LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Spangles McNasty and the Fish of Gold

Written by Steve Webb

Illustrated by Chris Mould

Part of the Spangles McNasty Series

Write A Review

Spangles McNasty and the Fish of Gold Review

Adventure Stories Featured Books for 7+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Humorous

To the canon of disgusting, disreputable villains loved by children – the Twits, Mr Gum, Armitage Shanks – can now be added Spangles McNasty and his sidekick Sausage-face Pete. To give you an idea of how nasty Spangles is, his ideal day would include collecting (ie stealing) something spangly from an old lady in a library, whilst eating cold chips, farting, pulling a face and shouting all at the same time. Spangles plans to steal all the goldfish in the town of Bitterly Bay because he thinks they’re made of real gold, but he’s reckoned without young Freddie Taylor. With its zany plot, an abundance of the fanciful imagery and word play that young readers love, and highly eccentric cast of characters, this is unadulterated fun!

Perfect for fans of Mr Gum, readers who enjoy the adventures of Spangles McNasty will also like William Sutcliffe’s Circus of Thieves books. ~ Andrea Reece

LoveReading4Kids

Spangles McNasty and the Fish of Gold Synopsis

Welcome to Bitterly Bay. Spangles McNasty has decided to spend his summer doing what he loves the most: shouting at babies, pulling faces at old ladies, eating cold chips from bins and best of all, collecting other people's spangly things! Having convinced themselves that goldfish are made of gold and that they grow to the size of whales, Spangles and his friend Sausage-face Pete decide to find the great Fish of Gold. They'll be rich forever! Only young Freddie Taylor can stop Spangles' dastardly plan, in a tale full of time-travelling jet skis, madcap chases and haunted custard. It is a tale so odd, your mind-cogs will jam with happiness for ever after!

Spangles McNasty and the Fish of Gold Press Reviews

'Skullduggery, thievery and anarchic humour in a heavily illustrated tale for fans of Mr Gum.' Fiona Noble The Bookseller


If you loved this, you might like these...

The Game Master: Summer Schooled
The Caravan at the Edge of Doom
Future Friend
Dog Man 10: Mothering Heights

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781783444007
Publication date: 05/05/2016
Publisher: Andersen Press Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781783444007
Publication date: 5th May 2016
Author: Steve Webb
Illustrator: Chris Mould
Publisher: Andersen Press Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 176 pages
Suitable for: 7+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, Humorous
Other Categories: Books for Boys

About Steve Webb

Steve Webb was born in Newcastle, and studied at Bristol Art College. He is also the author of the successful Tanka Tanka Skunk. He currently lives in the Peak District with his three children.

More About Steve Webb

More Books By Steve Webb

Cover for Spangles McNasty and the Diamond Skull by Steve Webb
Cover for Spangles McNasty and the Tunnel of Doom by Steve Webb
Cover for Tanka Tanka Skunk by Steve Webb
View All Books By Steve Webb

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×