LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Nowhere Emporium

Written by Ross MacKenzie

Part of the Kelpies Series

The Nowhere Emporium Synopsis

Winner of the Blue Peter Best Story Award 2016 and the Scottish Children's Book Award 2016, and the North East Book Award 2015. When the mysterious Nowhere Emporium arrives in Glasgow, orphan Daniel Holmes stumbles upon it quite by accident. Before long, the 'shop from nowhere' -- and its owner, Mr Silver -- draw Daniel into a breathtaking world of magic and enchantment. Recruited as Mr Silver's apprentice, Daniel learns the secrets of the Emporium's vast labyrinth of passageways and rooms -- rooms that contain wonders beyond anything Daniel has ever imagined. But when Mr Silver disappears, and a shadow from the past threatens everything, the Emporium and all its wonders begin to crumble. Can Daniel save his home, and his new friends, before the Nowhere Emporium is destroyed forever? Ross MacKenzie unleashes a riot of imagination, colour and fantasy in this astonishing adventure, perfect for fans of Philip Pullman, Cornelia Funke and Neil Gaiman.

The Nowhere Emporium Press Reviews

'Perfect for fans who love magic and Harry Potter so another winner from Kelpies. It's my new favourite to hand sell!' -- Sharleene Creasey, Seven Stories bookshop 'The author will dazzle you and entice you to feast your imagination on the story ahead.' -- Mr Ripley's Enchanted Books '... an absolute delight to read from the very first moment. MacKenzie has created a sumptuous, sparkling world that any reader will be loathe to leave... reads like The Night Circus for children and will leave the reader with a similar sense of having just read a very special book indeed.' -- welovethisbook 'Arguably one of the best children's books in the last 10 years!' -- The Reader Teacher 'The Shop is right up there with Ollivanders as a magical place that readers will want to explore again and again.' -- Jennifer Bell, The Guardian 'The story itself it a true wonder to read. The story is dripping with powerful language, emotive descriptions and wonderful characterisation, providing a multitude of opportunities to use the book as the centre of English reading and writing development.' -- Thousand Lives 'The writing offers out its hand to take you on the most breathtaking of journeys. It's glorious.' -- Blog of a Bookaholic 'Provides everything it takes to keep a young reader enthralled -- magic, mystery, an intrepid hero, his colourful allies, and -- best of all -- a chilling and lethal villain.' -- An Awfully Big Blog Adventure 'MacKenzie sure knows how to take his readers on a journey! I was captured from the first page and I still don't think I was let go at the last. There is something very special about this book.' -- Rebecca, Madeleine Lindley 'Down-to-earth yet lyrical prose and vivid characters make for an exciting, satisfying read.' -- Children's Books Ireland 'Full of time travel, illusions and twists that take you in every direction with every chapter you read. A monumental tale that will keep you guessing right to the very end.' -- My Book Corner 'Filled to the brim with imagination. MacKenzie's writing will have young readers enthusiastically reaching for their pencils to write their own magical stories.' -- Babyccino 'Ideal for those who love colourful, imaginary worlds full of magical events.' -- Serendipity Reviews 'MacKenzie creates a dazzling fantasy world, so engaging and vivid it reminds one of Cornelia Funke's books. Young readers... will be entranced.' -- Andrea Reece, lovereading4kids 'An amazing book filled with magic and excitement. If you like Harry Potter and Dr Who, you will love this!' -- Tomasz, age 9, lovereading4kids '...a cracking good story with convincingly elaborated magical elements and characters that are clearly drawn, and it keeps you turning the page.' -- Books for Keeps 'A real treat for anyone with an imagination... This is Ross Mackenzie at his best.' -- Elaine Clarke, Junior School Teacher, George Heriots School 'It is a story that stays with you once you put it down, makes you worry about the characters when you are not reading, and makes you imagine how they lived their lives after that last sentence. And that is when you know you have something special!' -- Midnight Readers blogspot 'This is a delightful book, a joy of a book, a veritable feast for the imagination.' -- Gordon Askew, magicfictionsincepotter blogspot 'Best book I've ever read' -- 9yrs boy, Toppsta 'As you read the story it feels like it's pulling you in bit by bit and it keeps you excited ... I enjoyed every moment.' -- Joseph, age 8, National Geographic Kids 'Delectable writing, an excellent plot and extraordinary friendships provide for an enchanting read. I hope that you'll pick this up and give it a read, as it's truly proof that books are kind of magical portal.' -- NetGalley 'Whimsical and downright magical, a must for a middle grade fantasy fan.' -- NetGalley, Librarian 'I thoroughly enjoyed the characters, the plot was perfectly paced and kept me utterly hooked (to the point where I read it in one glorious gulp over a Sunday afternoon) and the world building was quite honestly exceptional. All in all, I loved this a whole lot and I can't wait to get my hands on the upcoming sequel the Elsewhere Emporium soon! 5/5' -- Golden Books Girl 'Absolutely incredible. I just don't have the words for this. The evil villain, the tragic back story, the brilliant background characters, magpies, friendship, family... ALL INCREDIBLE. Throw in a massive dollop of magic and a writing style that you just can't help but devour and you get this special book. I need more NOW. PLUS... There's a sequel coming out and I GENUINELY CAN'T WAIT. Bring it on. I love a sequel. The Elsewhere Emporium, guys. I'm excited.' -- alittlebutalot, book blogger

Book Information

ISBN: 9781782501251
Publication date: 23rd January 2020
Author: Ross MacKenzie
Publisher: Floris Books
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 288 pages

About Ross MacKenzie

Ross MacKenzie is the author of The Nowhere Emporium, winner of the Blue Peter Award and the Scottish Children's Book Award. He lives in Renfrew, where he grew up, with his wife and two daughters, but spends much of his time in another world.

More About Ross MacKenzie

More Books By Ross MacKenzie

Cover for Evernight by Ross MacKenzie
Cover for Shadowsmith by Ross MacKenzie
Cover for The Nowhere Emporium by Ross MacKenzie
View All Books By Ross MacKenzie

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×