LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The King's Revenge

Written by Philip Womack

Part of the Darkening Path Series

Fantasy / Magical Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 13+ readers

LoveReading View on The King's Revenge

A story of knights and gods, a quest that takes its characters through wild and strange landscapes, a tale of courage and loyalty in the face of terrifying opponents, The King’s Revenge brings Philip Womack’s much lauded Darkening Path trilogy to a thrilling conclusion (though for those who haven’t read the preceding books, it’s a satisfying adventure in its own right). Reunited with their sister and brother, friends Simon and Flora face one final challenge in the world of the Broken King, but it’s their most difficult yet; fail, and everything in the kingdom will die. As they set off on their quest, there’s a wonderful sense of comradeship.  The world Womack creates rings with echoes of favourite myth and history, but is unique to his vision.  The writing is excellent, this is children’s fantasy of the highest order.

Perfect for fans of T H White’s The Once and Future King, or Susan Cooper’s The Dark is Rising sequence. ~ Andrea Reece

The Darkening Path series :

The Broken King

The King's Shadow

The King's Revenge

LoveReading4Kids

The King's Revenge Synopsis

The King’s Revenge, the third and final book in The Darkening Path trilogy, following The King’s Shadow (published in 2015) is the thrilling culmination of Womack’s acclaimed fantasy adventure in which friends Simon and Flora manage to rescue their sister and brother from the Broken King. Although their mission appeared to be completed with the death of the king, in a final act of revenge he has set a trap: nobody can pass between the worlds and now the worlds will decay and die. Simon and Flora face their most dangerous journey yet to reach the home of the Threefold Goddess. Their courage and loyalty will be tested to the limit as they battle with terrifying otherworldly creatures to reach her and find out what has gone wrong. Can they save all three worlds from dying and return home?      

The King's Revenge Reader Reviews

Some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were lucky enough to read and review the first book in this series, The Broken King.

  • Benjy Randall, age 10 - 'A very good book, read if you like adventures stories with lots of magic.' Read full review >
  • Robert White, age 10 - 'I loved this book; I could never put it down. A five star read! The Broken King is a mighty action packed book filled with magical creatures of all kinds.' Read full review >
  • Emily Passmore, age 13 - 'Imaginative, interesting and just amazing, this book is a definite for anyone who has a love of fantasy. Just trust me, read it!' Read full review >
  • Sam Harper, age 10 - 'This was an exhilarating, dark adventure which kept me hooked from the first page to the last word. The creatures were terrifying and amazing. Fantastic!' Read full review >
  • Sidney Greenslade, age 10 - 'A fast-paced tale of danger, magic and adventure...I was gripped from the very first page and I can't wait to read book two in the Darkening Path series. I highly recommend this book.' Read full review >
  • Rose Heathcote, age 15 - 'FANTASTICALLY written fantasy adventure, from the day it arrived it didn't leave my hands.  It will capture your imagination from the very first page. I can’t wait for book two to be published.' Read full review >
  • Daisy Theobald, age 11 - 'I extremely enjoyed this book, it is one of my favourite books that I have ever read. It gripped me from page one.' Read full review >

The King's Revenge Press Reviews

Praise for The Darkening Path series

A darkly disconcerting high fantasy. - Imogen Russell Williams, Literary Review

Electrifying tale of portals into different magical worlds. - Susan Elkin, Independent on Sunday

Giants, dwarfs and magic all bubble in the mix. – Suzy Feay, Financial Times

Philip Womack is one of the best contemporary authors of children’s fantasy. - Philip Reeve

A cracking pace, enigmatic characters and terrifying adversaries. – Sarah Naughton

Like Alan Garner, Philip Womack takes ancient fairytales about searching for a child kidnapped by dark magic,
and turns it into a haunting adventure exploring love, courage, fear and friendship. Written with sensitivity,
intelligence and conviction, it’s the kind of classic story readers can’t get enough of. – Amanda Craig

If you loved this, you might like these...

Viper's Daughter
The Goldsmith and the Master Thief
Northern Lights
The Iron Man

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781909991309
Publication date: 28/05/2016
Publisher: Troika Books
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781909991309
Publication date: 28th May 2016
Author: Philip Womack
Publisher: Troika Books
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 304 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 13+ readers
Genres: Fantasy / Magical
Recommendations: Reviewed by Children

About Philip Womack

Philip Womack was born in Chichester in the middle of a thunderstorm in 1981.He was educated at Lancing, and Oriel College, Oxford, where he read Classics and English. He lives in London. He is currently a Contributing Editor at Literary Review and writes for  The Daily Telegraph and The Guardian, among other papers; he is also a Fellow at First Story, currently being Writer in Residence at St Augustine's in Kilburn. He has led workshops on Greek Tragedy and How to Write Children's Fiction for the How To: Academy. Read a Q&A with the author here.  

More About Philip Womack

More Books By Philip Womack

Cover for The Arrow of Apollo by Philip Womack
Cover for The Double Axe by Philip Womack
Cover for The King's Shadow by Philip Womack
View All Books By Philip Womack

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×