LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Jennifer Mathieu - Author

About the Author

Jennifer Mathieu (It's pronounced Muh-two, but if you speak French you can pronounce it even better than that!) was born on the East Coast of America, to a mom from Cuba and a dad from Chile.

Jennifer is a former journalist who now teaches English to middle and high schoolers in Texas, where she now lives with her husband, son and rescue dog. Her favourite things to write about are - punk rock, women's rights, the 90s, zines, Texas, and interesting female protagonists. She writes contemporary YA fiction that treats teens like real people

Follow on Instagram: @authorjenmathieu 

Featured books by Jennifer Mathieu

Other books by Jennifer Mathieu

Moxie as seen on Netflix

Moxie as seen on Netflix

Author: Jennifer Mathieu Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 25/02/2021

Read the book behind the upcoming NETFLIX movie launching on 3rd March 2021, directed by and starring Amy Poehler. 'I LOVE THIS BOOK SO MUCH!' Zoella '... this is my new favorite book. I'm proud to be a Moxie girl!' Jennifer Niven, author of All the Bright Places and Holding Up the Universe When an unlikely teenager stands up to sexism in her high school she unwittingly starts a feminist revolution that shakes her whole town. It's time to fight like a girl! Perfect for fans of Holly Bourne. Vivian Carter is fed up. Fed up with her high school teachers who think the football team can do no wrong. Fed up with sexist dress codes, hallway harassment and gross comments from guys during class. But most of all, Viv Carter is fed up with always following the rules. Viv's mum was a tough-as-nails, punk rock Riot Grrrl in the '90s, and now Viv takes a page from her mother's past and creates Moxie, a feminist zine that she distributes anonymously to her classmates. She's just blowing off steam, but other girls respond and spread the Moxie message. As Viv forges friendships with other young women across the divides of cliques and popularity rankings, she realises that what she has started is nothing short of a girl revolution. TIME TO FIGHT LIKE A GIRL A page-turning read with a feminist message, for anyone who has ever had to deal with #everydaysexism 'MOXIE is sweet funny and fierce. Read this and then join the fight!' AMY POEHLER Also by Jennifer Mathieu: The Liars: Perfect for fans of We Were Liars - two siblings wrestle with the secrets and lies that threaten to destroy their future. The Truth About Alice: Fans of Thirteen Reasons Why will love this powerful book about stereotypes, secrets and standing up for gender equality. Devoted: An empowering, feminist coming-of-age story about self-discovery, as a girl with a controlling family realizes that her life is her own - if only she can find the courage to fight for it. Afterward: A tragic kidnapping leads to an unlikely friendship in this novel about finding light in the midst of darkness.

The Liars

The Liars

Author: Jennifer Mathieu Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

From the author of Moxie, soon to be a major Netflix production The highly anticipated new novel from Jennifer Mathieu. Two siblings wrestle with the secrets and lies that threaten to destroy their future. Perfect for fans of We Were Liars. How can one family have so many secrets? Every year, summer begins when the Callahans arrive on Mariposa Island. That's when Elena Finney gets to escape her unstable, controlling mother by babysitting for their two children. And the summer of 1986 promises to be extra special when she meets J.C., the new boy in town, whose kisses make Elena feel like she's been transported to a new world. Joaquin Finney can't imagine why anyone would want to come to Mariposa Island. He just graduated from high school and dreams about going to California to find his father and escape his mother's manipulation. As both teenagers struggle to figure out who they are and want to be, they are caught in a web of family dysfunction and secrets from their mother's past. Can fierce love save them, or will their truth tear them apart?

Devoted

Devoted

Author: Jennifer Mathieu Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 10/01/2019

From the author of Moxie, soon to be a major Netflix production An empowering, feminist coming-of-age story about self-discovery, from the author of MOXIE - a Zoella Book Club book ... Rachel Walker's family and community have turned away from the world. Every part of Rachel's life is controlled, from what she reads to where she goes and what she wears. Her parents dictate how her life must be: marriage, modesty, children and obedience to her future husband. But when a former member of her community, a girl who escaped, moves back to her small Texas town, Rachel's world turns upside down. She realises that her life is her own. But can she find the courage to fight for it?

