LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Wickerlight

Written by Mary Watson

The Wickerlight Synopsis

An eerie, magical thriller from the author of The Wren Hunt, perfect for fans of Frances Hardinge and Emily Bain Murphy's The Disappearances Zara's family moved to Kilshamble for a new beginning. But everything changed the night her sister was found dead on the village green. Two months later, Laila's death is a riddle that nobody wants solved. Where were her injuries? Why was she so obsessed with local folklore? And what does all this have to do with David, the boy who lives at the big house? As Zara delves deeper into her sister's secret life, she becomes entangled in an ancient magical feud. All too unwittingly she is treading the same dangerous path that led Laila to the village green ...

The Wickerlight Press Reviews

The most superb collection of character and fantasy and love and landscape I have read since Phillip Pullman's Northern Lights * Hilary McKay on The Wren Hunt * A modern-day fairytale ... Throwing romance, magical visions and gruesome rituals into the pot, this is a thrilling and otherworldly depiction on Irish Culture * Sunday Times Magazine on THE WREN HUNT * Beautiful, eerie, dark and dreamy ... An absolutely stunning mix of myth and legend and family saga. I haven't stopped thinking about it * Melinda Salisbury on THE WREN HUNT * The tentacles of this story reach deep into Ireland's mythological past, in a haunting tale ... The story is riveting, set in a modern country town but at all times laced with reminders of more violent but intriguing times * Irish Examiner on THE WREN HUNT * There's a heady mix of the real and the magical in The Wren Hunt and I completely fell under its spell. A clever, wonderful, evocative novel, and I don't have a single, even lukewarm, criticism to make * Jill Murphy in The Bookbag on THE WREN HUNT * The Wickerlight caught me and held me captive in a woven room of its own, refusing to release me, from the mystical start to the bittersweet end. [...] It convinces the reader that maybe, just maybe, magic can bleed into their life too. The Wickerlight is perfect for a witchy night in with a steaming cup of tea (stormy background noise optional but recommended) * Paper Lanterns *

Book Information

ISBN: 9781408884911
Publication date: 30th May 2019
Author: Mary Watson
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 432 pages

About Mary Watson

Mary Watson is from Cape Town and now lives on the West Coast of Ireland with her husband and three children. Highlights of her adult writing career include being awarded the Caine Prize for African Writing in Oxford in 2006, and being included on the Hay Festival's 2014 Africa39 list of influential writers from sub-Saharan Africa. The Wickerlight is her second book for young adults, following The Wren Hunt.

More About Mary Watson

More Books By Mary Watson

Cover for The Wren Hunt by Mary Watson
Cover for The Wren Hunt by Mary Watson
Cover for Bedtime Stories for Kids Make Your Children Happy and Peaceful with The Best Collection Of Animal Short Stories, Classic Fairy Tales, Funny Adventures And More by Mary Watson
View All Books By Mary Watson

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×