases to keep you fully updated. We also offer a variety of FREE services for parents and anyone who is interested in buying the best books for boys and girls of all ages.  You can subscribe to our personalised newsletters which help you keep up to date with the latest and greatest book releases while receiving recommendations tailored to you. Sign up and select your preferences by registering with us today and receive our newsletters filled with the latest book recommendations in the categories of your choice.  Our Star Books are a selection of our personal favourites from the books we've read each year. The ones that have really stood out from the crowd for us. We always say if you're only going to buy a few books this year, take a look at our Star Books selection. We have a HUGE giveaway for you to really end your year on a high. We're giving you the opportunity to win all the books selected as Star Books this year! That's around 40 books that you can keep for your family, share with friends or give as Christmas gifts. A year's worth of reading and some of our favourite books published this year, for you, for free! What are you waiting for? This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 6th December 2019. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

The Boy Who Flew Press Reviews

“An unputdownable, heart-stopping, white knuckle ride of a book. It will knock your socks off!”   – Catherine Johnson 

“A ROOF-topping adventure… really taking flight as it races towards its nail-biting climax.”  –  John O’Groat Journal 

“Wonderfully evocative and rattles along at a pace that will hold the interest of every reader… The Boy Who Flew is a thunderingly good period adventure.”   –  The Book Bag (blog)

“I proceeded to devour the book in just three sittings, oh how I love a brilliantly written book that captures my curiosity and this book did just that.”  – Book Bound (blog) 

“Filled with danger and adventure, I do hope this is the start of a new series…”  – Independent Book Reviews (blog)

“Hitchcock has cleverly woven a central plot line about the race to get humans airborne with a spine-chilling thriller which wouldn’t be out of place in a penny dreadful.”  – Library Girl and Book Boy (blog)

“A cast of sparkling characters in a fast moving and dramatic plot that’s packed with nail-biting action.”  – Madge Eekal Reviews (blog)

If you loved this, you might like these...

You Can Save The Planet 101 Ways You Can Make a Difference
Mesopo
McTavish on the Move
The Mirroculist Mission

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781788004381
Publication date: 07/03/2019
Publisher: Nosy Crow Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781788004381
Publication date: 7th March 2019
Author: Fleur Hitchcock
Publisher: Nosy Crow Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 240 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Recommendations: Books of the Month, Star Books

About Fleur Hitchcock

Born in Chobham, by an airfield, and raised outside Winchester on the banks of the river Itchen, Fleur Hitchcock grew up as the youngest child of three. She spent her smallest years reading Tintin and Batman under her brother’s bed, and searching for King Alfred’s treasure in the river. She grew up a little, went away to school near Farnham, studied English in Wales, and, for the next twenty years, sold Applied Art in the city of Bath. When her younger child was seven, she embarked on the Writing for Young People MA at Bath Spa ...

More About Fleur Hitchcock

More Books By Fleur Hitchcock

Cover for Murder in Midwinter by Fleur Hitchcock
Cover for The Yoghurt Plot by Fleur Hitchcock
Cover for Saving Sophia by Fleur Hitchcock
View All Books By Fleur Hitchcock

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×