Young Houdini: The Demon Curse by Simon Nicholson
  

Young Houdini: The Demon Curse

Written by Simon Nicholson

9+ readers   11+ readers   eBooks   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

This is the second book in Simon Nicholson’s adventure series about street-wise orphan and aspiring magician Harry Houdini, and invents a young life for the world’s most famous escapologist. It hasn’t come a moment too soon! Book one ended with Harry and his friends Billie and Arthur drugged and at the mercy of the mysterious White Crow. This one opens with a breath-taking escape from a locked suitcase, the first in a number of death-defying, don’t-try-this-at-home exploits for Harry. Set this time in the steamy American south, this is more page-turning stuff, with magic and illusion from both Harry and his enemies adding an extra thrill. Great for fans of Young Sherlock or Young Bond. ~ Andrea Reece

Synopsis

Young Houdini: The Demon Curse by Simon Nicholson

Young Houdini: The Demon Curse is the second book in the electrifying Young Houdini series. New Orleans, 1886. When the city's mayor is struck down by a terrifying, unexplained illness, whispers of voodoo and demonic magic are everywhere. Could it be that the mayor is the victim of a deadly curse? Harry is about to find out. Along with his best friends Billie and Artie he will travel to the deep, dark heart of the Mississippi river, using his extraordinary skills to investigate the mystery. But evil forces are at work and soon Harry will face his most lethal challenge yet ...can he unravel the truth before it's too late?

About the Author

A BAFTA nominated writer.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
224 pages

Author

Simon Nicholson
More books by Simon Nicholson

Author's Website

http://www.simonbnicholson....

Publisher

Oxford University Press

Publication date

7th May 2015

ISBN

9780192734761

Categories


We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****