LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

How Ali Ferguson Saved Houdini

Written by Elen Caldecott

How Ali Ferguson Saved Houdini Synopsis

Ali Ferguson has just moved into Lever Tower with his mum. It's not long before he meets Caitlin and the Alsatian dog she looks after, Falcon, who doesn't take too kindly to being walked on a lead. Caitlin introduces Ali to her best friend, Gez, and together the three set out to discover, firstly, why the foxes have disappeared from the area, secondly, why the owls have appeared and, thirdly, why Miss Osborne has, it seems, vanished...And how exactly her disappearance is related to the previous two. With the help of his friends and, significantly, Caitlin's dad, Ali and his mum begin to feel comfortable and happy in their new life without Ali's dad.

How Ali Ferguson Saved Houdini Press Reviews

Praise for How Kirsty Jenkins Stole the Elephant: 'Its ingenious ideas, humour and clear, unfussy style keep the pages turning speedily to the feel-good conclusion, which is moving without being mawkish' Sunday Times 'Creating novels that engage children and at the same time show how books can help them explore difficult questions about their own experience is perhaps the ideal of children's fiction, but it's a difficult balancing act ... Elen Caldecott has achieved this balance beautifully' Observer Praise for How Ali Ferguson Saved Houdini: 'What I particularly liked was the recognition and portrayal of children's rich and imaginary lives in the tradition of Nesbit and Ransome ... An enjoyable and page-turning read' School Librarian 'Kid-sleuth adventure set unflinchingly in contemporary Britain. The book manages to be fun and serious at the same time' Financial Times

Book Information

ISBN: 9781408805749
Publication date: 5th July 2010
Author: Elen Caldecott
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 224 pages

About Elen Caldecott

Elen Caldecott recently graduated with an MA in Writing for Young People from Bath Spa University. At the end of the course she was highly commended in the PFD Prize for Most Promising Writer for Young People. Before becoming a writer, she was an archaeologist, a nurse, a theatre usher and a museum security guard. It was while working at the museum that Elen realised there is a way to steal anything if you think about it hard enough. Elen either had to become a master thief, or create some characters to do it for her - and so her ...

More About Elen Caldecott

More Books By Elen Caldecott

Cover for Spooks and Scooters by Elen Caldecott
Cover for Crowns and Codebreakers by Elen Caldecott
Cover for Marsh Road Mysteries: Diamonds and Daggers by Elen Caldecott
View All Books By Elen Caldecott

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×