Chicken Mission: Danger in the Deep Dark Woods

Written by Jennifer Gray

Part of the Chicken Mission Series

Books of the Month - <b>December</b> Featured Books for 5+ readers Featured Books for 7+ readers Humorous Recommended Children's eBooks Animals

LoveReading View on Chicken Mission: Danger in the Deep Dark Woods

June 2014 Book of the Month  Award-winning Jennifer Gray launches a new series about chickens with a taste for adventure and some very unusual skills! When young Amy Clutterbuck gets a call to join the Elite Chicken Squad starting with training at the International School of Kung Fu for Poultry in Tibet she is thrilled to go. Life in the farmyard is just too boring for such an adventurous chick but will she and her fellow chicks-in-training Ruth and Poo be able to save the chicks of St Eggbert’s primary school from the hungry marauders at Eat-em College for Foxes?

Chicken Mission: Danger in the Deep Dark Woods Synopsis

This is hilarious, hen-sational new adventure series by the author of bestselling Atticus Claw. Young chicken Amy Cluckbucket dreams of escaping from Perrin's farm to a life of chicken adventure. One day Amy receives a summons to the Kung Foo School for Poultry in Tibet where she learns she is to become part of an elite chicken squad whose mission is to defeat their evil predators. It sounds like a dream come true for Amy but she's disappointed to find that fellow squad members, Ruth and Boo, don't seem to want to make friends. Ruth is too busy inventing things and Boo has problems of her own. The chickens travel to Chicken HQ to meet their mentor, Professor Rooster. When their first mission flops it is Amy who persuades the others that they should stick together to restore Professor Rooster's faith in them. Through a series of egg-citing adventures and hilarious mishaps the three young chickens learn the value of friendship and teamwork. But will they be ready for their biggest mission so far - to save the chicks of St Eggbert's Primary School from the jaws of their mortal enemy, Thadeus E Fox?

Chicken Mission: Danger in the Deep Dark Woods Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion, some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Nicholas Butler, age 9 - 'Who knew that chickens can do Kung Fu?  Or that there was a School of Kung Fu for Poultry, based in Tibet? Well there is…' Read full review >
  • Lucy Bridges, age 8 - 'I like how Amy (the chicken) can be a chicken and also a really good fighter! Professer Rooster needs a new chicken squad because the no brained chickens that he has got are useless.' Read full review >
  • Tristan Pender, age 7 - 'A book with chickens as the main characters but full of action and excitement. At the end, it was quite funny.'  Read full review >
  • Oliver & Lucy Bekheit, age 12 & 10 - 'This book is perfectly pitched at its audience; fast and funny with simple, easy to read language and wonderful wordplay, which parents will enjoy just as much as children.' Read full review >
  • Brodie Greenslade, age 8 - 'a hilarious and exciting tale of Kung Fu chickens! Highly recommended.' Read full review >
  • Emily Lonsdale, age 8 - 'Fabulous, exciting, action packed book, I can’t wait for more.' Read full review >
  • Isabel, age 6 - 'I liked the book a lot, love the Ninja chickens!' Read full review >
  • Holly Honeyman, age 8 - 'A roller coaster of laugh out loud action. This book is a must read Kung Fu chicken adventure. The characters are crazy and the hilarity endless. Grab a copy now!' Read full review >
  • Jessica Cobbin, age 7 - 'The Pigeon Poo Gang made me laugh, especially when they poo on everyone.  This bit is really rude!' Read full review >
  • Val Cobbin (Jessic'a mum) - 'Really refreshing to come across such a funny book for children that doesn't make any concessions in terms of vocabulary and length.' Read full review >
  • Edgar Perez, age 6 - 'I would recommend it because it's very funny and weird!' Read full review >
  • Matilda Greenacre, age 8 - 'I really enjoyed this book it was hen-larious!' Read full review >
  • Erica & Uilia Motoc, age 7 & 6 - 'Chicken Mission is hilarious;  a very funny book, indeed.' Read full review >

Chicken Mission: Danger in the Deep Dark Woods Press Reviews

Praise for Atticus Claw

‘Attractively witty ... great animal characters ... Perfect for fans of Humphrey the Hamster and other madcap animal adventures.'’ Julia Eccleshare, lovereading4kids.co.uk

‘Her Atticus Claw books just won the Red House Award last month, and there's more animal hilarity on the way in crazy chicken spy caper.’ The Bookseller

If you loved this, you might like these...

Dog Diaries: Happy Howlidays!
You Ain't Seen Nothing Yeti!
Pirate Blunderbeard: Worst. Movie. Ever.
Hampstead the Hamster

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780571298273
Publication date: 05/06/2014
Publisher: Faber Children's Books an imprint of Faber & Faber
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780571298273
Publication date: 5th June 2014
Author: Jennifer Gray
Publisher: Faber Children's Books an imprint of Faber & Faber
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 192 pages
Suitable for: 5+ readers, 7+ readers
Genres: Humorous, Animals
Recommendations: Books of the Month, eBooks
Other Categories: Reviewed by Children

About Jennifer Gray

Jennifer Gray is a lawyer and writer. Jennifer's other work includes the Guinea Pigs Online series for younger readers, and a new series for 7+, Chicken Mission. Her Atticus Claw books have been shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize and received numerous great reviews - especially from children! She lives in London and Scotland with her husband and four children, and of course Henry, a friendly but enigmatic cat.  

More About Jennifer Gray

More Books By Jennifer Gray

Cover for Stoat on Stage by Jennifer Gray
Cover for Trouble In New York by Jennifer Gray
Cover for Atticus Claw Hears a Roar by Jennifer Gray
View All Books By Jennifer Gray

Share this book

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.

NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×