Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Endling: Book Three: The Only

Written by Katherine Applegate

Part of the Endling Series

Write A Review
Adventure Stories Fantasy / Magical Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Stories about Animals

Other Info

Our Kids Reader Review Panel loved the first in this series, Endling: The First - you can read their reviews here!

Endling: Book Three: The Only Synopsis

Endling #3: The Only is the third book in an epic middle grade animal fantasy series by Katherine Applegate, Newbery Medal-winning and #1 New York Times bestselling author.

Two mighty armies are preparing for war, one led by a murderous great cat and the other by a cruel, power-hungry tyrant. But a third army is quietly growing, an army led by a young girl, an army of peace. Not so long ago Byx, a dairne, was the timid youngest pup in her family.

But since her family were all slaughtered by the cruel Murdano, Byx has had to leave her own kind and finds herself at the forefront of a peaceful army, serving her friend and leader, the young Lady of Nedarra. Can the courage and heart of these young friends really stand in the way of two great armies? Can peace prevail over war?

Endling: Book Three: The Only Press Reviews

Praise for the series;

Applegate effortlessly constructs her fantasy world, briskly moving readers through its imaginative details while creating winning, unique characters... A bracing, propulsive read that will be a challenge to keep on the shelf. - Booklist (starred review)

A sweeping fantasy epic for the middle grade set that will have readers clamouring for a follow-up -- starred review - School Library Journal

Readers will fall in love with Byx and race with her through Nedarra, breathless and eager, thinking deeply all the way - New York Times

The gripping first instalment of Applegate's new fantasy trilogy assembles a motley crew in a suspenseful, tautly drawn quest. - Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Applegate skillfully builds a fully realized world of intrigue and wonder without ever letting up on the story's quick pace. A savvy choice for readers of fantasy. - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

If you loved this, you might like these...

Paradise on Fire
Bone Music
Skin Taker
Hide and Seek

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781783449545
Publication date: 05/08/2021
Publisher: Andersen Press Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781783449545
Publication date: 5th August 2021
Author: Katherine Applegate
Publisher: Andersen Press Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 288 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, Fantasy / Magical, Animals

About Katherine Applegate

Katherine Applegate is the author of The One and Only Ivan, winner of the 2013 Newbery Medal. Her novel Crenshaw spent over twenty weeks on the New York Times children’s bestseller list, and her first middle grade standalone novel, the award-winning Home of the Brave, continues to be included on state reading lists, summer reading lists, and class reading lists. She lives with her husband, the author Michael Grant, who she  co-wrote the Animorphs series with, and their two children in Northern California.

More About Katherine Applegate

More Books By Katherine Applegate

Cover for Endling: Book Two: The First by Katherine Applegate
Cover for Endling: Book One: The Last by Katherine Applegate
Cover for The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate
View All Books By Katherine Applegate

Share this book