LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Sean Taylor - Author

About the Author

Sean Taylor has written more than 40 books for young readers. These include the Purple Class series of comic adventures set in an urban primary school, a collection of folktales from the Amazon called The Great Snake, a novel for teenagers called A Waste of Good Paper, and picture books such as The World Champion of Staying Awake, illustrated by Jimmy Liao and Boing!, illustrated by Bruce Ingman. He lives in Bristol with his wife and two sons. Visit Sean at www.seantaylorstories.com

 

Featured books by Sean Taylor

Other books by Sean Taylor

The Dream Train: Poems for Bedtime

The Dream Train: Poems for Bedtime

Author: Sean Taylor Illustrator: Anuska Allepuz Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/09/2022

From Sean Taylor, the author of Hoot Owl, Master of Disguise, and the illustrator of Little Green Donkey, Anuska Allepuz, comes a stunning original bedtime poetry collection to comfort, inspire and reassure little children. From best-selling picture book author, Sean Taylor, comes his first ever poetry collection. The Dream Train is a handsome new collection of original bedtime poetry perfect for sharing whilst tucked up in bed, written for the very young. Filled with 30 warm, joyful and atmospheric poems of every kind - from the funny to the gentle, from the surprising to the lyrical - each capture the experience of falling or being asleep, in a pure, emotional way and celebrates the wonderful, busy, imaginative minds of little children. Some poems read like a soothing mantra, helping lull small ones to sleep, others will plant a seed of inspiration to take children bravely and boldly into the next day. This gift of a book takes readers on a visual and imaginative journey into dreamland, and beyond, and showcases the incredibly rich and inviting artwork of Anuska Allepuz.

Wild Summer Life in the Heat

Wild Summer Life in the Heat

Author: Sean Taylor, Alex Morss Illustrator: Cinyee Chiu Format: Hardback Release Date: 28/06/2022

In this follow-up to Winter Sleep and Busy Spring, Wild Summer celebrates nature during the warm summer months. The beautifully-told story follows a young girl and her grandpa as they walk down a wild path towards the coast. They spot amazing plants and animals, and she is enchanted by the vibrancy of life around her. The plants and animals must wish it was summer forever, don't they? This nature-filled book shows a touching relationship between grandfather and grandchild as he teaches her about the wonders of the natural world around her. They pass through several habitats and the girl's grandfather teaches her how summer affects each of them and their wildlife: a meadow, a stream, sandy heathland, pine woods, fossil-rich cliffs and a rocky cove. Filled with facts as well as beautiful and gentle illustrations, this book is a great way to teach children about nature and the seasons.

The Stone Cutter Band 07/Turquoise

The Stone Cutter Band 07/Turquoise

Author: Sean Taylor Illustrator: Serena Curmi Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 16/06/2022

A poor stone cutter who wished he was a rich man has his wish granted. He then keeps changing his wish, and each wish is granted. Finally he wishes himself back as he was at the start of the story. Turquoise/ Band 7 books offer literay language and extended descriptions, with longer sentences and a wide range of unfamiliar terms. Text type - A story from another culture (Japan). The flowcharts on pages 22 and 23 illustrate the story in sequence, providing opportunities for speaking and listening, and scaffolding writing. Curriculum links - Citizenship: Choices; Music: Exploring sounds. This book has been levelled for Reading Recovery. This book has been quizzed for Accelerated Reader.

How to Be Cooler than Cool

How to Be Cooler than Cool

Author: Sean Taylor Illustrator: Jean Jullien Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/05/2022

A laugh-out-loud page-turner from a brilliant author and illustrator team. Praise for Hoot Owl, Master of Disguise: This is the funniest picture book I have read in a long time David Walliams Cat has found a pair of sunglasses. She thinks they are going to make her look COOL. I'm not just any old cat at the playground, she says. I'm a real cool cat, gliding backwards down the slide, looking cooler than cool ... WITH EXTRA COOL ON TOP! She pops on the glasses ... confidently struts forwards and - Meooaaaooow! - falls down the slide. Oh, how UNCOOL. Can Pig or Cockatoo do any better? From the team behind Hoot Owl, Master of Disguise and I Want to Be in a Scary Story comes a gloriously slapstick title that celebrates friendship, play and being yourself (no matter how goofy).

MONSTER! HUNGRY! PHONE!

MONSTER! HUNGRY! PHONE!

Author: Sean Taylor Illustrator: Fred Benaglia Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/01/2022

Monster is HUNGRY. He wants PIZZA. And he's got a PHONE! But uh oh . . . who is he going to call? Hold the line - Monster is in for a wild ride! WARNING: This book may make you laugh your socks off! A hilarious picture book that's perfect for anyone who's ever REALLY wanted PIZZA. With bold, bright illustrations by the talented Fred Benaglia, it's an unmissable treat, and perfect for fans of Oi Frog!

Winter Sleep A Hibernation Story

Winter Sleep A Hibernation Story

Author: Sean Taylor, Alex Morss, Cinyee Chiu Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/09/2021

In this cozy bedtime story, follow a child and his grandma through a winter landscape to explore how the Earth goes to sleep for winter. Spot the sleeping animals as the tale unfolds, then learn about their hibernation habits from the information pages at the end. Co-authors Sean Taylor (picture book author) and Alex Morss (ecologist, journalist, and educator) offer a gentle introduction to the concept of hibernation. In the frosty, quiet forest, the snow blankets the ground and the trees have shed their leaves. Where have all the animals gone? Are they asleep too? In each cutaway scene, see what the child cannot - that underground below his feet are dens with sleeping creatures, and within the hollow trunks of trees, animals are nesting. After the story, annotated illustrations explain the hibernation facts for each animal and what they will do when they wake up for spring. Cozy up as you expand your and your child's knowledge of the natural world.

Busy Spring Nature Wakes Up

Busy Spring Nature Wakes Up

Author: Sean Taylor, Alex Morss Illustrator: Cinyee Chiu Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/09/2021

In this uplifting picture book about spring, follow two children and their father through their backyard as they discover all the different ways nature wakes up from its long winter sleep. Spot the busy creatures and plants as the tale unfolds, then learn about how each responds to the increasing daylight and warmth that usher in the season. Co-authors Sean Taylor (picture book author) and Alex Morss (ecologist, journalist, and educator) offer an inviting introduction to the science behind spring. The yard is bright, birds are singing, the bees are buzzing and there are tadpoles in the pond! What is all the commotion about? In each colourful scene, the family discovers a different sign of spring - a bird collecting twigs for its nest, a fox snuggling her cubs, a caterpillar feasting on leaves... After the story, annotated illustrations explain the spring behaviours of various plants and animals. Inspire an appreciation for the natural world in this joyous exploration of spring.

Humperdink Our Elephant Friend

Humperdink Our Elephant Friend

Author: Sean Taylor Illustrator: Claire Alexander Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 18/05/2021

When Humperdink the baby elephant joins the children's playgroup, he seems friendly enough, but it soon becomes clear that he's not very good at the usual games the children play, like dressing up or hide-and-seek. When he breaks the children's favourite slide, everyone feels sad. But with a little patience and understanding the children soon discover that Humperdink is good at some things - especially if they use their imaginations - leading to a riotously fun conclusion. A delightful picture book with endearing artwork and a humorous story to engage young readers and help them gain an understanding about those different from themselves. This title helps children learn the key skill of playing with and accepting new friends, whatever their size, shape... or species! Exploring themes of empathy and imaginative play, this title is a must-have for young readers seeking to understand the world around them.

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.seantaylorstories.com/

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×