LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Dollmaker of Krakow

Written by R. M. Romero

Debuts of the Month Fantasy / Magical Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Historical Fiction Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on The Dollmaker of Krakow

One of Our Books of the Year 2017 | October 2017 Debut of the Month

 

In a Nutshell: An enchantingly heartrending conjuration that weaves folklore magic with the darkness of Nazi-occupied Poland. 

Karolina is a living doll who’s been transported from the Land of the Dolls on a “kind wind” following a cruel war with the rats. She wakes “in her new world with a glass heart”, in the workshop of a dollmaker in Krakow, Poland. When Karolina speaks to him, the Dollmaker is certain that he’s lost his mind. He made her, after all, “and I can’t make something that comes to life,” he reasons. But Karolina explains that “gardeners do it all the time with flowers”.

Through shimmering, lyrical language, and Karolina’s consummate compassion, we are witness to a transformation in the crotchety widower Dollmaker. He begins to smile, to make friends, to feel light and hope. And then, when darkness descends on their city in the form of the Nazis, together they must use their newfound magic to save their friends, no matter what. The author does not shirk from relating the brutal realities of the Jewish experience in Nazi-occupied Poland, yet the overriding message is one of hope and love, and the wondrousness of acts of kindness. This is a sublimely big-souled book, with an exquisite ambiance of timelessness. ~ Joanne Owen

The Dollmaker of Krakow Synopsis

A timeless fantasy set in the Second World War that weaves together magic, folklore and history, perfect for fans of The Book Thief, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and Goodnight Mister Tom.

One night a little doll named Karolina comes to life in a toyshop in Krakow, Poland, in 1939 and changes the life of the gruff, broken-hearted Dollmaker. And when the darkness of the Nazi occupation sweeps over the city, Karolina and the Dollmaker must bravely use their magic to save their Jewish friends from a terrible danger, no matter what the risks. This powerful story is about finding friendship in the darkest of places and the importance of love in times of great pain.

If you loved this, you might like these...

In the Shadow of Heroes
The Ice Monster
The Treasure at the Top of the World
The Lost Island

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781406379822
Publication date: 06/09/2018
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781406375633
Publication date: 05/10/2017
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781406375633
Publication date: 5th October 2017
Author: R. M. Romero
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 288 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Fantasy / Magical, Historical Fiction
Recommendations: Debuts of the Month, eBooks
Other Categories: Books of the Year

About R. M. Romero

R.M. Romero is a Cuban-American author who lives with her family and a menagerie of pets in Colorado. Currently, she occupies her time working in a haunted hotel, reading fairy tales, hiking, studying languages, and writing every moment she gets.

More About R. M. Romero

More Books By R. M. Romero

Cover for The Dollmaker of Krakow by R. M. Romero
View All Books By R. M. Romero

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×