The Children’s Book Award is BACK!... and a fast tortoise, as well as some adventurous mice and killer plants, are all shortlisted for the Children’s Book Award 2024 – chosen and voted for entirely by children.

The Children’s Book Award 2024 shortlist has been announced, with children choosing their favourite books from the last year.

Who will win? Children nationwide are now invited to vote for their favourite of the ten shortlisted books.

Voting Opens - 25th March
Deadline - 12 noon th18 May
Awards Ceremony - Saturday 8th June

The category winners and the author of the best children’s book published in the 2023 nomination period will be announced at the live-streamed, glittering awards ceremony in central London.

The Children’s Book Award is the only national award for children’s books that is voted for entirely by children. It is owned and coordinated by the Federation of Children’s Book Groups and is highly respected by teachers, parents and librarians. It has brought acclaim and strong sales to past winners such as J.K. Rowling, Patrick Ness, Andy Stanton, Malorie Blackman, Anthony Horowitz and Michael Morpurgo, who has won a record four times. The award has often been the first to recognise the future stars of children’s fiction and has the ability to turn popular authors into bestsellers.

The full shortlist for the Children’s Book Award 2024 is as follows:

Books for Younger Children
Gigantic - written and illustrated by Rob Biddulph
The Big Dreaming - written by Michael Rosen and illustrated by Daniel Egneus
The Fastest Tortoise in Town – written by Howard Calvert and illustrated by Karen Obuhanych
The Princess and The (Greedy) Pea - written and illustrated by Leigh Hodgkinson

Books for Younger Readers
Adventure Mice: Otter Chaos - written by Philip Reeve and illustrated by Sarah McIntyre
Marv and The Killer Plants - written by Alex Falase-Koya and illustrated by Paula Bowles
Press Start! Game On, Super Rabbit Boy! - written and illustrated by Thomas Flintham

Books for Older Readers
Code Name Kingfisher - written by Liz Kesser
Deadlock - written by Simon Fox
The Final Year - written by Matt Goodfellow and illustrated by Joe Todd-Stanton

Sarah Stuffins, Children’s Book Award Coordinator says, ‘The Children’s Book Award is back and it’s always a pleasure to see what brilliant stories have been chosen. We have the hugely popular Michael Rosen on the shortlist this year, as well and previous winner, Thomas Flintham. Children are a very demanding and exacting audience – books need to hook them into a story right away, and keep them turning the pages, right to the end! And it’s a testament to these wonderful books that they’ve all not just delighted their readers, but inspired them to vote. Congratulations to our wonderful shortlisted authors and illustrators, and many thanks to all the children who voted for this year’s wonderful shortlist. Good luck, everyone!’

Scroll to purchase any of the books on the shortlist and kids, vote online here -