LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Colin Stuart - Author

About the Author

Colin Stuart is a renowned astronomy speaker and author whose books have sold over 100,000 copies worldwide. A Fellow of the Royal Astronomical Society and a 2014 runner-up in the European Astronomy Journalism Prize, Colin has also written publications featured in The Guardian, New Scientist, BBC Focus and The Observer, and has spoken about the wonders of the universe on Sky News, BBC News and Radio 5Live. 

Featured books by Colin Stuart

Other books by Colin Stuart

The Stardust That Made Us A Visual Exploration of Chemistry, Atoms, Elements and the Universe

The Stardust That Made Us A Visual Exploration of Chemistry, Atoms, Elements and the Universe

Author: Colin Stuart Illustrator: Ximo Abadia Format: Hardback Release Date: 16/09/2021

A visual exploration of chemistry, The Stardust That Made Us is the third stunning STEM title from Colin Stuart and Ximo Abadia, following the success of The Speed of Starlight (physics) and The Language of the Universe (mathematics). Imagine that Nature has an unseen cookbook full of different recipes for making everything you've ever encountered, from fish to fingernails and sand to Saturn. The 'ingredients' are known as chemical elements and there are 118 that we know about so far, which are organised in a grid called the periodic table. Some occur in nature, some are man-made, some are dangerous, some even glow blue! Stunning surrealist artwork by Ximo Abadia meets easy-to-read informative text by science writer Colin Stuart to create highly engaging content that will inspire future scientists.

The Extraordinary Elements: Postcard Collection

The Extraordinary Elements: Postcard Collection

Author: Colin Stuart Illustrator: Ximo Abadia Format: Cards Release Date: 16/09/2021

The Extraordinary Elements presents the periodic table as you have never seen before! These fun, surrealist postcards from the fantastic Ximo Abadia are the perfect way to get familiar with all 118 elements. Featuring Alice Cooper (Arsenic), Freddie (Mercury), Kurt Cobain (Lithium) and a whole host of weird and wonderful characters both real and imagined, this stunning postcard set presents the personified elements as you've never seen them before! Including 118 postcards printed on beautiful, thick card, and presented in a stunning gift box with the periodic table printed on the lid, this is the perfect gift for anyone who is zany about chemistry.

Time 10 Things You Should Know

Time 10 Things You Should Know

Author: Colin Stuart Format: Hardback Release Date: 02/09/2021

'A gripping exploration of one of the most fundamental, but also perplexing aspects of existence.' PROF. LEWIS DARTNELL, author of Origins 'Such an enjoyable read...full of delightful nuggets that you will want to impress your friends and family with.' PROF. JIM AL-KHALILI, NYT bestselling author of The World According to Physics -------- Discover the secrets of one of the biggest puzzles in our history - Time. As a subject, it has perplexed and fascinated generations of scientists, historians and more, and continues to spark the most intriguing questions being asked in science today. Can time be stopped? Is time travel possible? Does time even exist...? In these ten bite-sized essays, Colin Stuart delves into these big questions and uncovers the most awe-inspiring and revealing things we should all know about time. Perfect for readers of Carlo Rovelli and anyone fascinated by space and the universe, this is a must-read for those short on time, but not curiosity.

The Speed of Starlight How Physics, Light and Sound Work

The Speed of Starlight How Physics, Light and Sound Work

Author: Colin Stuart Illustrator: Ximo Abadia Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/11/2020

Designed to present physics in a totally new light, this science book explores the topics of physics, light and sound alongside incredible artwork from surrealist artist Ximo Abadia. Visualise sonar sound, discover the speed of light and understand basic quantum physics with easy to understand, engaging text by acclaimed science writer Colin Stuart. Impressive design meets exciting content in this physics title that will truly captivate and inspire.

Paper World: Space

Paper World: Space

Author: Colin Stuart, Ruth Symons Illustrator: Gail Armstrong Format: Hardback Release Date: 17/09/2020

Paper World: Space uses ingenious paper cuts to reveal the wonders of space, from our Solar System to distant galaxies to the Big Bang. With detailed art by paper-cut artist Gail Armstrong, a fact-packed text, and flaps and die-cuts on every spread, this unique novelty book will appeal to all the family.

Rebel Star Our Quest to Solve the Great Mysteries of the Sun

Rebel Star Our Quest to Solve the Great Mysteries of the Sun

Author: Colin Stuart Format: Hardback Release Date: 03/10/2019

A fascinating and comprehensive guide to the sun - our home star - which remains the greatest mystery in the solar system, and why understanding it is pivotal to our future existence here on Earth. In 1869, a great mystery was born. As astronomers observed a total solar eclipse, for the first time they saw the faint glow of the solar corona, the sun's outer atmosphere. Measurements of a previously unknown wavelength that made up this solar light sparked hot debate among scientists, but it was another sixty years before they discovered that this wavelength was in fact iron being burned at a staggering 3 million degrees Celsius. With the sun's surface only 6,000 degrees, this shouldn't be possible. What we now knew about the sun appeared to defy the laws of physics - and nature. But as well as being shrouded in intriguing mystery, the unpredictable nature of the sun's corona poses a serious threat to our life here on earth - the destructive potential of solar storms, caused by solar material travelling out into space at around 1 million miles an hour, is huge. Remaining beyond our reach until now, a new generation of ambitious solar missions are currently travelling closer to the sun than any previous spacecraft in history. As we enter this unprecedented era of heliophysics, there has never been a better time to get to grips with the workings of our home star.

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.colinstuart.net/

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×