LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Jon Klassen - Illustrator

About the Illustrator

Jon Klassen is the author-illustrator of I Want My Hat Back and This Is Not My Hat, the only book to ever win both the Kate Greenaway and Caldecott Medal. He also illustrated Mac Barnett's Extra Yarn and Sam and Dave Dig a Hole, and served as an illustrator on the animated feature film Coraline. His illustrations for Caroline Stutson's Cats Night Out won the Governor General's Award in 2010. Originally from Niagara Falls, Canada, Jon now lives in Los Angeles, California.

Photo © Moranne Keeler

Featured books by Jon Klassen

Extra Yarn

Extra Yarn

5+ readers

Author: Mac Barnett Illustrator: Jon Klassen Format: Hardback Release Date: 11/12/2012

This is an extraordinary new picture book about a little girl who cocoons her cold, grey town in joy and warmth...and brightly coloured yarn!  It's the perfect marriage of a beautiful, timeless story and stunning illustrations from a dream duo, Mac Barnett and Jon Klassen. Rising star Jon Klassen's debut picture book, I Want My Hat Back , was listed as one of the New York Times ' Best Illustrated Books of 2011. Keep your eyes peeled for a very familiar-looking bear in Extra Yarn!  

Other books by Jon Klassen

House Held Up by Trees

House Held Up by Trees

Author: Ted Kooser Illustrator: Jon Klassen Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/04/2021

From Pulitzer Prize-winning poet Ted Kooser and Kate Greenaway winner Jon Klassen comes a poignant tale of loss, change and nature's quiet triumph. From Pulitzer Prize-winning poet Ted Kooser and Jon Klassen, author-illustrator of the first ever title to win both the Kate Greenaway and Caldecott Medal, comes a lovely, lyrical exploration of loss, change and the natural world, and a story about a house over the passage of time. When the house was new, not a single tree remained on its perfect lawn to give shade from the sun. The children in the house trailed the scent of wild trees to neighbouring lots, where thick bushes offered secret places to play. When the children grew up and moved away, their father, alone in the house, continued his battle against blowing seeds, plucking out sprouting trees - until one day he, too, moved away. Then, as the empty house began its decline, the trees began to take over. At once wistful and exhilarating, this moving story evokes the awe-inspiring power of nature to lift us up.

The Rock from the Sky

The Rock from the Sky

Author: Jon Klassen Illustrator: Jon Klassen Format: Hardback Release Date: 13/04/2021

Look up! From the Caldecott Medal-winning creator of the Hat trilogy comes a new deadpan gem. Turtle really likes standing in his favourite spot. He likes it so much that he asks his friend Armadillo to come over and stand in it, too. But now that Armadillo is standing in that spot, he has a bad feeling about it... A hilarious meditation on the workings of friendship, fate, shared futuristic visions, and that funny feeling you get that there's something off somewhere, but you just can't put your finger on it. Merging broad visual suspense with wry wit and existential silliness, celebrated picture-book creator Jon Klassen gives us a wholly original comedy for the ages.

Yo quiero mi sombrero

Yo quiero mi sombrero

Author: Jon Klassen Illustrator: Jon Klassen Format: Hardback Release Date: 19/11/2020

Monster Tails Harvey Will Not Wear His Mask

Monster Tails Harvey Will Not Wear His Mask

Author: Kenlynn Dorothy Scott Illustrator: Jon Klassen Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/09/2020

We Found a Hat

We Found a Hat

Author: Jon Klassen Illustrator: Jon Klassen Format: Board book Release Date: 03/09/2020

The award-winning author of I Want My Hat Back is at his glorious best Guardian, Best Books of the Year Two turtles have found a hat. The hat looks good on both of them. But there are two turtles. And there is only one hat... Evoking hilarity and sympathy, the shifting eyes tell the tale in this perfectly paced story in three parts, highlighting Jon Klassen's visual comedy, deceptive simplicity and deliciously deadpan humour. Available at last in a stylish, sturdy board book format, this bestselling story is perfect for sharing in a lap with the smallest of hands.

