Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

John Kelly - Illustrator

About the Illustrator

John Kelly is an illustrator, writer and designer who has written and illustrated a variety of picture books, young fiction, graphic novels and non-fiction. He has been shortlisted twice for the Kate Greenaway prize and has helped create books for Lucasfilm and Pixar. Originally from the North East of England John now lives in South London. .

 

Featured books by John Kelly

Other books by John Kelly

Munch, Crunch, Pirate Lunch!

Munch, Crunch, Pirate Lunch!

Author: John Kelly Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 11/08/2016

Meet the Beastly Pirates, the munchiest, crunchiest pirates to ever sail the seven seas! If YOU were a pirate, what would you have for lunch? Fish soup? Shark on toast? Not the Beastly Pirates! They like something a little munchier, a little crunchier ... a little more 'piratey'. Join the Beastly Pirates on this awesome piratical adventure, fabulously illustrated by Kate Greenaway Medal shortlisted illustrator, John Kelly.

Munch, Crunch, Pirate Lunch!

Munch, Crunch, Pirate Lunch!

Author: John Kelly Format: Hardback Release Date: 11/08/2016

Meet the Beastly Pirates, the munchiest, crunchiest pirates to ever sail the seven seas! If YOU were a pirate, what would you have for lunch? Fish soup? Shark on toast? Not the Beastly Pirates! They like something a little munchier, a little crunchier ... a little more 'piratey'. Join the Beastly Pirates on this awesome piratical adventure, fabulously illustrated by Kate Greenaway Medal shortlisted illustrator, John Kelly.

Sir Scaly Pants the Dragon Knight

Sir Scaly Pants the Dragon Knight

Author: John Kelly Format: Hardback Release Date: 24/09/2015

When a ghastly giant comes crashing through the Kingdom one day, the townsfolk fear for their lives. He's knocking down the buildings! He's breathing his stinky breath all over the place! He's even picking giant bogeys out of his giant nose - he must be stopped! So the King decrees that ALL knights be sent to slay the giant - and whoever succeeds will be knighted BRAVEST IN THE LAND. Enter Sir Scaly Pants (the most unusual knight around) and his trusty steed Guinevere (he most unfit horse around) Will this unlikely duo manage to defeat the greedy, grimy giant? You bet they will! A wildly funny tale of good versus bad perfect for fans of Jonny Duddle.

Sammy Feral's Diaries of Weird: Vampire Attack

Sammy Feral's Diaries of Weird: Vampire Attack

Author: Eleanor Hawken Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/10/2014

Sammy Feral's special talent for investigating weird creatures takes a turn for the terrifying when an army of vampire bats invade his hometown... and local children start going missing! Then, Sammy's own little sister disappears. Can he track down the evil Count Batcular and save Natty... before it's too late?

Araminta Spook: Gargoyle Hall

Araminta Spook: Gargoyle Hall

Author: Angie Sage Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/06/2014

When Araminta throws cold water over her best friend, Wanda, to disperse a crowd of panicked bats, it's decided Araminta has been `helpful' one too many times, and she is packed off to boarding school. On arrival, Araminta is surprised to discover that Gargoyle Hall makes her home, Spook House, seems positively cosy. Strange moans and clanks echo down the corridors and the two head girls are equally creepy. Most of the other pupils have been scared away, but Araminta senses that something - or someone - is behind the menace. With the help of best friend Wanda and Uncle Drac's prize bat, she is going to do something about it!

Sammy Feral's Diaries of Weird: Sammy Feral's Diaries of Weird: Hell Hound Curse

Sammy Feral's Diaries of Weird: Sammy Feral's Diaries of Weird: Hell Hound Curse

Author: Eleanor Hawken Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/08/2013

To make some extra money for Feral Zoo, Sammy, Red and Donny decide to promote their cryptozoology business - investigating animals that don't exist. What could possibly go wrong? Everything! Hired to check out sightings of a ghost dog, the friends uncover the terrifying legend of the Hell Hound. Anyone who is seen by this terrible beast is struck with a death curse. So when Sammy's best friend Mark runs into the deadly dog, Sammy knows he doesn't have long to figure out how to save him!

Sammy Feral's Diaries of Weird: Yeti Rescue

Sammy Feral's Diaries of Weird: Yeti Rescue

Author: Eleanor Hawken Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/02/2013

Sammy's back for another weird adventure! Ever since Sammy discovered that there are crazier animals in the world than just lemurs and lions, his life has become pretty weird. So when a Mongolian Death Worm turns up at his zoo, he's not that surprised. The Death Worm needs help: his best friend, Bert the Yeti Chief, has gone missing. Can Sammy summon the Ministry of Yetis and rescue Bert? He's going to need help from his old friends Donny and Red, not to mention a very reluctant Wish Frog... An action-packed adventure for the Wimpy Kid generation.

Don't Flush Lifting the Lid on the Science of Poo and Wee

Don't Flush Lifting the Lid on the Science of Poo and Wee

Author: Richard Platt, Mary Platt Format: Hardback Release Date: 11/10/2012

This book is a light-hearted, yet highly informative study of two of the most natural human resources in the world - poo and wee. Throughout history, the products of our bladder and bowels have helped us to build houses, wash and dye our clothes, fertilize crops, treat illnesses, solve crimes, control pollution and create fuel, energy and explosives. These pages show you how, and tell you some fascinating stories at the same time. Illustrated with brilliantly fun artworks and endearing characters, you'll be entertained by wizards using `magical urine', soldiers fighting with exploding piles of dung, wee-wielding beauty therapists and much more.

Plagues Pox and Pestilence

Plagues Pox and Pestilence

Author: Richard Platt Format: Hardback Release Date: 17/10/2011

A comprehensive history of disease and pestilence, told from the point of view of the bugs and pests that cause them. The book features case histories of specific epidemics, 'eyewitness' accounts from the rats, flies, ticks and creepy-crawlies who spread diseases, plus plenty of fascinating facts and figures on the biggest and worst afflictions. Illustrated throughout with brilliantly entertaining artworks and endearing characters, you'll be entertained by a cabinet war room showing the war on germs, a rogues' gallery highlighting the worst offenders, the very deadliest diseases examined under the microscope and much more.

Jack's Tractor

Jack's Tractor

Author: Thomas Taylor Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/07/2010

Jack takes a ride in his big red tractor with a trailer attached behind, picking up lots of fun animal friends along the way. But before long it gets dark and he's lost. Who will help him find the way home?

Fearless

Fearless

Author: Daniel Morden Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/06/2009

A boy wants to find out what it's like to shudder with-fear and ends up battling the Devil himself. A dark Gothic tale. Barrington Stoke specialise in books for reluctant, struggling and dyslexic readers.

Dead Men Don't Talk

Dead Men Don't Talk

Author: Catherine Forde Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 16/01/2009

Sulky teenager Alan's new room contains an unwelcome guest-with a message he needs to listen to. Ghostly horror. Barrington Stoke specialise in books for reluctant, struggling and dyslexic readers.

Scoop!

Scoop!

Author: Cathy Tincknell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/06/2007

Guess Who's Coming to Dinner?

Guess Who's Coming to Dinner?

Author: Cathy Tincknell Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/08/2004

Horace and Glenda Pork-Fowler hav one an all-you-can-eat weekend at Eatum Hall - a dream come true for the pair for whom no plate is too big. However, their greed and desire to make the most of their luxurious surroundings distract them from the true purpose of why they are there! Ages 5+.

Illustrator Info

Illustrator's Website

https://www.johnkellyillustration.com/

Facebook Updates

If this is your illustrator page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading4Kids

Find out more
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×