LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Nowhere Emporium

Written by Ross MacKenzie

Part of the Kelpies Series

Write A Review

The Nowhere Emporium Review

Fantasy / Magical Featured Books for 7+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Recommended Children's eBooks

Winner of the Blue Peter Book Award 2016 - Best Story - Winner of the Scottish Children's Book Awards 2015 8-11 age category  This sparkling fantasy adventure is a glorious hymn to the powers of the imagination. Young Daniel Holmes first stumbles into the Nowhere Emporium as he’s running from a couple of the bullies from the children’s home where he lives. He’s fascinated – and who wouldn’t be – the shop is a cave of wonders, stacked from floor to ceiling with beautiful objects. As for the shop owner, he seems to be a magician. Next day Daniel is knocked down by a car, only to wake up in the Emporium, which becomes his home. He realises the shop truly is magical, travelling through time, entertaining and delighting customers across the ages, while Mr Silver the owner builds strange and wonderful worlds from their imaginations. Not all in this world is happy however, and when Silver’s enemy Vindictus Sharpe threatens to destroy it, Daniel is the only person who can stop him.  Mackenzie creates a dazzling fantasy world, so engaging and vivid it reminds one of Cornelia Funke’s books. Young readers – particularly those who like making up stories themselves – will be entranced. ~ Andrea Reece

Commenting on his Blue Peter Awards win Ross, said:  Best Story winner, Ross MacKenzie, who grew up watching Blue Peter, said: “It's always a great moment to receive any sort of award, but to win The Blue Peter Book Awards for Best Story is extra special. Firstly, because it's an award chosen by the readers. It's fantastic and important that children have a voice, and I'm so glad they liked The Nowhere Emporium enough to give it their vote. And secondly, it's special because Blue Peter was such a huge part of my childhood. I'm delighted and stunned to become a tiny part of the show's history and I shall be humming that famous theme tune for the foreseeable future! And of course I always wanted a badge.”

Commenting on his Scottish Book Awards win, Ross said: “I'm so delighted to have won the SCBA for ‘The Nowhere Emporium’! Scottish Book Trust do such an amazing job, and these awards are extra-special because it's the readers who make the final decision. Children don't often get the chance to have a voice on this sort of scale, and I believe it's important for them to know that they have that voice and that their opinions matter.
Long may the SCBA continue!”

LoveReading4Kids

The Nowhere Emporium Synopsis

When the mysterious Nowhere Emporium arrives in Glasgow, orphan Daniel Holmes stumbles upon it quite by accident. Before long, the 'shop from nowhere' -- and its owner, Mr Silver -- draw Daniel into a breathtaking world of magic and enchantment. Recruited as Mr Silver's apprentice, Daniel learns the secrets of the Emporium's vast labyrinth of passageways and rooms -- rooms that contain wonders beyond anything Daniel has ever imagined. But when Mr Silver disappears, and a shadow from the past threatens everything, the Emporium and all its wonders begin to crumble.

Can Daniel save his home, and his new friends, before the Nowhere Emporium is destroyed forever?

Scottish Children's Book Award winner Ross MacKenzie unleashes a riot of imagination, colour and fantasy in this astonishing adventure, perfect for fans of Philip Pullman, Corneila Funke and Neil Gaiman.

The Nowhere Emporium Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading4Kids expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

A great book definitely should be read. Full review

Nikita Goyal (Age 10)

I give this book 5/5 stars and recommend it for people who like fantasy and all ages can enjoy this wonderful book series. Full review

Saara (Age 11)

The Nowhere Emporium was very touching, it was very detailed and suspenseful. Full review

Elizabeth (Age 11)

It's an amazing book and hopefully they make a movie because that would be great! Full review

Apple Van (Age 10)

It was just AMAZING. The people that I would recommend this book to are people who love Sherlock Holmes and Harry Potter. Full review

Rachel (Age 10)

The people that I would recommend this book to are people who love Sherlock Holmes and Harry Potter. Full review

Rachel (Age 10)

I found this book very interesting. Full review

VedK (Age 10)

I found this book really interesting and fun. Full review

William (Age 11)

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Midnighters
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone - 25th Anniversary Edition
The Consequence Girl
The Blackthorn Branch

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781782501251
Publication date: 19/03/2015
Publisher: Kelpies an imprint of Floris Books
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781782501251
Publication date: 19th March 2015
Author: Ross MacKenzie
Publisher: Kelpies an imprint of Floris Books
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 288 pages
Suitable for: 7+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Fantasy / Magical
Recommendations: eBooks, Reviewed by Children
Other Categories: Blue Peter Book Awards, All Shortlists and Winners

About Ross MacKenzie

Ross MacKenzie is the author of fantasy adventure, Zac and the Dream Pirates, winner of a Scottish Children's Book Award in 2012. He lives in Renfrew, where he grew up, with his wife and baby daughter, but spends much of his time in another world. A Q&A with Ross about his novel The Nowhere Emporium Where did your inspiration for The Nowhere Emporium come from? It’s a bit mysterious, actually! The Emporium sort of popped into my head fully formed. I could see this strange old shop so clearly in my head, the sparkling black brick and ...

More About Ross MacKenzie

More Books By Ross MacKenzie

Cover for The Colour of Hope by Ross MacKenzie
Cover for Feast of the Evernight  by Ross MacKenzie
Cover for Evernight by Ross MacKenzie
View All Books By Ross MacKenzie

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×