LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Abi Elphinstone - Author

About the Author

A World Book Day Author 2019

Abi Elphinstone grew up in Scotland where she spent most of her childhood building dens, hiding in tree houses and running wild across highland glens. After being coaxed out of her tree house, she studied English at Bristol University and then worked as a teacher in Africa, Berkshire and London. She is the author of The Dreamsnatcher, The Shadow Keeper and The Night Spinner; a series of fast-paced adventure books for 8-12 year olds which follow Moll, Sid, Alfie and a wildcat, Gryff, as they search for the Amulets of Truth to stop a group of sinister witchdoctors taking over their world. She is also the curator of the anthology Winter Magic. 

Her 2018 book Sky Song was a snow-swept tale of adventure and friendship. The book was a Waterstones Book of the Month and was also shortlisted for the Independent Bookshop Week Book Award and the Sainsbury Children’s Book Award for Fiction as well as being longlisted for the Blue Peter Book Award and nominated for the Carnegie Medal. The Times has praised Abi has ‘a worthy successor to CS Lewis’ and The Guardian described Sky Song as ‘a truly magical tale’. 

Abi’s new series The Unmapped Chronicles is an epic and wide-reaching new series of interlinked standalone novels about magical kingdoms which coexist alongside our continents and hold all the magic needed to conjure sunlight, snow, rain and every untold wonder behind the weather for them. Abi has a World Book Day book, Everdark, coming out in March 2019. Everdark is a prequel to The Unmapped Chronicles. The first book in her new series, Rumblestar, is out in May 2019 and Abi has her first picture book, The Snow Dragon, with illustrator Fiona Woodcock coming out in October 2019. 

Abi volunteers for Beanstalk charity, is a patron for the brilliant Grimm & Co and is heavily involved in campaigning for Authors4Oceans. When she's not writing, Abi enjoys speaking in schools and travels the world looking for her next story. Her latest adventures include living with the Kazakh Eagle Hunters in Mongolia and dog-sledging across the Arctic. 

You can follow Abi on Instagram.

Featured books by Abi Elphinstone

Other books by Abi Elphinstone

The Snow Dragon

The Snow Dragon

Author: Abi Elphinstone Format: Hardback Release Date: 31/10/2019

You can be late for many things in life, but you should never keep an adventure waiting... In Griselda Bone's gloomy orphanage, daydreaming is banned, skipping is forbidden and Christmas is well and truly cancelled. But for Phoebe and her sausage dog, Herb, is it possible that magic awaits in the swirling, snow-filled air? Join them on an enchanting adventure in this beautifully moving story by the bestselling author of Sky Song and The Unmapped Chronicles, Abi Elphinstone, and renowned illustrator Fiona Woodcock.

The Snow Dragon

The Snow Dragon

Author: Abi Elphinstone Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 31/10/2019

You can be late for many things in life, but you should never keep an adventure waiting... In Griselda Bone's gloomy orphanage, daydreaming is banned, skipping is forbidden and Christmas is well and truly cancelled. But for Phoebe and her sausage dog Herb, is it possible that, just when things seem at their bleakest, magic awaits in the swirling, snow-filled air? Join them on an enchanting adventure in this beautifully moving story by the bestselling author of Sky Song and The Unmapped Chronicles, Abi Elphinstone, and renowned illustrator Fiona Woodcock.

Sky Song

Sky Song

Author: Abi Elphinstone Format: Hardback Release Date: 04/10/2018

'A shimmering thrill-ride of a book. I loved every page.' Lauren St John, author of The White Giraffe 'Sky Song made my heart sing - I loved it!' Kiran Millwood Hargrave, author of The Girl of Ink and Stars 'A dazzling snowstorm of an adventure, with hope at its heart' Emma Carroll, author of Letters from the Lighthouse `I cannot recommend highly enough... a brilliant, heart-stopping, tear-inducing, soul-soaring adventure' MG Leonard, author of Beetle Boy `A truly magical tale' The Guardian `Abi Elphinstone is proving to be a worthy successor to CS Lewis' The Times A SPECIAL LIMITED EDITION HARDBACK SIGNED BY THE AUTHOR `Once an adventure digs its claws in, there is not an awful lot you can do about it. Especially when magic is involved . . .' In the snowy kingdom of Erkenwald, whales glide between icebergs, wolves hunt on the tundra and polar bears roam the glaciers. But the people of this land aren't so easy to find - because Erkenwald is ruled by an evil Ice Queen and the tribes must stay hidden or risk becoming her prisoners at Winterfang Palace. Join Eska, a girl who breaks free from a cursed music box, and Flint, a boy whose inventions could change the fate of Erkenwald forever, as they journey to the Never Cliffs and beyond in search of an ancient, almost forgotten, song with the power to force the Ice Queen back. This is a story about an eagle huntress, an inventor and an organ made of icicles. But it is also a story about belonging, even at the very edges of our world . . . 'Abi Elphinstone's books are full of adventure, wit, heart, and, above all, bravery' Katherine Rundell, author of The Explorer

Night Spinner

Night Spinner

Author: Abi Elphinstone Format: eBook Release Date: 06/09/2018

Abi Elphinstone's books are full of adventure, wit, heart, and, above all, bravery' Katherine Rundell, author ofThe Explorer? No one does edge-of-seat action like Abi Elphinstone Emma Carroll, author of Letters from the Lighthouse Abi Elphinstones glorious novels make you feel as if youre living the adventure yourself. Theyre pure adrenalin and joy' Lauren St John, author of The White Giraffe ';Abi Elphinstone is proving to be a worthy successor to CS Lewis' The Times A gifted storyteller... one of todays greatest childrens authors LoveReading Deep within Tanglefern Forest, Moll Pecksniff and her wildcat, Gryff, are waiting for a sign from the Old Magic before they continue their quest to find the last Amulet of Truth and free their world from the Shadowmasks' terrible magic. Still missing fellow Tribe member, Alfie, and armed only with a mysterious set of clues, Moll sets out on an adventure across the northern wilderness with Gryff and her friend Siddy at her side. They must brave the Lost Isles, scale the Barbed Peaks and face witches, goblins and giants who lurk at every turn . . . while the Shadowmasks draw ever closer. Can Moll, Siddy and Gryff find the friend they think they have lost? And do the Tribe have what it takes to defeat the Dark magic once and for all? Catapult into this adventure from the author of Sky Song, perfect for fans of J.K. Rowling, Michelle Harrison and Eva Ibbotson. Read by Nicky Diss.

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×