LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Hide and Secrets

Written by Sophie Mckenzie

Write A Review

Hide and Secrets Review

Books of the Month Crime / Mystery Family / Home Stories Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 13+ readers Thrillers Personal Social Health Economic (PSHE) Personal Social Health Economic (PSHE)

A twisty edge-of-your-seat thriller in which a teen girl battles to solve the mystery of her missing dad

What a diamond of a thriller this is - a genuine page-turner that snakes with twists readers genuinely won’t see coming. Who to trust? Who to believe? Sophie McKenzie has struck gold with her latest page-turner.

 

Fourteen-year-old Cat is having a hard time of it, to put it mildly. She’s lost her father, her little sister doesn’t speak, and her mum, a former TV astrology celebrity, is more interested in her work than anything Cat says or does. But after receiving a bolt-from-the-blue text alleging that her dad is alive, Cat throws herself into trying to tracking him down, with the help of a newfound friend, handsome Tyler, the first person she’s been able to open up to for an absolute age.

 

A search for a dad becomes a search for a priceless diamond, which in turn becomes a search for the truth - and then a struggle to understand that truth. Driven by Cat’s endearingly determined, courageous personality, this read-in-one-sitting thriller has family and friendship bonds at its fast-beating heart.

Joanne Owen

Other Info

Hide and Secrets Synopsis

Fourteen-year-old Cat is lonely - reeling from the loss of her father, she's disconnected from friends and fighting with her mum. But when a new boy, Tyler, arrives for the summer, Cat finds herself opening up to the handsome stranger. A shocking revelation about her dad turns Cat's world on its head. She and Tyler uncover a series of secrets that take them on a perilous journey. With fresh lies exposed and threats from a dangerous gang revealed, will Cat risk everything to keep herself and her family safe? 

A teen thriller that will have you looking for answers round every corner.

An explosive, edge-of-your-seat new drama from the original queen of teen thrillers, Sophie McKenzie, for fans of Karen McManus and Holly Jackson. 

Hide and Secrets Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading4Kids expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

Fantastic book full of exciting twists and turns. Full review

Prisha Yadav (Age 11)

Amazing and heart - warming book with plot twists you never expected coming. Full review

Maria Kozel (Age 10)

This story is incredible in the way it entrances the reader and instantly surprises them with the unanticipated story line. Full review

Lottie Clark (Age 11)

Hide and Secrets Press Reviews

'Sophie's thrillers are in a league of their own - nobody does it better' Phil Earle, author of When the Sky Falls

Praise for Girl, Missing;

'Page-turning'   The Independent

'Will have you gripped for hours'   Sunday Express

'Please read this book: it is brilliant!’   The Guardian

'Brilliantly described, scary and touching.'   The Daily Mirror

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Five Clues (Don't Doubt The Rainbow 1)
The Summer We Turned Green
Girl (In Real Life)
Dark Peak

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781471199103
Publication date: 22/07/2021
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781471199103
Publication date: 22nd July 2021
Author: Sophie Mckenzie
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 336 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 13+ readers
Genres: Crime / Mystery, Family / Home Stories, Thrillers, Personal Social Health Economic , Personal Social Health Economic
Recommendations: Books of the Month, Coming Soon

About Sophie Mckenzie

Sophie McKenzie is an award winning author of books for children, teenagers and adults. After growing up in London and going to university, Sophie became a journalist before doing a year-long course on writing for children. Her first book was published in 2005 and since then the number has risen to over 25. Read an author Q&A here.   You can see Sophie giving her writing tips in a video - click here. Author photo © J. Ring

More About Sophie Mckenzie

More Books By Sophie Mckenzie

Cover for The Medusa Project: Hunted by Sophie Mckenzie
Cover for The Medusa Project: The Rescue by Sophie Mckenzie
Cover for The Medusa Project: The Hostage by Sophie Mckenzie
View All Books By Sophie Mckenzie

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×