LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Smidgens Crash-Land

Written by David O'Connell

Illustrated by Seb Burnett

Write A Review

The Smidgens Crash-Land Review

Adventure Stories Fantasy / Magical Featured Books for 7+ readers Funny

Small people, really BIG adventures

For those who don’t know, the Smidgens are Borrower sized and with the same habit of using stuff created by the Big Folk (that’s you and me) in their everyday lives. As Smidgens go, Gafferty Sprout is particularly adventurous and keen to find a third Smidgen clan, following her success in uniting the Hive and the Roost in book one in the series. It’s not going to be easy though: her parents and even her best friend Will think it’s too dangerous, and self-styled Smidgenologist Crumpbeck is more of a liability than a help. Unbeknownst to Gafferty too, wicked Claudia Slymark and her ghostly sidekicks are still on her trail, hoping Gafferty will lead them to the pieces of the enchanted Mirror of Trokanis.

One thing’s for certain, size is no indicator of bravery or determination and though she’s small, Gafferty is very fierce. The stage is set for another big helping of excitement and adventure in a series that is bursting with appeal.

Andrea Reece

The Smidgens Crash-Land Synopsis

Ever since Gafferty Sprout's last adventure, she's been very good. No more finding lost Smidgen clans, no more pudding fights, definitely no more ghosts. She knows there's another clan still out there - The Burrow - and maybe they know the secrets of the magical knife that saved her from the ghosts. But it'll have to wait until she's less ... grounded.

Then a strange Smidgen steals her knife and sets out for The Burrow, and there's nothing for it. Gafferty has to follow. But the Smidgens of The Burrow aren't the new friends Gafferty expected, and soon the Smidgens are in big, big trouble.

The second book in a funny, magical adventure series for 7+ readers who love Terry Pratchett, Max and the Millions and The Borrowers.

The Smidgens Crash-Land Press Reviews

Praise for The Chocolate Factory Ghost:

If you put your copy of Harry Potter and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory in the washing machine together, this would be the book that came out at the end. Don't put books in the washing machine though ... - Tom Fletcher 

Humour pervades every page, with jokes appearing at the perfect place and with fabulous timing - Bookbag

A thoroughly satisfying and entertaining story, a mix of adventure, comedy and magic ... Delicious! - Books for Keeps

If you loved this, you might like these...

Kitty Quest: Trial by Tentacle
Loki: A Bad God's Guide to Being Good
The Christmasaurus and the Naughty List
How I Became a Dog Called Midnight

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781526640567
Publication date: 14/04/2022
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens Books an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781526640567
Publication date: 14th April 2022
Author: David O'Connell
Illustrator: Seb Burnett
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens Books an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 192 pages
Suitable for: 7+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, Fantasy / Magical, Funny

About David O'Connell

David O'Connell is a writer and illustrator living in London, UK. His favourite things to draw are monsters, naughty children (another type of monster), batty old ladies and evil cats! He loves comics too, and has had work published in anthologies such as Birdsong, Solipsistic Pop, Paper Science and Accent UK. David is also the editor of ink+PAPER, a biannual anthology combining comics and the graphic arts.

More About David O'Connell

More Books By David O'Connell

Cover for The Smidgens by David O'Connell
Cover for The Chocolate Factory Ghost by David O'Connell
Cover for Food Fright by David O'Connell
View All Books By David O'Connell

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×