LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Hooey Higgins and the Awards of Awesomeness

Written by Steve Voake

Illustrated by Emma Dodson

Part of the Hooey Higgins Series

Featured Books for 7+ readers General Fiction

LoveReading View on Hooey Higgins and the Awards of Awesomeness

Classroom life as experienced by the pupils is brilliantly evoked in this hilarious story about the ridiculousness of endless awards and certificates. As the head announces yet more awards for achieving wonderful things, Twig wonders why he has never won anything. Hooey and Will decide to set matters right. Soon their Awards for Awesomeness are there for the taking and everyone – including Twig – can become a winner. Steve Voake gets behind the scenes brilliantly.

Hooey Higgins and the Awards of Awesomeness Synopsis

Screwball antics on and off the footie pitch. Why does Twig never win an award? Why? Why? Anyway, he doesn't. In school assembly everyone else (even Basbo) wins Mr Croft's Awards Certificates - Sarah-Jane Silverton has so many that her parents have actually built an extension to display them all. There's only one solution: Hooey and Will decide to invent their own Awards Of Awesomeness, strategically tailored to Twig's...erm...talents. But one mayhem football game and one Green innovation later, Twig is still tragically prizeless. Will he ever be Awarded an Award, Awesome or otherwise?

Sixth book in the Hooey Higgins series - perfect for fans of Mr Gum , Horrid Henry and Wimpy Kid.

 

 

Hooey Higgins and the Awards of Awesomeness Press Reviews

...A romp that might just drag a few eyes away from the Wimpy Kid books. Fast-paced fun. Kirkus Reviews


If you loved this, you might like these...

The Adventures of Harry Stevenson
Witches (Un)Welcome
Eric and the Wishing Stone
Kid Normal and the Shadow Machine

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781406334302
Publication date: 02/05/2013
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781406334302
Publication date: 2nd May 2013
Author: Steve Voake
Illustrator: Emma Dodson
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 144 pages
Suitable for: 7+ readers
Genres: General Fiction

About Steve Voake

Steve Voake grew up in Midsomer Norton, near Bath, Somerset. His early ambitions were to play football for England and to be a bomb disposal expert so that he could blow stuff up. His favourite pastime was racing home made go-carts (and crashing them) with his friends. As an adultAfter studying for a degree in philosophy, Steve sold ice-creams in the south of France before becoming a primary school teacher. He spent eight very happy years as headteacher of the 'Jack and Jill' school in Kilmersdon, Somerset. The original well from the nursery rhyme can still be found in the ...

More About Steve Voake

More Books By Steve Voake

Cover for Hooey Higgins and the Big Day Out by Steve Voake
Cover for Hooey Higgins Goes for Gold by Steve Voake
Cover for Fightback by Steve Voake
View All Books By Steve Voake

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×