LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Beasts of Prey

Written by Ayana Gray

Part of the Beasts of Prey Series

Write A Review

Beasts of Prey Review

Fantasy / Magical Featured Books for Young Adults

An extraordinary adventure inspired by Pan-African mythology

Magic doesn't exist in the broken city of Lkossa anymore, especially for girls like sixteen-year-old Koffi. Indentured to the notorious Night Zoo, she cares for its fearsome mythical creatures to pay off her family's debts. But when they are threatened by the Zoo's cruel master, Koffi unleashes a power she doesn't fully understand. As the son of a decorated hero, Ekon destined to become an elite warrior. Until a fire at the Night Zoo upends his future and, on the brink of his final rite of passage, Ekon is cast out - his reputation left in tatters. For Koffi and Ekon, the outlook is bleak - unless they can capture the Shetani, the vicious monster that plagues their city. As Koffi and Ekon enter the Greater Jungle, a world steeped in wild magic and danger, the tentative alliance between them is tested to the extreme. The hunt begins - but are they the hunters or the hunted?

LoveReading4Kids

Beasts of Prey Synopsis

An extraordinary adventure inspired by Pan-African mythology, from exciting debut author Ayana Gray.

An unforgettable, New York Times bestselling fantasy adventure for fans of An Ember in the AshesShadow and Bone and The Gilded Ones.

Soon to be a major Netflix movie. 

Beasts of Prey Press Reviews

The hunt for your next YA fantasy book trilogy obsession has ended - Entertainment Weekly

The next big thing in YA fantasy . . . A dazzling debut - Kirkus

Rich and powerful - O, the Oprah Magazine

Epic doesn't begin to encompass the jolting twists, sparkling mythos, and magical quests that fill the pages of Beasts of Prey. This is the sort of read that's beyond transportive, it's downright transcending -- Roshani Chokshi, author of The Gilded Wolves

Wildly original . . . Gray marries the lush imaginative wonder of African mythology with an action-packed tale of two teens on the opposite ends of fate, figuring out what's truly worth fighting for. Swoony, twisty, action-packed, Beasts of Prey is as epic as it is unforgettable -- J. Elle, author of Wings of Ebony

Rich in magic and mythos, Beasts of Prey is a feast for all the senses . . . Gray's writing is lyrical, her imagery vivid -- Renee Ahdieh, author of The Wrath & The Dawn

With its memorable characters, and a lush, expansive world, Gray's debut is an action-packed adventure that will tug at hearts . . . Essential - School Library Journal

Thrilling . . . with twists and turns that will delight - Booklist

If you loved this, you might like these...

Hotel Magnifique
The Taking of Jake Livingston
Little Thieves
When The World Was Ours

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780241532546
Publication date: 03/03/2022
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd an imprint of Penguin Random House Children's UK
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780241532546
Publication date: 3rd March 2022
Author: Ayana Gray
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd an imprint of Penguin Random House Children's UK
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 496 pages
Suitable for: YA readers
Genres: Fantasy / Magical

About Ayana Gray

Ayana Gray is a lover of all things monsters and magic. Originally an Atlanta native, she now lives in sunny Florida where she writes fantastical stories, follows Formula One racing, and worries over her adopted baby rhino, Apollo.

More About Ayana Gray

More Books By Ayana Gray

Cover for Beasts of Ruin by Ayana Gray
View All Books By Ayana Gray

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×