The Mysterious Misadventures of Clemency Wrigglesworth

Written by Julia Lee

Adventure Stories Fantasy / Magical Featured Books for 9+ readers Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on The Mysterious Misadventures of Clemency Wrigglesworth

A rip roaring adventure for a delightfully spirited girl! Orphaned and penniless, Clemency Wrigglesworth sets off fromIndiaentirely on her own and with little idea of what she’ll find when she reachesEngland. On her journey she is looked after by the redoubtable Mrs Potchard and later by the Marvels, her unusual family inLondonwho take Clemency in while they try to find out about Miss Clawe, Clemency’s surviving relative. When the scary Miss Clawe snatches Clemency away the Marvels are hot on her tail as they are determined to make sure Clemency is safe.

A Piece of Passion by Helen Bray Editorial Assistant Oxford University Press Children’s Books    Clemency Wrigglesworth is a tremendous character: her good sense, courage, and honesty mean you’re rooting for her all the way, and her unintentionally-unconventional approach to the challenges life throws at her keeps you laughing for the duration! She’s supported by a fantastic cast of equally well-drawn characters, including the red-haired, long-limbed Gully Potchard and his spirited cousin Whitby, who follow Clemency across the country with a band of not-quite-genuine Red Indians, a stern school mistress with a weakness for sugar mice, and a scullery maid called Poll whose life is turned upside down when Clemency crashes into it! The story is so much fun to read, partly because the author, Julia Lee, puts the reader in the privileged position of being able to see that the characters are going to collide, whilst ensuring that the outcomes of the collisions are always surprising! I like to think of it as a ‘proper children’s book’—fun, exciting, and really rewarding. Not forgetting the skulduggery, magic, and derring-do that fill the pages!     Fans of Lemony Snicket, Eva Ibbotson, and good, hearty stories will relish this rare gem. I hope you enjoy The Mysterious Misadventures as much as I did!  Please let me know what you think via Twitter (@Hellzapop) or send your comments direct to our Children’s Books team (@oupchildrens).

reader reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion for The Mysterious Misadventures of Clemency Wrigglesworth a small number of children were lucky enough to be invited to review this title. Here's a taster....'It has many unexpected twists which is one of the many things I like about this story.'

Scroll down to read more reviews...

The Mysterious Misadventures of Clemency Wrigglesworth Synopsis

Clemency is utterly penniless and entirely alone, until she's taken in by the marvellous Marvels - a madcap family completely unlike her own. But it's a surprise to them all when she's mysteriously bundled from the house by the frightening Miss Clawe. Concerned about her fate, the Marvels set out to find her. Enlisting the help of some not-quite-genuine Red Indians, it's a calamitous race across the country. But Clemency's misadventures are more dire than her rescuers suspect ...will they reach her in time?

The Mysterious Misadventures of Clemency Wrigglesworth Press Reviews

Adassa Walker, age 10 - 'I thought it was a fabulous book and the story line was clear. It was utterly amazing with suspense, excitement and also funny in places. I would completely recommend this book to anyone.'  Click here to read the full review. 

Tahmin Ali, age 12 - 'It has many unexpected twists which is one of the many things I like about this story.' Click here to read the full review.

Charlie Upchurch, age 9 - 'There were a lot of people all having their own adventures and it turned into an exciting book.'  Click here to read the full review.

.........................

A thrilling tale about a small, shy orphan; the tiniest mite can pack the biggest bite! Libby, aged 11

Clemency wriggles for all she's worth through sticky situations! Jasmine, aged 9

Thrilling and exciting . . . It left me wondering what was going to happen next. I didn’t want to put it down! Full of suspense and action-packed. Amy, aged 10

Clemency Wrigglesworth is fantastic. It is my favourite book I have ever read. The description is magical. It is fantastic! Eva, aged 9

A gutsy orphan, outrageous villainy, a delicious hint of danger, and a whole lot of heart. What more could you want? Sara Starbuck, author of The Dread Pirate Fleur books

If you loved this, you might like these...

Harry Potter - Hogwarts A Movie Scrapbook
My Secret Dragon
Pages & Co: Tilly and the Bookwanderers
Atlantis United

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780192733672
Publication date: 01/08/2013
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780192733672
Publication date: 1st August 2013
Author: Julia Lee
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 336 pages
Suitable for: 9+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, Fantasy / Magical
Recommendations: eBooks
Other Categories: Reviewed by Children

About Julia Lee

Julia Lee has been making up stories for as long as she can remember. She wrote her first book aged 5, mainly so that she could do all the illustrations with a brand-new 4-colour pen, and her mum stitched the pages together on her sewing machine. Julia grew up in London, but moved to the seaside to study English at university, and has stayed there ever since. Her career has been a series of accidents, discovering lots of jobs she didn’t want to do, because secretly she always wanted to be a writer.  Julia is married, has two ...

More About Julia Lee

More Books By Julia Lee

Cover for Nancy Parker's Spooky Speculations by Julia Lee
Cover for Nancy Parker's Diary of Detection by Julia Lee
Cover for The Dangerous Discoveries of Gully Potchard by Julia Lee
View All Books By Julia Lee

Share this book

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.

NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×