LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Cake the Wolf and the Witch

Written by Maudie Smith

The Cake the Wolf and the Witch Synopsis

Max doesn't believe in happy endings. He doesn't even like stories. So when he finds himself whisked away in a giant cake to The Land of Ever After, Max is NOT impressed. But the people of Ever After are in trouble, and they need Max's help. Will Max agree to go on a dangerous quest to save their world? And if he doesn't, how will he and his brand new brother and sister ever get home? A mixed-up and fresh take on the fairy tale, with a sprinkle of Jacqueline Wilson and Liz Kessler, and perfect for fans of Enid Blyton's The Magic Faraway Tree. 'Endlessly inventive' - Piers Torday, award-winning author of The Last Wild.

The Cake the Wolf and the Witch Press Reviews

[FOR OPAL MOONBABY] This heart-warming tale ... will appeal to those who like a little magic in their lives. * CAROUSEL * [FOR OPAL MOONBABY] Opal Moonbaby really does seem like a classic novel. It's exactly the sort of book I would have devoured as a young girl and it really did have a similar style and tone as some of my old favourites ... Maudie Smith is a great new talent in the world of middle grade fiction and I'll certainly be looking out for more of her work in future. * WRITING FROM THE TUB * [FOR OPAL MOONBABY] A touching story deliciously tinged with magic. -- Julia Eccleshare * LOVEREADING4KIDS * [FOR OPAL MOONBABY] Now - I want you to remember the name of Opal Moonbaby - she's a brilliant comic creation ... Opal sparkles and she's totally original. I lovedher. And Maudie Smith gives us a great story too. She's pitch-perfect on the way that girls in this age group act. -- Sue Magee * THE BOOKBAG * Fast paced funny and touching...It's a story that is both funny and exciting, and it'll make you think, too, without being in any way sappy. Make sure you don't miss it. * The Bookbag * Through all the fantasticalness of the story, the character of Max and his step-siblings remain very much grounded in reality, and this makes this book a complete winner. With illustrations by the wonderful Tony Ross (of Horrid Henry fame), this is the summer's must-read for children aged 7+. * Minerva Reads * Delighted by #TheCakeTheWolfTheWitch, #Sondheim for 7+. A magical quest with heart and spark. * Children's book reviewer, Amanda Craig on Twitter * This is one of the best books I have read -- Lucy Crowley, Ballinadee National School * Evening Echo (Cork) * Mischief, make believe and marbles galore! Endlessly inventive. * PIERS TORDAY *

Book Information

ISBN: 9781444015607
Publication date: 2nd July 2015
Author: Maudie Smith
Publisher: Orion Children's Books an imprint of Hachette Children's Group
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 192 pages

About Maudie Smith

Maudie Smith started out as an actor, devising new musical plays for which she also wrote lyrics. Her many roles in children's theatre include the Snow Queen and Piglet. More recently she has written a libretto for a newly commissioned opera. In 2011 she completed an MA in Writing for Young People at Bath Spa University. Maudie lives near Bath with her screenwriter husband and their two daughters, along with a menagerie of cats, chickens and stick insects. She has two older brothers who she likes to refer to as the Ugly Sisters. Visit Maudie's website at http://www.maudiesmith.co....

More About Maudie Smith

More Books By Maudie Smith

Cover for The Dressing-Up Dad by Maudie Smith
Cover for About Zooming Time, Opal Moonbaby! by Maudie Smith
Cover for Opal Moonbaby by Maudie Smith
View All Books By Maudie Smith

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×