LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Anna Carey - Author

About the Author

Anna Carey is a freelance journalist from Drumcondra living in Dublin who has written for the Irish Times, Irish Independent and many other publications. Anna joined her first band when she was fifteen and went on to sing and play with several bands over the next fifteen years. Her last band, El Diablo, released two albums and toured all over the country. Her first book, The Real Rebecca, was published in 2011, and, to her great surprise, it went on to win the Senior Children’s Book prize at the Irish Book Awards. To the delight of many readers, Rebecca returned in the critically acclaimed Rebecca’s Rules, which was shortlisted for the same prize in 2012 (she didn’t win this time, though).

Read a Q&A regarding The Making of Mollie here.

 

Featured books by Anna Carey

Other books by Anna Carey

Mollie On The March

Mollie On The March

Author: Anna Carey Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/03/2018

Mollie Carberry is a suffragette! Well, sort of. Mollie and her best friend Nora have been bravely fighting for women's rights - even though no one else really knows about it. But when they hear a big protest is being planned, they know they have to take part. If only they didn't have to worry about Nora's terrible cousin, her awful brother and her neighbour's very annoying dog ... An engaging story about a strong and intelligent girl fighting for the right for women to vote. WHEN DID IRISH WOMEN GET THE VOTE? The Representation of the People Act 1918 became law on 6 February 1918. It gave the vote to virtually all men over 21, and women over 30 who met certain requirements. In November 1918 an act was passed which enabled women to stand for parliament in the forthcoming elections. The only woman to win a seat in parliament across England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales in December 1918 was Constance Markievicz, who was elected by the people of south Dublin but who did not take her seat. In 1922, the new Irish Free State gave the vote to all women over 21, finally giving Irish women the same voting rights as Irish men.

The Making of Mollie

The Making of Mollie

Author: Anna Carey Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 17/10/2016

It's spring 1912, and 14-year-old Mollie Carberry lives in Drumcondra with her loving but distracted parents, her older sister Phyllis, her spoiled older brother Harry and her saintly little sister Julia. Mollie's convinced that her life is boring - until she discovers that Phyllis is a secret suffragette. After attending a suffrage meeting, Mollie wants to do something for the movement too - and she soon convinces her best friend Nora to join her. At last, they have some excitement in their lives! While some of their classmates approve of their new cause, others can't see the point. Their timid schoolfriend Stella worries that Mollie and Nora are going to get into trouble. And their classmate Grace, who also happens to be Nora's cousin, disapproves of anybody who steps out of line. Despite this general apathy, as the weeks go by, Mollie and Nora become even more determined to do something for the cause. Even though nobody in the cause seems to particularly want their help.

Deadfall

Deadfall

Author: Anna Carey Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/06/2016

In the compelling sequel to Blackbird, Anna Carey delivers a gritty and adrenaline-filled story of a girl desperate to escape her mysterious and terrifying assailants. Told in second person, this heart-pounding thriller puts the reader in front of the target, and is perfect for fans of The Maze Runner and Legend. A week ago, you woke up in Los Angeles with no memory of who you are. The only thing you knew: people are trying to kill you. You put your trust in Ben, but he betrayed you and broke your heart. Now you've escaped to New York City with a boy named Rafe, who says he remembers you from before. But the two of you are not safe. The same people who are after you are tailing Rafe as well. As the chase heats up, your memory starts to return, but your past cannot save you from the terrifying circumstances of your present, or the fact that one wrong move could end this game forever.

Rebecca is Always Right

Rebecca is Always Right

Author: Anna Carey Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 22/09/2014

Life is complicated enough already, but when you try to solve your big sister's relationship problems, it can only mean trouble! Rebecca isn't looking forward to school after a summer full of music and excitement. To make it worse, her most annoying classmate Vanessa gets the starring role in a new ad campaign: now she's going to be on television, on posters, on the radio and even in the charts! Luckily a new arts and music studio space for teens has opened up where Hey Dollface and their summer camp friends can practise. Then Rebecca's sister Rachel is dumped by her longtime boyfriend Tom, and Rebecca is determined to cheer her up. Throw in a dad who is trying to take over his amateur musical, a mum who keeps reminding her that it's a big exam year, and an English teacher who has decided to become a novelist, and it's another eventful term for Rebecca. 'It reminded me of being a teenager, the nice parts! It's a perfect piece of hilarious loveliness! Gold Star!!!!' Marian Keyes

Rise

Rise

Author: Anna Carey Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/01/2014

In the stunning conclusion to Anna Carey's epic tale of romance and sacrifice, Eve must choose who to leave behind, who to save, and who to fight in her final stand against the New America. When Eve lost her soul mate, Caleb, she felt like her world ended. Now, trapped in the palace, as a reluctant bride and unhappy princess, Eve's entire life is a lie. The only thing that keeps her going is Caleb's memory-and the revolution he started. Eve plots to destroy the New America, beginning with the capital, the City of Sand. Will she be able to bring about a new, free world when she's called upon to perform the ultimate act of rebellion-killing her father, the King?

