LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Curtis Jobling - Author

About the Author

The designer of worldwide hit children's television show 'Bob the Builder' and the author/illustrator of numerous children’s books, Curtis Jobling lives with his family in Cheshire.

Early work on Aardman Animation’s 'Wallace & Gromit' and Tim Burton’s 'Mars Attacks' led to him picking up his crayons in 1997 to design the BAFTA winning Bob. The animated series of 'Frankenstein’s Cat', based upon Curtis’s book of the same name, picked up the Pulcinella award for Best Children's Show at the 2008 International Cartoons On The Bay festival in Salerno, Italy. His noisy new preschool show, 'Raa Raa', can be seen on CBeebies, while his original paintings and prints sell in galleries the world over. Although perhaps best known for his work in TV and picture books, Curtis’s other love has always been horror and fantasy for an older audience. 

Watch Curtis show you how to draw Bob the Builder - and then transform him into a werewolf - in the video below:

Featured books by Curtis Jobling

Other books by Curtis Jobling

Max Helsing and the Beast of Bone Creek Book 2

Max Helsing and the Beast of Bone Creek Book 2

Author: Curtis Jobling Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 10/01/2017

Percy Jackson meets Dracula in this action-packed monster hunting series! With the perfect combination of humour and heroism, Max Helsing will keep readers aged nine and up on the edge of their seats. Max Helsing's camping trip to Bone Creek was never going to be a quiet holiday, but even he is caught by surprise at how quickly things get out of control. Trouble starts brewing when a slew of mysterious murders have Bigfoot hunters lining up, guns at the ready. What's more, Max's nemesis, Abel Archer, is in town and itching to be the one to take the beast down. But the appearance of dire wolves and vampires complicate matters - who is really responsible for the murders? With the help of his friends, it's up to Max to find the culprit before the wrong suspect ends up as a trophy on a monster hunter's wall!

Haunt: Dead Wrong

Haunt: Dead Wrong

Author: Curtis Jobling Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 26/02/2015

Will and Dougie are still adjusting to the slight change in their friendship dynamic. . . Will's dead but Dougie can still see him. Weird, admittedly, but there are some positives: solving a murder mystery (with the help of former living best friend), becoming a local hero and getting the girl of your dreams are pretty big perks. But what happens when the girl is Will's crush too? The first (and last!) girl he ever kissed? And why has Dougie's dad been acting all weird ever since Will died? Just as things are beginning to go right for Will, it seems he couldn't have been more wrong. . .

Haunt: Dead Scared

Haunt: Dead Scared

Author: Curtis Jobling Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/06/2014

When Will finds himself in hospital, but unable to make anyone see or hear him, he realises that he never made it home from his first kiss with the school hottie. Knocked off his bike in a road traffic accident, Will is now officially dead - and a ghost. But somehow his best mate, Dougie, can still see him, and, what is more, increasingly Will seems bound to Dougie, going only where Dougie goes. Once they've exhausted all the comic possibilities of being invisible, they set about unravelling the mystery of Will's predicament. Is it something to do with that kiss, or the driver of the car that killed him and didn't stop? Maybe they will find an answer by investigating the rumour that there is an unhappy spirit haunting the ruins in the school grounds, and if so, why? What they discover is a long-buried mystery, which stretches its fingers right into the present...

Wereworld: Storm of Sharks (Book 5)

Wereworld: Storm of Sharks (Book 5)

Author: Curtis Jobling Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/05/2013

Wereworld: Storm of Sharks is the fifth book in the horror-fantasy series by Curtis Jobling, perfect for fans of Darren Shan, Tolkien's The Hobbit and Christopher Paolini's Eragon. Rumours have spread like wildfire across the warring lands of Lyssia - young Werewolf, Drew Ferran, has returned to the Seven Realms. Seeking out an army that may help him defeat the terrible Catlords of Bast, he turns to the sea where a host of fresh terrors await. With scoundrels and pirates cresting each and every wave, Drew's quest pulls him toward the very heart of his enemy, deep into the eye of the maelstrom . . . ** Book 5 in the horror-fantasy series by Curtis Jobling - www.wereworldbooks.co.uk ** Perfect for fans of Darren Shan, Tolkien's The Hobbit and Christopher Paolini's Eragon. The designer of Bob the Builder, creator of Frankenstein's Cat and Raa Raa the Noisy Lion, and the author/illustrator of numerous children's books, Curtis Jobling lives with his family in Cheshire, England. Early work on Aardman's Wallace & Gromit and Tim Burton's Mars Attacks led to him picking up his crayons in 1997 to design the BAFTA winning Bob. The animated series of Frankenstein's Cat, based upon Curtis's book of the same name, picked up the Pulcinella award for Best Children's Show at the 2008 International Cartoons On The Bay festival in Salerno, Italy. His noisy new preschool show, Raa Raa, can be seen on CBeebies, while his original paintings and prints sell in galleries the world over. Although perhaps best known for his work in TV and picture books, Curtis's other love has always been horror and fantasy for an older audience. Wereworld is his first series for older readers. www.wereworldbooks.com www.curtisjobling.com

Wereworld: Nest of Serpents (Book 4)

Wereworld: Nest of Serpents (Book 4)

Author: Curtis Jobling Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/06/2012

WAR HAS GRIPPED THE SEVEN REALMS . . . Young Werewolf Drew Ferran, rightful king of Westland, has rushed to the aid of the besieged Staglords, whose mountain stronghold is surrounded by the forces of the Werelion Prince Lucas. And deep in the haunted Dyrewood forest, the Wereladies Gretchen and Whitley seek sanctuary within the city of Brackenholme. No opposing force has ever breached the palisade walls, but danger could be closer than they think... As Lyssia's greatest war rumbles towards a thunderous climax, the lines between friend and foe are blurred. What if the enemy is one of their own?

Wereworld: War of the Werelords (Book 6)

Wereworld: War of the Werelords (Book 6)

Author: Curtis Jobling Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 13/11/2005

War of the Werelords is the action-packed final book in Curtis Jobling's Wereworld series. Drew Ferran was born a werewolf. Time has always been his greatest enemy. Across the Badlands the Catlords have turned on each other. In North Lyssia the Seven Realms' greatest armies gather. And in the frozen city of Icegarden an even deadlier force lies in wait. If Drew wants to save his friends, he must fight - but have the heavens already decided his fate? All roads lead to war. In the shadow of Strakenberg, and by the light of the full moon, the victors - and losers - will be decided. The designer of Bob the Builder, creator of Frankenstein's Cat and Raa Raa the Noisy Lion, and the author/illustrator of numerous children's books, Curtis Jobling lives with his family in Cheshire, England. Although perhaps best known for his work in TV and picture books, Curtis's other love has always been horror and fantasy for an older audience. Wereworld is his first series for older readers. 'As a fantasy world it is superior to Eragon, and pure fun' - The Times www.wereworldbooks.com www.curtisjobling.com

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×