LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Maudie Smith - Author

About the Author

Maudie Smith started work as an actress, but moved to Bath with her TV screenwriter husband. She gave up touring theatre when she had children. In the last couple of years she's written a libretto for a newly commissioned opera and run a very successful school drama club, whilst raising two daughters, cats, chickens, guinea pigs etc. She is currently doing an MA at Bath Spa in Writing for Young People.

Featured books by Maudie Smith

About Zooming Time, Opal Moonbaby!

About Zooming Time, Opal Moonbaby!

7+ readers 9+ readers

Author: Maudie Smith Format: Paperback Release Date: 07/02/2013

Other books by Maudie Smith

Bird Girl

Bird Girl

Author: Maudie Smith Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/03/2017

A magical story about following your dreams - perfect for fans of Holly Webb. Pink-haired Finch Field has always felt different. She dreams of flying - not in a plane, but swimming through the sky like a bird. Her classmates laugh, and call her Dream Bird. But when Finch goes to stay with her beloved Granny Field for the summer, she finds herself face-to-face with a monster intent on stealing people's dreams. Finch must find a way to believe her own dreams can come true if she is to save the dreams of everyone in Sunview on Sea. A story full of magic, fantasy and friendship, perfect for younger readers of Jacqueline Wilson and Holly Webb.

Early Reader: All the King's Tights

Early Reader: All the King's Tights

Author: Maudie Smith Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 10/05/2016

A charming new red Early Reader story from OPAL MOONBABY author Maudie Smith, and talented illustrator Ali Pye, about friendship, kindness and tights! Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books, perfect for building confidence in new readers and reluctant readers. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey. Kit has an important new job; Keeper of the King's Tights. More than anything he wants to do his best, but with so many of the King's subjects in need of Kit's help, he finds himself in need of a little help himself. . . A warm, funny story for beginner readers from an exciting new author and illustrator team.

The Cake the Wolf and the Witch

The Cake the Wolf and the Witch

Author: Maudie Smith Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/07/2015

Max doesn't believe in happy endings. He doesn't even like stories. So when he finds himself whisked away in a giant cake to The Land of Ever After, Max is NOT impressed. But the people of Ever After are in trouble, and they need Max's help. Will Max agree to go on a dangerous quest to save their world? And if he doesn't, how will he and his brand new brother and sister ever get home? A mixed-up and fresh take on the fairy tale, with a sprinkle of Jacqueline Wilson and Liz Kessler, and perfect for fans of Enid Blyton's The Magic Faraway Tree. 'Endlessly inventive' - Piers Torday, award-winning author of The Last Wild.

Early Reader: Owen and the Onion

Early Reader: Owen and the Onion

Author: Maudie Smith Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/05/2015

Owen grows onions. He's so very good at it that the people of his village call him Owen the Onion. One day he grows an onion so unusual that it's all he can think about. He ignores his friends in the village - until one day a very angry ogre comes to visit. Can Owen save the day? A warm, funny story for beginner readers from an exciting new author and illustrator team.

Opal Moonbaby and the Summer Secret Book 3

Opal Moonbaby and the Summer Secret Book 3

Author: Maudie Smith Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/05/2015

Originally published as Opal Moonbaby Forever, this is the third book in a funny, warm-hearted series about friendship - and aliens! If you love Jacqueline Wilson, Cathy Cassidy or Liz Kessler, you'll love reading about Opal Moonbaby. Martha's best friend is an alien. Opal Moonbaby can move things with her eyes, make popcorn fountains, and travel all over the world in her very own spaceship. Martha can't imagine life without her. But Opal's time on Earth is almost at an end. They have one final summer together. So why is Opal acting so strangely all of a sudden? Can Martha discover the secret she's hiding - and what will it mean for their friendship? If you love Jacqueline Wilson, Cathy Cassidy or Liz Kessler, you'll love reading about Opal Moonbaby.

Opal Moonbaby: Opal Moonbaby and the Best Friend Project Book 1

Opal Moonbaby: Opal Moonbaby and the Best Friend Project Book 1

Author: Maudie Smith Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/05/2015

Originally published as Opal Moonbaby, this is the first in a funny, warm-hearted series about friendship - and aliens! If you love Jacqueline Wilson, Cathy Cassidy or Liz Kessler, you'll love reading about Opal Moonbaby. Martha's decided that friends are stupid. Especially if they're anything like Colette and Chloe. She never wants another friend. Ever. But it's the first day of the summer holidays, and there's not that much to do ... until she spots a strange little furry creature who leads her to Opal Moonbaby. Opal's been sent down from her planet with a special mission: she needs to work out what on earth people are (and my goodness - people are strange) and make a friend. Can Martha help Opal make the Best Friend Project a success?

Opal Moonbaby and the Out of this World Adventure Book 2

Opal Moonbaby and the Out of this World Adventure Book 2

Author: Maudie Smith Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/05/2015

Originally published as About Zooming Time, Opal Moonbaby! this is the second book in a funny, warm-hearted series about friendship - and aliens! If you love Jacqueline Wilson, Cathy Cassidy or Liz Kessler, you'll love reading about Opal Moonbaby. Opal Moonbaby is spending a year on Earth. A whole year! Martha can't wait to take her to school, to introduce her to her friends and to recreate all the fun they had during the summer. But things don't turn out quite as expected and before Martha knows it, Opal is off making new friends, doing new things and throwing herself into life on Earth - and Martha can't keep up. When Opal's Uncle Bixie warns them that the nasty Mercurials, enemies from their home planet of Carnelia, are on their way to Earth, planning mischief, Martha begins to worry. But Opal is far too busy making friends to be bothering about those stupid Mercurials. Besides, her eyes would z-ray them immediately and she'd dazzle-kick them all the way back to Carnelia. Wouldn't she? Join Opal and Martha for an out-of-this-world-adventure!

Milly and the Mermaids

Milly and the Mermaids

Author: Maudie Smith Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/09/2014

On a visit to the seaside, Milly is desperate to meet a mermaid. She's sure that if she just wishes hard enough, her dream will come true. The underwater world of Maudie Smith's lovely tale is brought to life by Antonia Woodward's sumptuous artwork in this lyrical mermaid tale of fun and friendship, perfect for young readers.

Opal Moonbaby: Opal Moonbaby

Opal Moonbaby: Opal Moonbaby

Author: Maudie Smith Format: CD-Audio Release Date: 25/10/2012

Martha's decided friends are stupid. Especially if they're anything like Colette and Chloe. She never wants another friend. Ever.But it's the first day of the summer holidays, and there's not that much to do... until she spots a strange little furry creature who leads her to Opal Moonbaby. Opal's been sent down from her planet on a mission: to work out what on earth people are (and my goodness - people are strange) and to make a friend.Read by Chris Barrie. To his legions of fans across the world, Chris is best known as Rimmer - the Red Dwarf character who made love only once in his life. To others he is Hilary, Angelina Jolie's butler in Tomb Raider; or Gordon Brittas, the most irritating manager in the history of the British leisure centre industry. After moving to London from his native Northern Ireland, Chris started out in the comedy clubs as an impressionist then he was picked up by the producers of Spitting Image, and he went on to provide the voices for a stream of characters from HRH Prince Charles to Paul Daniels. Other acting roles include the part of Alexander Pope in the Channel 4 production of Handel: Honour, Profit and Pleasure, Zastrozzi, televised in April 1986 and a lead role in Plague of Goodness, the controversial Radio 4 Monday Play.

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.maudiesmith.co.uk/

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×