LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Meerkat Mail

Written by Emily Gravett

Meerkat Mail Synopsis

Meerkat Mail is a brilliant picture book from Emily Gravett, the winner of the Kate Greenaway Medal. It has wonderfully detailed, witty artwork and a giant, glossy postcard flap to lift on every spread. Perfect for fans of The Jolly Postman - and meerkats! Sunny the meerkat lives with his enormous family in the Kalahari desert. They are all very close . . . so close, in fact, that one day Sunny decides it's just too crowded and packs his bags. He's off to visit his mongoose cousins. But from the watery world of the Marsh Mongoose to the nocturnal lifestyle of the Malagasy Mongoose, Sunny just doesn't fit in. And who's that shadowy figure who seems to be following him around? There's so much to enjoy, from the newspaper cuttings on the endpapers to the wittily accurate information about each mongoose species Sunny visits on his journey. With seven giant glossy postcards attached to the pages, this beautiful book is rich with comic detail and will keep any child entertained for hours.

Meerkat Mail Press Reviews

Gravett's pencil and wash style has both humour and bite * Independent * Exceptionally good * Publishing News * the loveliest picture book I have seen this year * Bookseller * Expressive, intricately detailed drawings * Guardian * essential for every suitcase or library * Sunday Times *

Book Information

ISBN: 9781509836130
Publication date: 25th August 2016
Author: Emily Gravett
Publisher: Two Hoots an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 32 pages

About Emily Gravett

Emily Gravett is a graduate of Brighton University and the winner of the Macmillan Prize for Illustration. She burst onto the scene with the startlingly original Wolves, with which she won her first CILIP Kate Greenaway Award. Emily won her second for the extraordinary Little Mouse's Big Book of Fears. Some of her other titles include Little Mouse's Big Book of Beasts, Tidy, Cyril and Pat and, with Julia Donaldson, Cave Baby.

More About Emily Gravett

More Books By Emily Gravett

Cover for Meerkat Christmas  by Emily Gravett
Cover for Cyril and Pat by Emily Gravett
Cover for Cyril and Pat by Emily Gravett
View All Books By Emily Gravett

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×