Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Blizzard Wizard, The

Written by Frank Hinks

Illustrated by Frank Hinks

Part of the Tales of Ramion Series

Adventure Stories Fantasy / Magical Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Traditional Tales

LoveReading View on Blizzard Wizard, The

A series of fragmented fantasy adventures for variably aged children featuring full-colour illustrations and packaged in a fancy gold-foiled hardback format.

The fourteenth instalment of the Tales of Ramion fantasy series leaps right into the baffling action of a new adventure: “Now that he was free from the rules of the Land of Lost Hair, Cloud 9 was bored.” Fortunately (for him, at least) while wandering “through Ramion looking for creatures to soak,” Cloud 9 is struck by a tedium-quelling idea. He will suck in the ocean and soak a castle. However, in so doing, Cloud 9 unwittingly releases the Blizzard Wizard (“evil touch, heart of ice”) who’s incarcerated in said castle.

With Blizzard Wizard free, the realm turns to ice and it takes a strange assortment of characters to try to put things right, among them the Lion of Icing. And then there’s the sudden involvement of the Venomous Vampires, Globerous Ghosts, Mystic Mummies, Racing Racoons, Hero Hedgehogs, and so on. While the author’s alliteration game is pretty high here with such zany character names, the zigzagging story lacks cohesion.


Blizzard Wizard, The Synopsis

When, with the unwitting help of foolish Cloud 9, the Princess of the Night frees the Blizzard Wizard from his prison cell, he turns the Garden, the Gardener and the whole of Ramion into ice. With the help of the rabbit Scrooey-Looey, the boys set out to gather the four elements which will bind up the Blizzard Wizard and take him back to prison.

If you loved this, you might like these...

Gary the Frog Prince
The Kingdom of the Deep
Gift of Evil, The
Athena: The Story of a Goddess

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781909938274
Publication date: 28/09/2019
Publisher: Perronet Press
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781909938274
Publication date: 28th September 2019
Author: Frank Hinks
Illustrator: Frank Hinks
Publisher: Perronet Press
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 80 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, Fantasy / Magical, Traditional Tales

About Frank Hinks

Frank Hinks is the creator of the Land of Ramion series...And here’s another secret about the magical world of Ramion: it’s here that Frank Hinks lets his hair down and escapes the austere and highly formal world of the legal profession where he is a Chancery QC with a successful international practice based in London. As well as being a storytelling author and painter, Frank Hinks lists Indie Rock (listening at full volume and dancing) among his personal interests.

More About Frank Hinks

More Books By Frank Hinks

Cover for Gary the Frog Prince by Frank Hinks
Cover for The Kingdom of the Deep by Frank Hinks
Cover for Gift of Evil, The by Frank Hinks
View All Books By Frank Hinks

Share this book