LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Hooey Higgins Goes for Gold

Written by Steve Voake

Illustrated by Emma Dodson

Featured Books for 7+ readers

LoveReading View on Hooey Higgins Goes for Gold

Olympic fever strikes Shrimpton-on-Sea when Mr Papalopoulos, the owner of the local Greek restaurant, offers to sponsor sports day. Hooey and his classmates Twig, Basbo and Will are all keen to show their prowess in events such as welly wanging – that’s the knowledgeable Samantha’s speciality - the high-jump, sprinting and the rest. Chaos follows before the excitement of the day and all the fun of the races. Amidst the laughs, the school friends – and readers - learn more about the Olympics and the Ancient Greeks who created them.

LoveReading4Kids

Hooey Higgins Goes for Gold Synopsis

Like cheese? Like champions? Like to see the Cheese of Champions? Read this book and you...might! Want to see Twig run really, really fast? Then get yourself a ticket to the Shrimpton-on-Sea Games! See: Hooey hitting the high jump! Samantha wanging the welly! Twig versus Basbo in the sprint! And what is Hooey, Will and Twig's secret weapon? Cheese. But we're not talking any old fromage here - oh no, this is the ancient Greek sporting Cheese of Champions! Want to know what happens? You'd Feta get reading! This is a fourth book in the Hooey Higgins series for kids who like to larf - perfect for fans of Mr Gum and Horrid Henry, and is highly illustrated for reluctant readers.

Hooey Higgins Goes for Gold Press Reviews

'Energetic and bubbly... silliness by the bucketload... It's wild and wacky, and in a great way.' The Bookbag

'[A] continually amusing story, illustrated by Emma Dodson with anarchic glee.' - The Independent on Sunday

'[An] appealingly streetwise caper.' - The Telegraph

If you loved this, you might like these...

Guardians of Magic
The Golden Acorn
Be The Change
The 117-Storey Treehouse

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781406322415
Publication date: 05/04/2012
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781406322415
Publication date: 5th April 2012
Author: Steve Voake
Illustrator: Emma Dodson
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Suitable for: 7+ readers

About Steve Voake

Steve Voake grew up in Midsomer Norton, near Bath, Somerset. His early ambitions were to play football for England and to be a bomb disposal expert so that he could blow stuff up. His favourite pastime was racing home made go-carts (and crashing them) with his friends. As an adultAfter studying for a degree in philosophy, Steve sold ice-creams in the south of France before becoming a primary school teacher. He spent eight very happy years as headteacher of the 'Jack and Jill' school in Kilmersdon, Somerset. The original well from the nursery rhyme can still be found in the ...

More About Steve Voake

More Books By Steve Voake

Cover for Hooey Higgins and the Awards of Awesomeness by Steve Voake
Cover for Hooey Higgins and the Big Day Out by Steve Voake
Cover for Fightback by Steve Voake
View All Books By Steve Voake

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×