LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Maggie Pearson - Author

About the Author

Whilst her three children were growing up, Maggie Pearson held a variety of jobs - including bar maid, librarian and freelance journalist - but she now pursues a career as a highly-successful children's writer. Her first novel, Owl-Light, was shortlisted for the WH Smith Mind-boggling Book Award. She lives mostly in a sixteenth-century cottage in Suffolk with her husband, two cats and a goat, and sometimes in the French Pyrenees. She spent years compiling this extraordinary collection of folk tales as a labour of love. She has also written A Slip in Time and The Eyes of Doctor Dee for the Victorian Flashbacks series, Is There Anybody There? for the Wired Up series, and the folk tale collection The House of the Cats.

Featured books by Maggie Pearson

Other books by Maggie Pearson

Taliesin: A Bloomsbury Reader

Taliesin: A Bloomsbury Reader

Author: Maggie Pearson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 23/01/2020

A magical retelling of the story of the legendary Welsh bard Taliesin, perfect for fans of The Wizards of Once and The Firework Maker's Daughter. On the most magical day of the year, the unluckiest man in the whole of Wales finds a baby floating in the river. But Taliesin is no ordinary baby - not only can he talk, but he is also a magician, prophet, poet and trickster. As the years pass, Taliesin transforms the lives of all he meets, for better or worse... This enchanting version of a Welsh myth from Maggie Pearson has intricate black-and-white illustrations by David Wyatt and is perfect for children who are developing as readers. The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. Book Band: Grey Ideal for ages 8+

The Ghostly Game

The Ghostly Game

Author: Maggie Pearson Illustrator: Nelson Evergreen Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

Alone in the house one night, four friends make up a ghost story. It's all fun and games until the messages start to appear. And as the shadows get darker and the ghost looms closer, soon come the accidents... The Ghostly Game is a spine-tingling tale of haunting messages and the possibility that ghosts may be very, very real. Bloomsbury High Low books encourage and support reading practice by providing gripping, age-appropriate stories for struggling and reluctant readers, those with dyslexia, or those with English as an additional language. Printed on tinted paper with a dyslexia friendly font, The Ghostly Game is aimed at readers aged 11+ and has a manageable length (88 pages) and reading age (9+). Produced in association with reading experts at Catch Up, a charity which aims to address underachievement caused by literacy and numeracy difficulties.

Goblins and Ghosties Stories of Darkness from Around the World

Goblins and Ghosties Stories of Darkness from Around the World

Author: Maggie Pearson Illustrator: Francesca Greenwood Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/10/2016

A stunning selection of folk tales and legends about things that go bump in the night. A wide variety of traditional stories from all over the world, ranging from magical to farcical, unnerving to terrifying. Delightfully illustrated in paper-cut style by Francesca Greenwood.

The House of the Cats and Other Tales from Europe

The House of the Cats and Other Tales from Europe

Author: Maggie Pearson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 11/09/2014

A stunning collection of folk tales and legends, one from each of the EU member states. Ranging from magical to farcical, tender to terrifying, this selection offers a wide variety of stories you won't have heard before. A fascinating insight into Europe's varied cultures and traditions, and a wonderful read. Delightfully illustrated in paper-cut style by Francesca Greenwood.

Short Christmas Stories

Short Christmas Stories

Author: Maggie Pearson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2013

A wonderful seasonal addition to the popular SHORT series. Over forty stories in one book - all of them very, very short! None of the stories are more than two pages long, but each of them is special and thought-provoking. Drawn from a range of sources, including stories from around the world about Christmas gift-givers, Christmas legends and Christmas traditions, as well as folk tales, narrative jokes, true Christmas stories, and original stories too, the stories are ideal for use in the classroom as well as for sleepovers, Advent bedtime stories, and just for dipping into.

A Slip in Time

A Slip in Time

Author: Maggie Pearson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/06/2010

A Slip in Time is the story of an ordinary boy who gets mixed up in some extraordinary events. When Jack sets out to the shops, he finds that he has somehow stepped into the streets of Victorian London. With every person that he meets, the story gets stranger. Flashbacks are dramatic stories set during key moments in history. Strong characters and thrilling plots bring the past to life.

The Dancing Stones

The Dancing Stones

Author: Maggie Pearson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 16/03/2010

If you dance round the stones at midnight, the story says you'll turn to stone. Kelly says that's rubbish, and she'll prove it! But then the clock begins to strike...Barrington Stoke specialise in books for reluctant, struggling and dyslexic readers.

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×