LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Spangles McNasty and the Tunnel of Doom

Written by Steve Webb

Illustrated by Chris Mould

Part of the Spangles McNasty Series

Write A Review

Spangles McNasty and the Tunnel of Doom Review

Adventure Stories Featured Books for 7+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Humorous

In a nutshell: a roller-coaster ride of zany anarchic fun  |   Spangles McNasty is an absolute rotter, the sort of menace happiest when eating cold chips from bins, shouting at babies, and farting in the library – preferably all at the same time. He is therefore the perfect hero for this kind of anarchic adventure and for readers who revel in descriptions of bad, bad behaviour. In this latest outing, the surprise inheritance of a roller-coaster sparks Spangle’s latest get-filthy-rich quick plans. As ever he has his pungent friend Sausage-face Pete to help, and young Freddie Taylor to stop him in his tracks. With its zany plot, eccentric characters and inventive word-play this is as much fun as a ride on a roller-coaster. 

Perfect for fans of Mr Gum, readers who enjoy the adventures of Spangles McNasty will also like William Sutcliffe’s Circus of Thieves books.  ~ Andrea Reece

LoveReading4Kids

Spangles McNasty and the Tunnel of Doom Synopsis

Spangles McNasty is horrible to everyone and likes to do vile things like eat cold chips out of bins and pull faces at old ladies. And would you believe it, Spangles has inherited a rollercoaster called the Tunnel of Doom! But when Spangles and his bonkers friend Sausage-face Pete go to see it, they soon realise it's a good for nothing piece of junk. If they want to make any lovely money from it, they'll need to do some hard work and repair it. Spangles won't stand for that, and soon his devious mind-cogs are a-whirring, and he comes up with a dastardly plot to get rich quick. Yet again, it's up to local boy Freddie Taylor to chase Spangles on the rickety old rollercoaster and stop him in his tracks!

Spangles McNasty and the Tunnel of Doom Press Reviews

'Skullduggery, thievery and anarchic humour in a heavily illustrated tale for fans of Mr Gum' The Bookseller

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Game Master: Summer Schooled
The Caravan at the Edge of Doom
Future Friend
Dog Man 10: Mothering Heights

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781783445080
Publication date: 02/03/2017
Publisher: Andersen Press Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781783445080
Publication date: 2nd March 2017
Author: Steve Webb
Illustrator: Chris Mould
Publisher: Andersen Press Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 208 pages
Suitable for: 7+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, Humorous

About Steve Webb

Steve Webb was born in Newcastle, and studied at Bristol Art College. He is also the author of the successful Tanka Tanka Skunk. He currently lives in the Peak District with his three children.

More About Steve Webb

More Books By Steve Webb

Cover for Spangles McNasty and the Diamond Skull by Steve Webb
Cover for Spangles McNasty and the Fish of Gold by Steve Webb
Cover for Tanka Tanka Skunk by Steve Webb
View All Books By Steve Webb

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×