Reader Reviewed The Mysterious Misadventures of Clemency Wrigglesworth by Julia Lee

The Mysterious Misadventures of Clemency Wrigglesworth

Written by Julia Lee

9+ readers   eBooks   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

A rip roaring adventure for a delightfully spirited girl! Orphaned and penniless, Clemency Wrigglesworth sets off fromIndiaentirely on her own and with little idea of what she’ll find when she reachesEngland. On her journey she is looked after by the redoubtable Mrs Potchard and later by the Marvels, her unusual family inLondonwho take Clemency in while they try to find out about Miss Clawe, Clemency’s surviving relative. When the scary Miss Clawe snatches Clemency away the Marvels are hot on her tail as they are determined to make sure Clemency is safe.

A Piece of Passion by Helen Bray Editorial Assistant Oxford University Press Children’s Books Clemency Wrigglesworth is a tremendous character: her good sense, courage, and honesty mean you’re rooting for her all the way, and her unintentionally-unconventional approach to the challenges life throws at her keeps you laughing for the duration! She’s supported by a fantastic cast of equally well-drawn characters, including the red-haired, long-limbed Gully Potchard and his spirited cousin Whitby, who follow Clemency across the country with a band of not-quite-genuine Red Indians, a stern school mistress with a weakness for sugar mice, and a scullery maid called Poll whose life is turned upside down when Clemency crashes into it! The story is so much fun to read, partly because the author, Julia Lee, puts the reader in the privileged position of being able to see that the characters are going to collide, whilst ensuring that the outcomes of the collisions are always surprising! I like to think of it as a ‘proper children’s book’—fun, exciting, and really rewarding. Not forgetting the skulduggery, magic, and derring-do that fill the pages! Fans of Lemony Snicket, Eva Ibbotson, and good, hearty stories will relish this rare gem. I hope you enjoy The Mysterious Misadventures as much as I did! Please let me know what you think via Twitter (@Hellzapop) or send your comments direct to our Children’s Books team (@oupchildrens).

reader reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion for The Mysterious Misadventures of Clemency Wrigglesworth a small number of children were lucky enough to be invited to review this title. Here's a taster....'It has many unexpected twists which is one of the many things I like about this story.'

Scroll down to read more reviews...


The Mysterious Misadventures of Clemency Wrigglesworth by Julia Lee

Clemency is utterly penniless and entirely alone, until she's taken in by the marvellous Marvels - a madcap family completely unlike her own. But it's a surprise to them all when she's mysteriously bundled from the house by the frightening Miss Clawe. Concerned about her fate, the Marvels set out to find her. Enlisting the help of some not-quite-genuine Red Indians, it's a calamitous race across the country. But Clemency's misadventures are more dire than her rescuers suspect ...will they reach her in time?


Adassa Walker, age 10 - 'I thought it was a fabulous book and the story line was clear. It was utterly amazing with suspense, excitement and also funny in places. I would completely recommend this book to anyone.' Click here to read the full review.

Tahmin Ali, age 12 - 'It has many unexpected twists which is one of the many things I like about this story.' Click here to read the full review.

Charlie Upchurch, age 9 - 'There were a lot of people all having their own adventures and it turned into an exciting book.' Click here to read the full review.


A thrilling tale about a small, shy orphan; the tiniest mite can pack the biggest bite! Libby, aged 11

Clemency wriggles for all she's worth through sticky situations! Jasmine, aged 9

Thrilling and exciting . . . It left me wondering what was going to happen next. I didn’t want to put it down! Full of suspense and action-packed. Amy, aged 10

Clemency Wrigglesworth is fantastic. It is my favourite book I have ever read. The description is magical. It is fantastic! Eva, aged 9

A gutsy orphan, outrageous villainy, a delicious hint of danger, and a whole lot of heart. What more could you want? Sara Starbuck, author of The Dread Pirate Fleur books

About the Author

Julia Lee

Julia Lee has been making up stories for as long as she can remember. She wrote her first book aged 5, mainly so that she could do all the illustrations with a brand-new 4-colour pen, and her mum stitched the pages together on her sewing machine. As a child she was ill quite a bit, which meant she spent lots of time lying in bed and reading (bliss!).

Julia is married, has two sons, and lives in Sussex.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


336 pages


Julia Lee
More books by Julia Lee


Oxford University Press

Publication date

1st August 2013




We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

Lovereading 4 schools