Reader Reviewed Chicken Mission: Danger in the Deep Dark Woods by Jennifer Gray
  

Chicken Mission: Danger in the Deep Dark Woods

Written by Jennifer Gray
Part of the Chicken Mission Series

7+ readers   Books of the Month   5+ readers   eBooks   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

June 2014 Book of the Month Award-winning Jennifer Gray launches a new series about chickens with a taste for adventure and some very unusual skills! When young Amy Clutterbuck gets a call to join the Elite Chicken Squad starting with training at the International School of Kung Fu for Poultry in Tibet she is thrilled to go. Life in the farmyard is just too boring for such an adventurous chick but will she and her fellow chicks-in-training Ruth and Poo be able to save the chicks of St Eggbert’s primary school from the hungry marauders at Eat-em College for Foxes?

Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion, some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Nicholas Butler, age 9 - 'Who knew that chickens can do Kung Fu?  Or that there was a School of Kung Fu for Poultry, based in Tibet? Well there is…' Read full review >
  • Lucy Bridges, age 8 - 'I like how Amy (the chicken) can be a chicken and also a really good fighter! Professer Rooster needs a new chicken squad because the no brained chickens that he has got are useless.' Read full review >
  • Tristan Pender, age 7 - 'A book with chickens as the main characters but full of action and excitement. At the end, it was quite funny.'  Read full review >
  • Oliver & Lucy Bekheit, age 12 & 10 - 'This book is perfectly pitched at its audience; fast and funny with simple, easy to read language and wonderful wordplay, which parents will enjoy just as much as children.' Read full review >
  • Brodie Greenslade, age 8 - 'a hilarious and exciting tale of Kung Fu chickens! Highly recommended.' Read full review >
  • Emily Lonsdale, age 8 - 'Fabulous, exciting, action packed book, I can’t wait for more.' Read full review >
  • Isabel, age 6 - 'I liked the book a lot, love the Ninja chickens!' Read full review >
  • Holly Honeyman, age 8 - 'A roller coaster of laugh out loud action. This book is a must read Kung Fu chicken adventure. The characters are crazy and the hilarity endless. Grab a copy now!' Read full review >
  • Jessica Cobbin, age 7 - 'The Pigeon Poo Gang made me laugh, especially when they poo on everyone.  This bit is really rude!' Read full review >
  • Val Cobbin (Jessic'a mum) - 'Really refreshing to come across such a funny book for children that doesn't make any concessions in terms of vocabulary and length.' Read full review >
  • Edgar Perez, age 6 - 'I would recommend it because it's very funny and weird!' Read full review >
  • Matilda Greenacre, age 8 - 'I really enjoyed this book it was hen-larious!' Read full review >
  • Erica & Uilia Motoc, age 7 & 6 - 'Chicken Mission is hilarious;  a very funny book, indeed.' Read full review >

Synopsis

Chicken Mission: Danger in the Deep Dark Woods by Jennifer Gray

This is hilarious, hen-sational new adventure series by the author of bestselling Atticus Claw. Young chicken Amy Cluckbucket dreams of escaping from Perrin's farm to a life of chicken adventure. One day Amy receives a summons to the Kung Foo School for Poultry in Tibet where she learns she is to become part of an elite chicken squad whose mission is to defeat their evil predators. It sounds like a dream come true for Amy but she's disappointed to find that fellow squad members, Ruth and Boo, don't seem to want to make friends. Ruth is too busy inventing things and Boo has problems of her own. The chickens travel to Chicken HQ to meet their mentor, Professor Rooster. When their first mission flops it is Amy who persuades the others that they should stick together to restore Professor Rooster's faith in them. Through a series of egg-citing adventures and hilarious mishaps the three young chickens learn the value of friendship and teamwork. But will they be ready for their biggest mission so far - to save the chicks of St Eggbert's Primary School from the jaws of their mortal enemy, Thadeus E Fox?

Reviews

Praise for Atticus Claw

‘Attractively witty ... great animal characters ... Perfect for fans of Humphrey the Hamster and other madcap animal adventures.'’ Julia Eccleshare, lovereading4kids.co.uk

‘Her Atticus Claw books just won the Red House Award last month, and there's more animal hilarity on the way in crazy chicken spy caper.’ The Bookseller

About the Author

Jennifer Gray

Jennifer Gray is a lawyer and writer. Jennifer's other work includes the Guinea Pigs Online series for younger readers, and a new series for 7+, Chicken Mission. Her Atticus Claw books have been shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize and received numerous great reviews - especially from children! She lives in London and Scotland with her husband and four children, and of course Henry, a friendly but enigmatic cat.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
192 pages
Interest Age: From 5

Author

Jennifer Gray
More books by Jennifer Gray

Author's Website

jennifergraybooks.com/

Publisher

Faber Children's Books an imprint of Faber & Faber

Publication date

5th June 2014

ISBN

9780571298273

Categories


We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools