Marsh Road Mysteries: Diamonds and Daggers

Written by Elen Caldecott

Crime / Mystery Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on Marsh Road Mysteries: Diamonds and Daggers

With a great theatre background, this is a gripping adventure of a lost diamond necklace, a false accusation and a desperate race to find out the truth. Piotr’s dad is on security duty at the theatre when the great Hollywood actress Betty Massimo’s diamond necklace goes missing. Although there is no evidence against him, he is so distraught at being thought a suspect that he threatens to take the whole family back to Poland. Piotr is horrified; England is his home! And so are his friends, Minnie and Andrew. Together with twins Flora and Sylvie, the gang set out to prove who really took the diamonds. Can they catch the thief even in the middle of a show?

Marsh Road Mysteries: Diamonds and Daggers Synopsis

The first in a fantastic new series filled with friendship, adventure and mystery! Perfect for fans of Lauren St John, this is the new mystery adventure series by Waterstones Book Prize shortlisted author Elen Caldecott.

Meet Piotr, Minnie, Andrew, Flora and Sylvia - true friends and even better mystery-solvers! Hollywood sensation, Betty Massino, has come to star in the theatre down the road and Piotr and his friends Andrew and Minnie couldn't be more excited! But when the famous actress's hugely expensive diamond necklace goes missing, Piotr's dad, a security guard at the theatre, is a prime suspect. Soon, Piotr faces the very real threat of being sent 'home' to Poland. With the help of Sylvie and her twin sister Flora, can Piotr, Andrew and Minnie solve the crime or will they lose Piotr forever?

Marsh Road Mysteries: Diamonds and Daggers Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Heather Greenan, age 11 - 'an excellent book full of crime, excitement and mystery.' Read full review >
  • Holly Wilkins, age 10 - 'Interesting, intriguing, funny.  It uses suspense to pull you in.  BEST BOOK EVER.' Read full review >
  • Tomasz Hawryszczuk, age 9 - 'Move over Famous Five, there are five new investigators on the block. I hope there are lots more of these stories as I really enjoyed it. This book would be great for boys and girls.' Read full review >
  • Freegrounds Junior School, Year 5 Class, age 10 - 'Absolutely loved this book! It was really exciting and fun to read and the characters were easy to like. We didn't guess who the culprit was right until the very end.' Read full review >
  • Olivia Bannister, age 10 - 'I think this book is very good because it has lots of expression but I also think the start of the story was a bit confusing.' Read full review >
  • Kelis Spencer, age 10 - 'I love the title it makes you want to find out what's in store. It makes you feel exited and curious about the story.' Read full review >
  • Jorge Alexander Kearsey, age 7 - 'An entertaining book with lots of mystery, keeps you guessing until the end.' Read full review >
  • Cajsa Jonsson, age 9 - 'A fun and thrilling story. I have loved reading it and couldn't put it down! I give this book a rating of 8 out of 10. I think many people will love this book.' Read full review >
  • Billy Carlton, age 9 - 'I enjoyed this book because it is long with short chapters...I think that if you like Scooby-Doo you will like Diamonds and Daggers. Read full review >
  • Kieran Mallory, age 11 - 'It is a page-turner, you can’t put it down you, it is a have-to-finish-it-book that hooks you into the story. I highly recommend this book to all to read so, go on, read this FANTASTIC book!' Read full review >
  • Gaia McNaughton, age 8 - 'Diamonds and Daggers is a mystery book full of investigators, diamond necklaces and theatre!  I would recommend this book to anybody who likes reading investigator books.'  Read full review >

If you loved this, you might like these...

Goth Girl and the Sinister Symphony
Peril in Paris
A Chase In Time
Riddle of the Runes

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781408847527
Publication date: 05/02/2015
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781408847527
Publication date: 5th February 2015
Author: Elen Caldecott
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 240 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Crime / Mystery
Recommendations: eBooks
Other Categories: Reviewed by Children

About Elen Caldecott

Elen Caldecott recently graduated with an MA in Writing for Young People from Bath Spa University. At the end of the course she was highly commended in the PFD Prize for Most Promising Writer for Young People.Before becoming a writer, she was an archaeologist, a nurse, a theatre usher and a museum security guard. It was while working at the museum that Elen realised there is a way to steal anything if you think about it hard enough. Elen either had to become a master thief, or create some characters to do it for her – and so her ...

More About Elen Caldecott

More Books By Elen Caldecott

Cover for Spooks and Scooters by Elen Caldecott
Cover for Crowns and Codebreakers by Elen Caldecott
Cover for The Great Ice-Cream Heist by Elen Caldecott
View All Books By Elen Caldecott

Share this book

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.

NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×