Skunk and Badger

Skunk and Badger

Author: Amy Timberlake Illustrator: Jon Klassen Format: Hardback Release Date: 03/09/2020

A classic tale about an extraordinary and unlikely animal friendship. For fans of Paddington Bear and Wallace and Gromit. From Newbery Honor Author, Amy Timberlake and multi-award winning illustrator, Jon Klassen comes a beautiful tale of friendship for readers aged 7+. Meet Skunk and Badger. The first time Badger saw Skunk, he thought, 'puny' and shut the front door. There was simply too much slick in this Skunk's stripe. Too much puff in his tail. Also, there'd been that grin, and the way he'd stuck out his paw as if he had been looking forward to meeting Badger. Badger knew what to make of that. He shut the door before the fellow got any ideas . . . But Skunk is Badger's new roommate, and there is nothing Badger can do about it. When Skunk bursts into Badger's life, everything Badger knows is upended. Tails are flipped. The wrong animal is sprayed. And why-oh-why are there so many chickens? Skunk and Badger is a beautiful reminder that sometimes opposites are destined to be the best of friends. A book you'll want to read again and again, beautifully illustrated throughout by Jon Klassen.

Monster Tails A Green-Eyed Boy Named Harvey

Monster Tails A Green-Eyed Boy Named Harvey

Author: Kenlynn Dorothy Scott Illustrator: Jon Klassen Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/04/2020

Circle

Circle

Author: Mac Barnett Illustrator: Jon Klassen Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

From the dynamic, dream team of Jon Klassen and Mac Barnett comes the final instalment in the hilarious shape trilogy. Simple shapes and succinct story express big ideas. Makes us consider fear of strangers, the power of the imagination, being brave and standing by friends Sunday Times Triangle and Square are visiting Circle, who lives at the waterfall. When they play hide-and-seek, Circle tells the friends the one rule: not to go behind the falling water. But after she closes her eyes to count to ten, of course that's exactly where Triangle goes. Will Circle find Triangle? And what OTHER shapes might be lurking back there?

Jon Klassen's Hat Box

Jon Klassen's Hat Box

Author: Jon Klassen Illustrator: Jon Klassen Format: Undefined Release Date: 03/10/2019

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book II The Hidden Gallery

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book II The Hidden Gallery

Author: Maryrose Wood Illustrator: Jon Klassen Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 26/01/2012

Of especially naughty children it is sometimes said, They must have been raised by wolves. The Incorrigible Children actually were. Thanks to the efforts of their plucky governess, Miss Penelope Lumley, Alexander, Beowulf, and Cassiopeia are much more like children than wolf cubs now. They are accustomed to wearing clothes. They hardly ever howl at the moon. And for the most part, they resist the urge to chase squirrels up trees. Despite Penelope's civilizing influence, the Incorrigibles still managed to ruin Lady Constance's Christmas ball, nearly destroying the grand house. So while Ashton Place is being restored, Penelope, the Ashtons, and the children take up residence in London. Penelope is thrilled, as London offers so many opportunities to further the education of her unique students. But the city presents challenges, too, in the form of the palace guards' bearskin hats, which drive the children wild - not to mention the abundance of pigeons the Incorrigibles love to hunt. As they explore London, however, they discover more about themselves as clues about the children's - and Penelope's - mysterious past crop up in the most unexpected ways...

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book I The Mysterious Howling

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book I The Mysterious Howling

Author: Maryrose Wood Illustrator: Jon Klassen Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/02/2011

Of especially naughty children, it is sometimes said: They must have been raised by wolves. The Incorrigible Children actually were. Discovered in the forest of Ashton Place, the Incorrigibles are no ordinary children. Luckily, Miss Penelope Lumley is no ordinary governess. A recent graduate of the Swanburne Academy for Poor Bright Females, Penelope embraces the challenge of her new position. Though she is eager to instruct the children in Latin verbs and the proper use of globes, first she must eliminate their canine tendencies. But mysteries abound at Ashton Place: Who are these three wild creatures? Why does Old Timothy, the coachman, lurk around every corner? Will Penelope be able to civilize the Incorrigibles in time for Lady Constance's holiday ball? And what on earth is a schottische? Penelope is no stranger to mystery, as her own origins are also cloaked in secrecy. But as Agatha Swanburne herself once said, Things may happen for a reason, but that doesn't mean we know what the reason is-at least, not yet.

Illustrator Info

Illustrator's Website

http://jonklassen.blogspot.co.uk/

Facebook Updates

If this is your illustrator page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading4Kids

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×