LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Spin Me Right Round

Written by David Valdes

Write A Review

Spin Me Right Round Review

Featured Books for 13+ readers Featured Books for Young Adults Funny School Stories Science Fiction Personal Social Health Economic (PSHE)

Back to the Future brought bang up to date with inclusive intersectionality, high school high jinks and heart-warming friendships

Telling a time-slip tale of 1980s homophobia and friendship, David Valdes’ You Spin Me Right Round is a thrilling rollercoaster ride of humour and a heart - think Back to the Future with a 21st-century twist.

Luis Gonzales, a drama-loving 17-year-old fashionista of Cuban heritage, is his high school’s Student Body President and on the Prom Council, determined to change school policy so he and his boyfriend Cheng can go to prom together - the “opposite gender” guest policy sucks. Reeling from having his dream quashed at a meeting, Luis is transported to a 1985 incarnation of his school, back to when his mom and dad attended.

“I’m here, I’m queer, it’s 1985 - get used to it”, Luis announces with bravado, but life for a gay brown teenager in a predominantly white Christian school in the 80’s is far from easy. With time ticking away, and Luiz desperate to find a way to save closeted Chaz from homophobia and get back to his mom and Cheng, readers are in for a trip that’s thought- provoking and funny, with Luiz’s slick, witty voice propelling the drama at breakneck speed.

Joanne Owen

Spin Me Right Round Synopsis

Meet Luis. He's out, he's proud ... and, although he doesn't know it yet, he's about to travel back in time to save a closeted student called Chaz from a tragic end. All Luis Gonzalez really wants is to go to prom with his boyfriend. But when a hit on the head knocks him back in time to 1985, he finds himself in high school with his own parents and a whole lot of homophobia.

It turns out a Christian school in the 1980s probably isn't the safest place to be a gay kid.

Soon, Luis is in over his head trying to untangle the mess he's in, figure how to save Chaz ... and somehow get home to his own time.

Get ready for an irresistible YA novel that puts an Own Voices twist on Back to the Future. Perfect for fans of Adam Silvera, Becky Albertalli and Casey McQuiston, this hilarious, intersectional time-slip adventure will make you laugh, cry and think.

Spin Me Right Round Press Reviews

An absolute blast. I loved it, and I couldn't put it down - Bill Konigsberg, award-winning author of The Music of What Happens

Prepare to laugh out loud as Cuban American high-school senior Luis takes a trip into the past that rivals Back to the Future - Booklist

Witty, sassy, and brave, Spin Me Right Round is a bingeable and unapologetically gay Back to the Future-style coming of age novel that's worthy of traveling back in time with - Bookseller, Secret Garden

If you loved this, you might like these...

Only on the Weekends
Things I Know
Ellie Pillai is Brown
The Taking of Jake Livingston

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781526642196
Publication date: 26/05/2022
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781526642196
Publication date: 26th May 2022
Author: David Valdes
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 352 pages
Suitable for: 13+ readers, YA readers
Genres: Funny, School Stories, Science Fiction, Personal Social Health Economic
Collections: LGBTQI Literature celebrating 50 Years of Pride, Brilliant Children's Books to Read this Summer,

About David Valdes

David Valdes is a well-known YA author, and a former Boston Globe columnist and Huffington Post blogger whose posts have received over a million hits. He lives in the Boston area and teaches writing at Boston Conservatory and Tufts.

More About David Valdes

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×