LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Fiona Woodcock - Illustrator

About the Illustrator

An illustrator and picture book author.

Fiona Woodcock studied Graphic Communication at Glasgow School of Art and now lives in London. For many years she worked in the world of animated films and commercials alongside her own illustration work and scribbling down ideas for books. She's presently routing through those ideas and enjoying developing them into fully formed books.

Her debut book Hiding Heidi was nominated for the 2017 Kate Greenaway award. Her other author/illustrator books Poppy and the Blooms, Look and Hello are out now. Look was the winner of the AOI World Illustration Awards 2019, in the Children's Books / Professional category.

She also illustrates other peoples stories: A Dot In The Snow by Corrinne Averiss was selected as one of 'The Times Children's Books of the Year 2016' and nominated for the Kate Greenaway Award 2018. 

It's a great pleasure for Fiona Woodcock to consolidate ideas and observations in the form of a carefully crafted book. A perfect project would combine her love of character design, pattern and hand-drawn typography. All the projects she works on have a paper based handmade origin. She likes to draw with children's blo pens, rubber stamps, cutting stencils and experimenting with printing techniques. She finds this playful approach and embracing collaboration brings about fresh ways to visualise ideas.

Featured books by Fiona Woodcock

Other books by Fiona Woodcock

Sunny-Side Up

Sunny-Side Up

Author: Jacky Davis Illustrator: Fiona Woodcock Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/04/2022

Bestselling author Jacky Davis and award-winning illustrator Fiona Woodcock celebrate family, love, and imagination in this vibrant and expressive picture book. Father-daughter time shines in this irresistible story about creativity, solving problems, and looking on the bright side when faced with obstacles. A great read-aloud for rainy days . . . or any day you're stuck at home! Drip, drip, drop. With breakfast finished, an energetic young girl is ready to play. But it's raining, and Dad says that she must stay inside. So, she crafts and she builds, she draws and she bakes. What else can she do to find the sunny side of a rainy day? Keep gloominess at bay with Sunny-Side Up, a wonderful choice about resilience and the power of imagination. A perfect book to share at storytime, to celebrate Father's Day, and to encourage kids-and their parents and caregivers-to use creativity to overcome challenges.

A Song in the Mist

A Song in the Mist

Author: Corrinne Averiss Illustrator: Fiona Woodcock Format: Hardback Release Date: 02/09/2021

Chi is a panda who loves to listen. Being silent brings sounds to her ears: the swish of bamboo, the chitter of birds, and then one day, a new sound, gentle and sweet. The sound leads Chi to a boy, who blows breath through a piece of bamboo. Chi is enchanted and longs to make friends, but she is shy and hides instead. As the boy searches for Chi and mist gathers in the forest, she must find the courage to help him-even if it means being seen...

Sunny-Side Up

Sunny-Side Up

Author: Jacky Davis Illustrator: Fiona Woodcock Format: Hardback Release Date: 04/03/2021

Bestselling author Jacky Davis and award-winning illustrator Fiona Woodcock celebrate family, love, and imagination in this vibrant and expressive picture book. Father-daughter time shines in this irresistible story about creativity, solving problems, and looking on the bright side when faced with obstacles. A great read-aloud for rainy days . . . or any day you're stuck at home! Drip, drip, drop. With breakfast finished, an energetic young girl is ready to play. But it's raining, and Dad says that she must stay inside. So, she crafts and she builds, she draws and she bakes. What else can she do to find the sunny side of a rainy day? Keep gloominess at bay with Sunny-Side Up, a wonderful choice about resilience and the power of imagination. A perfect book to share at storytime, to celebrate Father's Day, and to encourage kids-and their parents and caregivers-to use creativity to overcome challenges.

The Snow Dragon The perfect book for cold winter's nights, and cosy Christmas mornings.

The Snow Dragon The perfect book for cold winter's nights, and cosy Christmas mornings.

Author: Abi Elphinstone Illustrator: Fiona Woodcock Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 31/10/2019

You can be late for many things in life, but you should never keep an adventure waiting... In Griselda Bone's gloomy orphanage, daydreaming is banned, skipping is forbidden and Christmas is well and truly cancelled. But for Phoebe and her sausage dog Herb, is it possible that, just when things seem at their bleakest, magic awaits in the swirling, snow-filled air? Join them on an enchanting adventure in this beautifully moving story by the bestselling author of Sky Song and The Unmapped Chronicles, Abi Elphinstone, and renowned illustrator Fiona Woodcock.

Hello

Hello

Author: Fiona Woodcock Illustrator: Fiona Woodcock Format: Hardback Release Date: 27/06/2019

A brother and sister enjoy a brilliant day full of spills, thrills, and silly adventures in this playful story comprised only of words that contain a double L (such as spills, thrills, and silly)! The spare, engaging text works as an interactive read-aloud, and the stunning illustrations invite repeated readings. A great choice for family sharing, language arts teachers, emerging readers, and storytime fun! Hello! Are you ready for a brilliant day? There are plenty of spills and thrills as a brother and a sister collide in bumper cars, ride roller coasters, toss beach balls, and act silly in the chilly ocean water, where they meet a jellyfish! This playful concept and story book is ideal for new readers, who will love following along as a brother and sister enjoy a day full of adventure and unexpected surprises. Author-illustrator Fiona Woodcock's spare text uses only words with double L's, an important concept for early literacy. Parents and educators will appreciate the way each word is cleverly woven into eye-catching illustrations, from rabbit ears to a child's boots. Fans of Kevin Henkes's Egg and Fiona Woodcock's acclaimed debut Look will love the playful tone and pace.

Look

Look

Author: Fiona Woodcock Illustrator: Fiona Woodcock Format: Hardback Release Date: 06/09/2018

Look! It's a book! Starring a brother and sister who go to the zoo, see kangaroos and baboons, and get to bring home balloons! Told entirely in words that contain a double o, this playful story is a great choice for emerging readers. Bright illustrations and an engaging, interactive text will invite repeated readings. Hooray! A brother and sister can't wait to go to the zoo, where they have an exciting day ahead full of food, balloons, baboons, and so much more. This playful concept-and-story book is ideal for new readers. Author-illustrator Fiona Woodcock's spare text uses only words containing double o's, an important concept for early literacy. Each word is cleverly woven into stunning illustrations. And it all ends with a bedtime book, of course. Good night!

Illustrator Info

Illustrator's Website

https://www.fionawoodcock.com/

Facebook Updates

If this is your illustrator page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading4Kids

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×