LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

David O'Connell - Author

About the Author

David O'Connell is a writer and illustrator living in London, UK. His favourite things to draw are monsters, naughty children (another type of monster), batty old ladies and evil cats! He loves comics too, and has had work published in anthologies such as Birdsong, Solipsistic Pop, Paper Science and Accent UK.

David is also the editor of ink+PAPER, a biannual anthology combining comics and the graphic arts.

Featured books by David O'Connell

Night of the Living Bread

Night of the Living Bread

5+ readers 7+ readers

Author: David O'Connell Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/08/2013

This is the second book in this laugh-out-loud series from talented author and illustrator, David O'Connell. It dishes up a perfect treat for boys everywhere. With cartoon strips, revolting recipes and a Special's Board that'll make your tummy churn, take a seat at Fuzzby's and join the fun. Our readers loved the first Monster and Chips book - 'I thought this book was AWESOME, disgusting and horrible all at the same time!'    'I love the characters. The characters were so funny.' 'It made me laugh out loud again and again. If you like funny stories you'll love this!' click here to read more of their reviews!

ebook of the month

Other books by David O'Connell

The Smidgens

The Smidgens

Author: David O'Connell Illustrator: Seb Burnett Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/04/2021

Gafferty Sprout is a Smidgen. A Smidgen looks like a human, sounds like a human, and loves chips with curry sauce like a human - if humans were three inches tall. If you took a human and shrunk it in the washing machine on a very hot spin cycle, you might get something like a Smidgen. Generations ago there were lots of them, living in a maze of tunnels beneath the human village of Dundoodle. But then something happened and they just ... disappeared. Now Gafferty, her parents and her little brothers Gobkin and Grub are the only ones left, and the tunnels are forbidden territory. And then Gafferty finds an old map. A map that shows a place deep within the maze where Smidgen tribes can go to meet. Smidgen tribes! Gafferty knows that she has to try to find them. But the tunnels are dangerous. And soon Gafferty discovers she's not the only one looking for the lost tribes, and that three inches of Smidgen hold more power than she ever imagined. The first book in a funny, magical adventures series for 7+ readers who love Terry Pratchett, Max and the Millions and The Borrowers.

The Revenge of the Invisible Giant

The Revenge of the Invisible Giant

Author: David O'Connell Illustrator: Claire Powell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/04/2020

When a batch of his experimental sweets goes wrong at the McBudge Confectionery Company, Archie needs a distraction. And when he hears about a book of magical wisdom lost in a tunnel beneath the mountains, Archie is determined to find it. It's DEFINITELY so he can be the best magical guardian of Dundoodle that he can be and DEFINITELY NOT so he can turn tree branches into flying surfboards. Only trouble is, the key to open the tunnel was broken into four pieces hundreds of years ago and hidden. Archie, Fliss and Billy set out to find the pieces of the key, but why was the tunnel sealed off in the first place? And what is the deep, sinister, MOUNTAINOUS voice Archie keeps hearing on the wind? David O'Connell, author of The Chocolate Factory Ghost, returns with the latest adventure in his madcap magical mystery series for anyone who loves monsters, puzzles and SWEETS.

The Dentist of Darkness

The Dentist of Darkness

Author: David O'Connell Illustrator: Claire Powell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/03/2019

Archie McBudge's lazy summer has just turned into a magical meltdown! The second adventure in this madcap magical mystery series is perfect for fans of How to Train Your Dragon, amateur detectives and anyone who loves SWEETS! Archie McBudge was planning a sweet summer at Honeystone Hall. Picnics by the loch, watching the honeydragons flying around the hillsides, chasing ghosts through the shadowy castle hallways, and of course, testing out all the new sweets from the McBudge Confectionery Factory. But now the Wyrdie Tree, source of all the magic in the town of Dundoodle, is dying, and the guardian must save it before Dundoodle's magic is gone for good. And who's the guardian, you ask? That's right, Archie McBudge. With enemies on every side, puzzles to solve and secrets to uncover - not to mention a very scary dentist to avoid - Archie's summer's looking less like a strawberry marshmallow dream and more like a super-sour sherbet lemon with exploding bits that make your mouth go numb for a week! The follow-up to David O'Connell's The Chocolate Factory Ghost, this is a must read for anyone who loves ghosts, monsters, toffee, marshmallows, and wants to explore more of the weird and wonderful town of Dundoodle.

Instructions of Saint Louis A Critical Text

Instructions of Saint Louis A Critical Text

Author: David O'Connell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/02/2018

Teachings of Saint Louis

Teachings of Saint Louis

Author: David O'Connell Illustrator: 0 Format: eBook Release Date: 01/09/2017

In this study the author has consulted all the manuscripts pertinent to the problem, reviewed the critical controversy that has surrounded these texts since the end of the Middle Ages, and furnished a critical text of the long-neglected manuscript that reproduces both the spirit and the letter of Louis' holograph.

The Teachings of Saint Louis A Critical Text

The Teachings of Saint Louis A Critical Text

Author: David O'Connell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/07/2017

David O'Connell's study seeks to serve as the final word on which version of the Enseignements de saint Louis can claim ultimate authenticity. Through an analytical comparison of the three families of the Teachings and a historical overview of the critical controversy surrounding the texts, O'Connell argues for the authority and historicity of the Noster manuscript. In this study the author has consulted all the manuscripts pertinent to the problem, reviewed the critical controversy that has surrounded these texts since the end of the Middle Ages, and furnished a critical text of the long-neglected manuscript that reproduces both the spirit and the letter of Louis' holograph.

When I'm a Mummy Like You!

When I'm a Mummy Like You!

Author: David O'Connell Illustrator: Francesca Gambatesa Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/02/2017

Being a mummy must be so much fun... musn't it? Sweet and hilarious family fun from a fabulous author/illustrator pairing. It must be AMAZING to be a mummy! Every child wants to be just like their mummy and do all the exciting things that grown-ups do. But is being a mummy really that much fun? Or can being small be just as special? Maybe they can both be wonderful, if you do them together... A joyous and heartwarming story of family love and playing together, in this second title from a talented new author/illustrator pairing.

Author Info

Author's Website

https://scribblehound.com/

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×