LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Sophie Green - Author

About the Author

Sophie Green writes children's fiction, short stories and scripts. She has a degree in zoology and an interest in folklore. She was born in Suffolk, where she works as a children's librarian for the public library service. Her first novel, The Last Giant, was shortlisted for the Times/Chicken House Children's Fiction Competition in 2011. Her short stories have been highly commended for the Bridport Prize 2012, longlisted for BBC Opening Lines in 2013 and 2015 and won second prize in Words with Jam in 2014. Her story Potkin and Stubbs was shortlisted for the 2016 Bath Children's Novel Award and the Concorde Book Award 2020.

Featured books by Sophie Green

Other books by Sophie Green

The Shelly Bay Ladies Swimming Circle

The Shelly Bay Ladies Swimming Circle

Author: Sophie Green Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/07/2020

The perfect summer read from the internationally bestselling author. If you loved The Lido, you won't want to miss The Shelly Bay Ladies Swimming Circle . . . 'Heart-warming' Hello 'Wonderfully atmospheric' Sunday Mirror 'A heart-warming tale' Woman & Home (Best Escapist Reads) 'The Shelly Bay Ladies Swimming Circle will have you laughing and crying' Yours In a seaside suburb on Australia's golden coast, four women head to the water to swim every day . . . Housewife Theresa wants to get fit; she also wants a few precious minutes to herself. So at sunrise each day she strikes out past the waves. From the same beach, the widowed Marie swims. With her husband gone, it is the one constant in her new life. Elaine takes to the sea having recently moved from England, while Leanne is twenty-five years old and only has herself to rely on. In the waters of Shelly Bay, these four women find each other. They will survive bluebottle stings and heartbreak, they will laugh so hard they swallow water, and they will plunge their tears into the ocean's salt. Most of all, they will cherish their newfound friendship, each and every day. Praise for Sophie Green, author of The Shelly Bay Ladies Swimming Circle: 'Reading this book was like snuggling beneath a warm beach towel after a bracing dip in the ocean' Joanna Nell, author of The Single Ladies of Jacaranda Retirement Village 'Brimming with atmosphere and warmth, this gorgeous book completely carried me away. I absolutely loved it' Jenny Ashcroft

Ghostcatcher Potkin and Stubbs Book 3

Ghostcatcher Potkin and Stubbs Book 3

Author: Sophie Green Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/03/2020

After successfully ridding Peligan of Gallows' murderous spook, Mr Grip, Lil and Nedly turn their attentions to another suspected haunting. But Peligan City has had enough of ghosts and has hired ghost catchers - and Nedly finds himself being hunted. Luckily, he has Lil on his side. Now an apprentice reporter for the Klaxon, Lil manages to talk her way into a job shadowing intrepid journalist Marsha Quake, who is writing a feature on Ghostcatcher Inc. So with Lil's help, Nedly is able to stay one step ahead, but how long for? As Nedly develops his own inimitable and slightly haphazard haunting style, hoping to become a hero of Peligan City by protecting the weak and thwarting the powerful, Lil finds herself clashing with her mum, a journalist committed to uncovering the truth at all costs. Lil must protect Nedly by covering his tracks or risk losing him forever. Can she find a way?

The Shelly Bay Ladies Swimming Circle

The Shelly Bay Ladies Swimming Circle

Author: Sophie Green Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 13/02/2020

In a seaside suburb on Australia's golden coast, four women head to the water to swim every day. Housewife Theresa wants to get fit; she also wants a few precious minutes to herself. So at sunrise each day she strikes out past the waves. From the same beach, the widowed Marie swims. With her husband gone, it is the one constant in her new life. Elaine takes to the sea having recently moved from England, while Leanne is twenty-five years old and only has herself to rely on. In the waters of Shelly Bay, these four women find each other. They will survive bluebottle stings and heartbreak, they will laugh so hard they swallow water, and they will plunge their tears into the ocean's salt. Most of all, they will cherish their newfound friendship, each and every day.

The Haunting of Peligan City Potkin and Stubbs 2

The Haunting of Peligan City Potkin and Stubbs 2

Author: Sophie Green Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

Peligan City, late November. Three months have passed since Lil and Nedly - Potkin and Stubbs - solved their first case. And now, at last, something new and unusual turns up: strange things are afoot at the doll hospital. But investigation turns up no more than an odd new owner. More important is the mysterious epidemic of deaths at the notorious Fellgate Prison. And when the Klaxon breaks the news that City Hall is hushing up that ghosts are real and are terrorising the city, mass hysteria reigns in Peligan City. Will Lil and Nedly get to the bottom of the case before any more trouble happens - and will they be the first to the scoop? Time to get to the library for help . . .

