LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Anna at War

Written by Helen Peters

Featured Books for 7+ readers

LoveReading View on Anna at War

A timely look at the plight of a refugee in the UK – this set in WWII – but with themes that echo today’s refugee crisis and the people involved.

Anna is a Jewish child sent from Germany to the UK on the Kindertransport just before war is declared.  This is the story of her welcome into a simple farming family in Kent, and to the constant worry she feels for her parents back in Germany.  Although she is welcomed to England, there are problems to overcome, antisemitism at school, jealousy at home and worry about how the war is going. Anna is an intelligent, resourceful girl who proves her bravery and gratitude by saving a VIP from an insidious spy ring operating nearby.

The level of detail about life in the countryside in the late 30’s into the 40’s is fascinating and will be an eye-opener for many children today. There is an exciting plot involving soldiers and spies which runs alongside, entwined within, the normal life of a 12-year-old girl trying to find her way in a society, which is completely different to anything she has known. A sense of danger runs through the whole novel, as well as the poignant plight of so many Jewish children at that time.  A moving war time adventure. 

Tricia Adams

Other Info

A note from the editor:

“This is a brilliant book – a double whammy of entertainment and enlightenment, with a few tears shed on the way. Helen Peters is the new Philippa Pearce.”

A fantastic new standalone novel from captivating storyteller Helen Peters, shortlisted for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize.

Anna at War Synopsis

As life for German Jews becomes increasingly perilous, Anna's parents put her on a train leaving for England. But the war follows her to Kent, and soon Anna finds herself caught up in web of betrayal and secrecy. How can she prove whose side she's on when she can't tell anyone the truth? But actions speak louder than words, and Anna has a dangerous plan...

A brilliant and moving wartime adventure from the author of Evie's Ghost. Cover illustration by Daniela Terrazzini.

Anna at War Press Reviews

“Moving and utterly enthralling.” Lissa Evans

“Timely themes of emigration and prejudice are woven into a cracking adventure story. Fans of Emma Caroll and Philippa Pearce will love this.” Fiona Noble, The Bookseller

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Book of Animal Superheroes
Alastair Humphreys' Great Adventurers
The Treehouse Joke Book
Atlas of Ocean Adventures

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781788004718
Publication date: 04/07/2019
Publisher: Nosy Crow Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781788004718
Publication date: 4th July 2019
Author: Helen Peters
Publisher: Nosy Crow Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 304 pages
Suitable for: 7+ readers

About Helen Peters

Helen Peters grew up on an old-fashioned farm in Sussex, surrounded by family, animals and mud. She spent most of her childhood reading stories and putting on plays in a tumbledown shed that she and her friends turned into a theatre. After university, she became an English and Drama teacher. Helen lives with her husband and children in London, and she can hardly believe that she now gets to call herself a writer. Read more about Helen Peters on writing Anna at War here.

More About Helen Peters

More Books By Helen Peters

Cover for A Kitten Called Holly by Helen Peters
Cover for Evie's Ghost by Helen Peters
Cover for A Duckling Called Button by Helen Peters
View All Books By Helen Peters

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×