LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Nic Stone - Author

About the Author

Nic Stone is the author of the New York Times bestselling Dear Martin and Odd One Out. Jackpot is her third novel. She was born in Atlanta and has lived and in Israel, working extensively in teen mentoring. Growing up with a wide range of cultures, religions, and backgrounds, Stone strives to bring these diverse voices and stories to her work.

Featured books by Nic Stone

Other books by Nic Stone

Clean Getaway

Clean Getaway

Author: Nic Stone Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/03/2020

From New York Times bestselling author Nic Stone comes a middle-grade road-trip story through American race relations past and present, perfect for fans of Ross Welford and Jason Reynolds. How to Go on an Unplanned Road Trip with Your Grandma: - Grab a Suitcase: Prepacked from the big spring break trip that got CANCELLED. - Fasten Your Seatbelt: G'ma's never conventional, so this trip won't be either. - Use the Green Book: G'ma's most treasured possession. It holds history, memories, and most important, the way home. What Not to Bring: - A Phone: Avoid contact with Dad at all costs. Even when G'ma starts acting stranger than usual. Set against the backdrop of the segregation history of the American South, take a trip with New York Times bestselling Nic Stone and an eleven-year-old boy who is about to discover that the world hasn't always been a welcoming place for kids like him, and things aren't always what they seem - his G'ma included.

Jackpot

Jackpot

Author: Nic Stone Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 17/10/2019

JACKPOT is a hard-hitting novel about class, money and how you make your own luck in the world. Seventeen-year-old Rico splits her time outside school between looking after her younger brother and working in the local gas station to help her mum pay the bills. So when she sells a jackpot-winning lotto ticket and the money goes unclaimed, Rico thinks maybe her luck has changed. If she can find the ticket holder and reunite them with the cash, hopefully she will get a cut of the winnings. . . That is if she can avoid falling for the annoyingly handsome (and filthy rich) boy she roped into helping her with the hunt. Praise for Nic Stone: 'A powerful, wrenching and compulsively readable story that lays bare the history, and the present of racism in America' JOHN GREEN 'Absolutely incredible, honest, gut-wrenching! A must-read!' ANGIE THOMAS 'Earnest, funny, achingly human, and unshakably hopeful. A must-read!' BECKY ALBERTALLI

Odd One Out

Odd One Out

Author: Nic Stone Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 18/10/2018

From the bestselling author of Dear Martin comes an illuminating exploration of old friendships, new crushes and the path to self-discovery. When it comes to love, attraction and relationships, nothing is simple. Courtney Cooper and Jupiter Sanchez have been best friends and neighbours since they were seven years old. And despite Courtney's best efforts to suppress it, he can't help being hopelessly in love with Jupe. But a relationship with the girl next door isn't in the cards because Jupiter has been out of the closet for almost as long as she's known Courtney. Then Rae Chin moves to town, and Courtney thinks he's finally found a girl he could fall for who isn't Jupiter. The only problem: Jupiter is falling for Rae, too. One story. Three sides. No easy answers. PRAISE FOR DEAR MARTIN: `A powerful, wrenching, and compulsively readable story that lays bare the history, and the present, of racism in America' John Green, bestselling author of A Fault in Our Stars 'Absolutely incredible, honest, gut-wrenching! A must-read!' Angie Thomas, bestselling author of The Hate U Give ` Painfully timely and deeply moving, this is the novel the next generation should be reading' bestselling author Jodi Picoult `Justyce's story is earnest, funny, achingly human, and unshakably hopeful. I am forever changed.' Becky Albertalli, author be Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda 'Raw and gripping' Jason Reynolds, bestselling co-author of All American Boys

Dear Martin

Dear Martin

Author: Nic Stone Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/05/2018

'A powerful, wrenching, and compulsively readable story that lays bare the history, and the present, of racism in America' John Green, bestselling author of Turtles All the Way Down 'Absolutely incredible, honest, gut-wrenching! A must-read!' Angie Thomas, bestselling author of The Hate U Give Raw, captivating, and undeniably real, Nic Stone boldly tackles American race relations in this stunning debut. Justyce McAllister is top of his class and set for the Ivy League - but none of that matters to the police officer who just put him in handcuffs. And despite leaving his rough neighbourhood behind, he can't escape the scorn of his former peers or the ridicule of his new classmates. Justyce looks to the teachings of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. for answers. But do they hold up anymore? He starts a journal to Dr. King to find out. Then comes the day Justyce goes driving with his best friend, Manny, windows rolled down, music turned up - way up, sparking the fury of a white off-duty police officer beside them. Words fly. Shots are fired. Justyce and Manny are caught in the crosshairs. In the media fallout, it's Justyce who is under attack. ` Painfully timely and deeply moving, this is the novel the next generation should be reading' bestselling author Jodi Picoult `Justyce's story is earnest, funny, achingly human, and unshakably hopeful. I am forever changed.' Becky Albertalli, author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda 'Raw and gripping' Jason Reynolds,bestselling co-author of All American Boys

Author Info

Author's Website

http://www.nicstone.info/

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×