The Inaugural Meeting of the Fairvale Ladies Book Club

The Inaugural Meeting of the Fairvale Ladies Book Club

Author: Sophie Green Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 24/01/2019

'This gorgeous book completely carried me away' Jenny Ashcroft, author of Island in the East 'The perfect novel to curl up with on a cosy night in' Hello 'An absolute gem of a novel' Better Reading Australia You are warmly invited to join the Fairvale Ladies book club . . . 1978. Life in Australia's vast Northern Territory isn't always easy. Telephones are not yet common, and the treacherous seasons make even travelling to the next town a struggle. But Sybil Baxter is finding a way to connect . . . Bringing together her daughter-in-law Kate, who is finding it hard to adjust to married life, and her old friend Rita, often far away working hard for the Flying Doctors, Sybil starts a book club. Joined by Sallyanne, a mother of three with a trouble marriage, and Della, who moved to the country looking for adventure, they come together to bond over their favourite stories. But as life throws up challenges to each of its members, the club might just provide these five women with what they need more than anything: a friendship capable of overcoming any distance and weathering all seasons. _________________ Join other readers in discovering the joy of the Fairvale Ladies . . . 'A book showing more kindness between its pages than any I have read before' NetGalley Reviewer 'A warm hearted, generous book . . . it was a pleasure and a comfort to come back to the characters each night' Virginia McGregor, author of Before I Was Yours 'I didn't want this story to end and would happily spend time in this world each day' Amazon Reviewer 'The story is timeless, the characters realistic and descriptions of the landscape breathtaking' Amazon Reviewer 'Heartwarming and fulfilling' Australian Women's Weekly 'Wonderfully atmospheric' Sunday Mirror __________________ Perfect for readers of The Chilbury Ladies' Choir, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society, The Sunday Lunch Club and The Lido.

The Inaugural Meeting of the Fairvale Ladies Book Club

The Inaugural Meeting of the Fairvale Ladies Book Club

Author: Sophie Green Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/03/2018

You are warmly invited to . . . The Inaugural Meeting of the Fairvale Ladies Book Club Sunday 25th June 1978, 10 o'clock RSVP to Sybil Baxter - ask the operator for 'Fairvale' ~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 'Brimming with atmosphere and warmth' Jenny Ashcroft, author of Island in the East 'An absolute gem of a novel' Better Reading Australia In 1978, in Australia's vast and remote Northern Territory, a group of five very different women are searching for a way to connect. At Fairvale Station, Sybil is missing her absent son, while Kate, Sybil's daughter-in-law is finding it hard to adjust to her new life. In a dusty town, Sallyanne dreams of a life far removed from her troubled marriage. Della, a Texan who came to the country looking for adventure, has encountered challenges she didn't expect. And Rita, far away in Alice Springs, is working hard for the Flying Doctors. Meeting as the Fairvale Ladies Book Club, these women come together to bond over their favourite stories - and to share a few of their own. In doing so they will form friendships able to overcome incredible distances, weather all seasons and last a lifetime. 'A sweet tale, and wonderfully atmospheric' Sunday Mirror 'A warm hearted, generous book . . . it was a pleasure and sometimes a comfort to come back to the characters each night' Virginia McGregor, author of Before I Was Yours 'Heartwarming and fulfilling' Australian Women's Weekly

Home and Away: New Beginnings

Home and Away: New Beginnings

Author: Sophie Green Format: eBook Release Date: 27/07/2016

WORLD EXCLUSIVE. In this continuation of a major Home and Away storyline, Ricky and Brax leave Summer Bay to start a new life with their son, Casey. Leaving behind her devastated husband, Nate, Ricky gambles her future on her reunion with Brax and their new beginning away from Summer Bay in the coastal town of Palm Cove. For Brax, however, this is the future he's always dreamed of: the woman he loves and their son are with him again - for good. But even though Brax has put his past behind him, he can't stop it haunting him. Mistakes he made as a young man will appear in Palm Cove to threaten the life he and Ricky are building - and always the spectre of what Ricky has given up for him remains ... Home and Away: New Beginnings contains exclusive material that will never appear on screen. It is the only way to find out what happens to Ricky and Brax when they leave Summer Bay! *Contains a free bonus chapter of HOME AND AWAY: AN EYE FOR AN EYE*

Author Info

Author's Website

http://www.sophiegreenwrites.com/

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×