LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Martin Jenkins - Author

About the Author

Martin Jenkins is an expert at presenting complicated subjects in entertaining and accessible ways to children. He has won several awards for his work.

He was born in Surrey in 1959 but grew up in Spain, Ireland and Kent. He attended Cambridge University as a scholar. A conservation biologist by trade, Martin worked full-time for ten years for World Conservation Monitoring Centre, writing about a range of conservation issues. Since 1990 he has worked freelance for organisations such as WWF and a number of UN bodies concerned with conservation and the environment. Martin's jobs have varied greatly: "I've been an orchid-sleuth in Germany, a timber detective in Kenya and an investigator of the chameleon trade in Madagascar."

Martin lives in Cambridge and London. Martin became involved with children's books when he was asked to advise on Walker Books' Animals at Risk series. Since then he has written several titles, including Emperor's Egg, winner of the Times Junior Information Book of the Year Award and Fly Traps! Plants that Bite Back, which was shortlisted for the same award. He has also retold Gulliver's Travels, winner of the Kate Greenaway Medal, and Don Quixote.

Featured books by Martin Jenkins

Other books by Martin Jenkins

Puffin

Puffin

Author: Martin Jenkins Illustrator: Jenni Desmond Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/09/2022

Everyone recognizes the puffin with its black-and-white feathers and brightly coloured bill. But how does the puffin live? What happens down in its burrow? And how on earth does it carry all those fish in its bill? Discover the amazing world of the puffin in an exciting collaboration between the award-winning pair of author Martin Jenkins and illustrator Jenni Desmond. This new title in the celebrated Nature Storybook series is packed with interesting facts to inspire a love of the natural world.

A Walk Through the Rainforest

A Walk Through the Rainforest

Author: Martin Jenkins Illustrator: Vicky White Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/09/2022

A spectacular tour of a rainforest, with a convincing, affecting case to make about conservation - underscored by extraordinary illustrations. Tropical rainforests are amazing places. More kinds of animals and plants live in them than live anywhere else in the world. This one is in Malaysia, in South East Asia. Let's go and take a look... So begins this magnificent new book from conservation-biologist Martin Jenkins and fine artist Vicky White, the award-winning team behind Can We Save the Tiger? and Ape. The breathtakingly-detailed illustrations are packed with life, from hornbills to gibbons, bats and the much-loved Asian Elephant, while the conversational text expertly weaves in complex biology to show young readers both how life in the jungle is intrinsically linked, and why we must work to protect it. With a powerful environmental message, this is a tour de force from two remarkable talents - and a perfect choice for fans of Robert Macfarlane and Jackie Morris' The Lost Words, or Ben Rothery's Hidden Planet. Informative but never patronising, this book is guaranteed to instil in young readers a sense of the beauty and fragility of nature. The Independent on Sunday on Can We Save the Tiger?

Find Out About ... Animal Homes

Find Out About ... Animal Homes

Author: Martin Jenkins Illustrator: Jane McGuinness Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/03/2022

A colourful and gentle introduction to the concept of animal babies for young children. Lots of animals have homes, but not all homes are the same! An orangutan builds a new nest every day, a prairie dog lives in its burrow for years - and a reindeer is always on the move! From the award-winning author Martin Jenkins and illustrated by Jane McGuinness, this beautiful picture book is a perfect introduction to different kinds of animal homes.

Find Out About ... Animal Babies

Find Out About ... Animal Babies

Author: Martin Jenkins Illustrator: Jane McGuinness Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/03/2022

A colourful and gentle introduction to the concept of animal babies for young children. All animals have babies, but not all babies are the same! From big babies to little babies, babies that look like their parents to ones that don't, this beautiful picture book is a perfect introduction to different kinds of animal babies, from the award-winning author Martin Jenkins and illustrated by up-and-coming talent Jane McGuinness.

Find Out About ... Animal Homes

Find Out About ... Animal Homes

Author: Martin Jenkins Illustrator: Jane McGuinness Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/04/2021

A colourful and gentle introduction to the concept of animal babies for young children. Lots of animals have homes, but not all homes are the same! An orangutan builds a new nest every day, a prairie dog lives in its burrow for years - and a reindeer is always on the move! From the award-winning author Martin Jenkins and illustrated by Jane McGuinness, this beautiful picture book is a perfect introduction to different kinds of animal homes.

Find Out About ... Animal Babies

Find Out About ... Animal Babies

Author: Martin Jenkins Illustrator: Jane McGuinness Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/04/2021

A colourful and gentle introduction to the concept of animal babies for young children. All animals have babies, but not all babies are the same! From big babies to little babies, babies that look like their parents to ones that don't, this beautiful picture book is a perfect introduction to different kinds of animal babies, from the award-winning author Martin Jenkins and illustrated by up-and-coming talent Jane McGuinness.

All You Ever Wanted to Know About Money

All You Ever Wanted to Know About Money

Author: Martin Jenkins, Frederico Bonifacini Illustrator: Satoshi Kitamura Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 31/12/2020

A funny, philosophical look at the universal subject of money by award-winning non-fiction writer Martin Jenkins, illustrated by Satoshi Kitamura. In the Yap Islands in the South Pacific money can be a stone with a hole in the middle. It can be a string of shells, a bundle of cloth or a copper slab. It's the stuff that makes the world go round and doesn't grow on trees. In this fascinating and thought-provoking book, Martin Jenkins explores the history of money from its earliest beginnings to the electronic banking of today. Along the way we learn about hunter gatherers, barter, clay tablets, goat swapping, precious metals, hard bargains, IOUs, interest, coins, Romans, taxes, inflation, paper money, currencies and exchange rates. Satoshi Kitamura's quirky, satirical drawings perfectly complement the dry humour of the text and in the end we are reminded that money only exists because we believe in it. Jenkins is bold, informative and never patronising. - Independent on Sunday

A World of Plants

A World of Plants

Author: Martin Jenkins Illustrator: James Brown Format: Hardback Release Date: 07/11/2019

A stunningly illustrated guide to the fascinating world of plants and botanical history. Discover incredible facts and marvel at what plants can do in this beautiful book from conservation biologist and award-winning author Martin Jenkins, stylishly illustrated by print-maker James Brown. Covering over twenty-five topics, learn all about the different types of plant - from carnivorous, to climbing, to tropical; explore the world of trees; discover how plants have evolved and continue to survive in extreme environments and most importantly, how crucial they are to our life on Planet Earth. From the domestic to the international, there is something for the whole family here. Whether you want to learn the basics of photosynthesis, or explore the hidden world of Victorian plant hunters, this is a lively, engaging and visually stunning look at the world of plants.

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×