Moxie. Zeit, zuruckzuschlagen

Moxie. Zeit, zuruckzuschlagen

Author: Jennifer Mathieu Illustrator: 0 Format: eBook Release Date: 31/08/2018

Vivian lebt in Texas und hat die Nase voll. Von den bloden Kommentaren der Jungs wahrend des Unterrichts. Von den Lehrern, die nichts dagegen unternehmen. Von der absurden Kleiderordnung, die nur fur Madchen zu gelten scheint. Aber vor allem hat Vivian es satt, den Mund zu halten. Als sie einen alten Flyer ihrer Mutter, ein ehemaliges Punkrock-Riot-Grrrl, findet, beschliet sie, etwas gegen die Ungerechtigkeit zu tun. Heimlich gestaltet sie ihren eigenen Flyer, "e;Moxie"e;, und verteilt ihn an der Schule. Die Madchen sind begeistert und tragen Vivians Botschaft weiter. Und auch Seth, der neue Junge an der Schule, ist schwer beeindruckt. Doch schon bald begreift Vivian, dass sie damit eine Revolution angestoen hat, die ihre Leben ganz schon ins Wanken bringt.

The Truth About Alice From the author of Moxie

The Truth About Alice From the author of Moxie

Author: Jennifer Mathieu Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 08/03/2018

From the author of Moxie, soon to be a major Netflix production Fans of THIRTEEN REASONS WHY will love this powerful book about stereotypes, secrets and standing up for gender equality, from the author of Zoella Book Club book MOXIE. There are all sorts of rumours about Alice Franklin. And after star quarterback Brandon Fitzsimmons dies in a car accident, the rumours start to spiral out of control blaming Alice for Brandon's death. In this remarkable novel, four Healy High students - the party girl, the car accident survivor, the ex best friend and the boy next door - tell all they know. But exactly what is the truth about Alice? In the end there's only one person to ask: Alice herself. Zoella on Moxie: 'I LOVE THIS BOOK SO MUCH ... a really empowering book that I wish I had read when I was younger.' 'Should be required reading for anyone in high school' Bustle

Moxie as seen on Netflix

Moxie as seen on Netflix

Author: Jennifer Mathieu Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/09/2017

MOXIE movie launching on NETFLIX on 3rd March 2021, directed by and starring Amy Poehler. 'I LOVE THIS BOOK SO MUCH!' Zoella '... this is my new favorite book. I'm proud to be a Moxie girl!' Jennifer Niven, author of All the Bright Places and Holding Up the Universe Vivian Carter is fed up. Fed up with her high school teachers who think the football team can do no wrong. Fed up with sexist dress codes, hallway harassment and gross comments from guys during class. But most of all, Viv Carter is fed up with always following the rules. Viv's mum was a tough-as-nails, punk rock Riot Grrrl in the '90s, and now Viv takes a page from her mother's past and creates Moxie, a feminist zine that she distributes anonymously to her classmates. She's just blowing off steam, but other girls respond and spread the Moxie message. As Viv forges friendships with other young women across the divides of cliques and popularity rankings, she realises that what she has started is nothing short of a girl revolution. TIME TO FIGHT LIKE A GIRL A page-turning read with a feminist message, for anyone who has ever had to deal with #everydaysexism 'MOXIE is sweet funny and fierce. Read this and then join the fight!' AMY POEHLER Also by Jennifer Mathieu: The Liars: Perfect for fans of We Were Liars - two siblings wrestle with the secrets and lies that threaten to destroy their future. The Truth About Alice: Fans of Thirteen Reasons Why will love this powerful book about stereotypes, secrets and standing up for gender equality. Devoted: An empowering, feminist coming-of-age story about self-discovery, as a girl with a controlling family realizes that her life is her own - if only she can find the courage to fight for it. Afterward: A tragic kidnapping leads to an unlikely friendship in this novel about finding light in the midst of darkness.

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×