LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Anna Carey - Author

About the Author

Anna Carey is a freelance journalist from Drumcondra living in Dublin who has written for the Irish Times, Irish Independent and many other publications. Anna joined her first band when she was fifteen and went on to sing and play with several bands over the next fifteen years. Her last band, El Diablo, released two albums and toured all over the country. Her first book, The Real Rebecca, was published in 2011, and, to her great surprise, it went on to win the Senior Children’s Book prize at the Irish Book Awards. To the delight of many readers, Rebecca returned in the critically acclaimed Rebecca’s Rules, which was shortlisted for the same prize in 2012 (she didn’t win this time, though).

Read a Q&A regarding The Making of Mollie here.

 

Featured books by Anna Carey

Other books by Anna Carey

Deadfall

Deadfall

Author: Anna Carey Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/06/2016

In the compelling sequel to Blackbird, Anna Carey delivers a gritty and adrenaline-filled story of a girl desperate to escape her mysterious and terrifying assailants. Told in second person, this heart-pounding thriller puts the reader in front of the target, and is perfect for fans of The Maze Runner and Legend. A week ago, you woke up in Los Angeles with no memory of who you are. The only thing you knew: people are trying to kill you. You put your trust in Ben, but he betrayed you and broke your heart. Now you've escaped to New York City with a boy named Rafe, who says he remembers you from before. But the two of you are not safe. The same people who are after you are tailing Rafe as well. As the chase heats up, your memory starts to return, but your past cannot save you from the terrifying circumstances of your present, or the fact that one wrong move could end this game forever.

Rebecca is Always Right

Rebecca is Always Right

Author: Anna Carey Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 22/09/2014

Life is complicated enough already, but when you try to solve your big sister's relationship problems, it can only mean trouble! Rebecca isn't looking forward to school after a summer full of music and excitement. To make it worse, her most annoying classmate Vanessa gets the starring role in a new ad campaign: now she's going to be on television, on posters, on the radio and even in the charts! Luckily a new arts and music studio space for teens has opened up where Hey Dollface and their summer camp friends can practise. Then Rebecca's sister Rachel is dumped by her longtime boyfriend Tom, and Rebecca is determined to cheer her up. Throw in a dad who is trying to take over his amateur musical, a mum who keeps reminding her that it's a big exam year, and an English teacher who has decided to become a novelist, and it's another eventful term for Rebecca. 'It reminded me of being a teenager, the nice parts! It's a perfect piece of hilarious loveliness! Gold Star!!!!' Marian Keyes

Rise

Rise

Author: Anna Carey Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/01/2014

In the stunning conclusion to Anna Carey's epic tale of romance and sacrifice, Eve must choose who to leave behind, who to save, and who to fight in her final stand against the New America. When Eve lost her soul mate, Caleb, she felt like her world ended. Now, trapped in the palace, as a reluctant bride and unhappy princess, Eve's entire life is a lie. The only thing that keeps her going is Caleb's memory-and the revolution he started. Eve plots to destroy the New America, beginning with the capital, the City of Sand. Will she be able to bring about a new, free world when she's called upon to perform the ultimate act of rebellion-killing her father, the King?

Rise

Rise

Author: Anna Carey Format: eBook Release Date: 02/04/2013

How far will you go when you have nothing left to lose?hen she lost her soul mate, Caleb, Eve felt like her world had ended. Trapped in the palace, forced to play the part of the happy, patriotic princess of The New Americaand the blushing bride of her fathers top adviserEves whole life is a lie. The only thing that keeps her going is Calebs memory, and the revolution he started.Now, Eve is taking over where Caleb left off. With the help of Moss, an undercover subversive in the Kings court, she plots to take down The New America, beginning with the capital, the City of Sand. Will Eve be able to bring about a new, free world when shes called upon to perform the ultimate act of rebellionkilling her father?In Rise, Eve must choose who to leave behind, who to save, and who to fight as Anna Careys epic tale of romance and sacrifice in the chilling dystopia of The New America comes to a stunning conclusion.

Eve

Eve

Author: Anna Carey Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/09/2012

The first book in Anna Carey's chilling Eve trilogy, Eve is perfect for fans of The Handmaiden's Tale. After a deadly virus wiped out most of Earth's population, the world is a terrifying place. Eighteen-year-old Eve has grown up isolated from the rest of the destroyed world in an all-girls school. But it isn't until the night before her graduation that she discovers what her duties will be once she graduates. To avoid the horrifying fate that awaits her, Eve flees the only home she's ever known. On the run, she encounters Caleb, a rough, rebellious boy living in the wild. Eve knows she shouldn't trust him, but he slowly wins her confidence...and her heart. He promises to protect her, but when soldiers begin hunting them, Eve must choose between true love and her life. Eve is the first book in Anna Carey's trilogy, full of romance, adventure, sacrifice, all set in a near future that is both wonderfully strange, and chillingly familiar.

Once

Once

Author: Anna Carey Format: eBook Release Date: 03/07/2012

When you're being hunted, who can you trust?For the first time since she escaped from her school many months ago, Eve can sleep soundly. She's living in Califia, a haven for women, protected from the terrifying fate that awaits orphaned girls in The New America. But her safety came at a price: She was forced to abandon Caleb, the boy she loves, wounded and alone at the city gates. When Eve gets word that Caleb is in trouble, she sets out into the wild again to rescue him, only to be captured and brought to the City of Sand, the capital of The New America.Trapped inside the City walls, Eve uncovers a shocking secret about her pastand is forced to confront the harsh reality of her future. When she discovers Caleb is alive, Eve attempts to flee her prison so they can be togetherbut the consequences could be deadly. She must make a desperate choice to save the ones she loves . . . or risk losing Caleb forever.In this breathless sequel to Eve, Anna Carey returns to her tale of romance, adventure, and sacrifice in a world that is both wonderfully strange and chillingly familiar.

Author Info

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×