Rebecca Rocks

Rebecca Rocks

Author: Anna Carey Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/08/2013

My name is Rebecca Rafferty, and I know that this is going to be the best summer ever. Well, maybe. On the plus side, holidays mean no school for three months. And my band Hey Dollface are going to a cool summer camp where we will (hopefully) learn how to become total rock stars. Which is all good, obviously. But there are problems too. There are summer exams, a band of mean boys out to spoil our fun, my friend Cass's love life is complicated and my own love life just doesn't really exist at all ... The third installment of the award-winning series about Rebecca Rafferty.

Rise

Rise

Author: Anna Carey Format: eBook Release Date: 02/04/2013

How far will you go when you have nothing left to lose?hen she lost her soul mate, Caleb, Eve felt like her world had ended. Trapped in the palace, forced to play the part of the happy, patriotic princess of The New Americaand the blushing bride of her fathers top adviserEves whole life is a lie. The only thing that keeps her going is Calebs memory, and the revolution he started.Now, Eve is taking over where Caleb left off. With the help of Moss, an undercover subversive in the Kings court, she plots to take down The New America, beginning with the capital, the City of Sand. Will Eve be able to bring about a new, free world when shes called upon to perform the ultimate act of rebellionkilling her father?In Rise, Eve must choose who to leave behind, who to save, and who to fight as Anna Careys epic tale of romance and sacrifice in the chilling dystopia of The New America comes to a stunning conclusion.

Rebecca's Rules

Rebecca's Rules

Author: Anna Carey Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 24/09/2012

My name is Rebecca Rafferty, and there are lots of things wrong with my life right now. 1. My boyfriend has moved to Canada. Canada! 2. I have annoyed my best friends Cass and Alice by going on about him all the time. 3. I am going to a crazy girl's mad birthday party and I am not sure why. Things have got to change. So I've made some new rules. ? No moping. ? No ignoring my friends' problems. ? Find something exciting for me, Cass and Alice to do so our friendship gets back to normal. Something fun. Something new. Something like joining the school musical ...

Eve

Eve

Author: Anna Carey Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/09/2012

The first book in Anna Carey's chilling Eve trilogy, Eve is perfect for fans of The Handmaiden's Tale. After a deadly virus wiped out most of Earth's population, the world is a terrifying place. Eighteen-year-old Eve has grown up isolated from the rest of the destroyed world in an all-girls school. But it isn't until the night before her graduation that she discovers what her duties will be once she graduates. To avoid the horrifying fate that awaits her, Eve flees the only home she's ever known. On the run, she encounters Caleb, a rough, rebellious boy living in the wild. Eve knows she shouldn't trust him, but he slowly wins her confidence...and her heart. He promises to protect her, but when soldiers begin hunting them, Eve must choose between true love and her life. Eve is the first book in Anna Carey's trilogy, full of romance, adventure, sacrifice, all set in a near future that is both wonderfully strange, and chillingly familiar.

Once

Once

Author: Anna Carey Format: eBook Release Date: 03/07/2012

When you're being hunted, who can you trust?For the first time since she escaped from her school many months ago, Eve can sleep soundly. She's living in Califia, a haven for women, protected from the terrifying fate that awaits orphaned girls in The New America. But her safety came at a price: She was forced to abandon Caleb, the boy she loves, wounded and alone at the city gates. When Eve gets word that Caleb is in trouble, she sets out into the wild again to rescue him, only to be captured and brought to the City of Sand, the capital of The New America.Trapped inside the City walls, Eve uncovers a shocking secret about her pastand is forced to confront the harsh reality of her future. When she discovers Caleb is alive, Eve attempts to flee her prison so they can be togetherbut the consequences could be deadly. She must make a desperate choice to save the ones she loves . . . or risk losing Caleb forever.In this breathless sequel to Eve, Anna Carey returns to her tale of romance, adventure, and sacrifice in a world that is both wonderfully strange and chillingly familiar.

The Real Rebecca

The Real Rebecca

Author: Anna Carey Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/02/2011

My name is Rebecca Rafferty, and my mother has ruined my life. Again. I didn't mind her writing boring books for grown-ups. But now she's written one about an awful girl my age and everyone thinks it's me! Including the boy who delivers our newspapers, aka Paperboy, aka the most gorgeous boy in the whole world. Oh, the shame! And if that wasn't awful enough, the biggest pain in my class wants to use my 'fame' to get herself on the reality show 'My Big Birthday Bash'. I've just got to show everyone the REAL Rebecca. But how?

Author Info

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×