Fizzlebert Stump and the Bearded Boy

Written by A. F. Harrold

Part of the Fizzlebert Stump Series

Books of the Month - <b>December</b> Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers General Fiction Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on Fizzlebert Stump and the Bearded Boy

March 2013 Book of the Month  Fizzlebert Stump’s  Circus is back for a  second riotous show during which everything can – and does – go terribly wrong. The new act features the very, very hairy Barboozul family which includes Wystan, the bearded son. Fizzlebert - his mum is a clown and dad is a strongman - is used to oddities but he has never come across a bearded boy. Will the two become friends? Many strange things happen at the Circus before anything as obvious as that happens in a delightfully chaotic and imaginative romp.

This is Fizzlebert Stump’s second adventure - which began with Fizzlebert Stump The Boy Who Ran Away from the Circus (and Joined the Library)

Fizzlebert Stump and the Bearded Boy Synopsis

Fizzlebert Stump's second adventure. The bearded Barboozul family are the new stars of Fizz's circus. Their act is full of magic, mystery, fear and fun. And it's nice to have another boy around, even if he is a bit...hairy round the chin. But then things start going wrong. The lion loses his dentures. The clowns lose their noses. The Ringmaster loses his temper. And the circus is about to lose its licence. Is the bearded boy to blame? Can Fizz save the day?

Perfect for fans of Mr Gum and books by Jeremy Strong. Fizzlebert is back with the circus from which he tried to run away in the first book – With terrific humour and non-stop adventure and misadventure readers can’t fail to be hooked.

Fizzlebert Stump and the Bearded Boy Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Alexander Butler, age 9 - 'An excellent story of a new act that is brought into the circus and all is great.  But then things start to go wrong...  A really funny read.' Read full review >
  • Freya Hudson,  age 10 -  'I have read both the Fizzlebert books.  If you like funny, exciting and entertaining books, read about Fizzlebert Stump. The author keeps the reader gripped by the way he ends each chapter, making you want to read on to find out what happens next. Even my mum enjoyed this book and I had to keep telling her what was happening!' Read full review >
  • Adam Graham, age 9  - 'This book has one bad feature and that is just simply that it ends! Also it is so amazing because of the hilarious sketches and humorous narration.'  Read full review >
  • Lennon Kerrigan-Gee, age 10  - 'This fantastic book will blow your mind with their mysterious people and amazing tricks.' Read full review >
  • Callum Kerrigan-Gee, age 10  - 'Fizzlebert’s adventure is dramatic, amazing, exciting and quite funny.'   Read full review >
  • Lucy Minton, age 9 - 'I liked this book because it described everything very well and I could paint a picture in my head of the events and people being described.' Read full review >

If you loved this, you might like these...

Hamish and the Terrible Terrible Christmas and Other Stories
My Mum Tracy Beaker
The Restless Girls
The Lost Diary of Sami Star

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781408835210
Publication date: 14/03/2013
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781408835210
Publication date: 14th March 2013
Author: A. F. Harrold
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 272 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: General Fiction
Recommendations: Books of the Month, eBooks
Other Categories: Reviewed by Children

About A. F. Harrold

A.F. Harrold is an English poet (1975-present). He writes and performs for adults and children, in cabaret and in schools, in bars and in basements, in fields and indoors. He was Glastonbury Festival Website's Poet-In-Residence in 2008, and Poet-In-Residence at Cheltenham Literature Festival in 2010. He won the Cheltenham All Stars Slam Championship in 2007 and has had his work on BBC Radio 4, Radio 3 and BBC7. He is active in schools work, running workshops and slams and doing performances at ungodly hours of the morning, and has published several collections of poetry. He is the owner of many books, a handful of ...

More About A. F. Harrold

More Books By A. F. Harrold

Cover for The Song from Somewhere Else by A. F. Harrold
Cover for Greta Zargo and the Death Robots from Outer Space by A. F. Harrold
Cover for The Song from Somewhere Else by A. F. Harrold
View All Books By A. F. Harrold

Share this book

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.

NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×