The Girl with the Dragon Heart

Written by Stephanie Burgis

Illustrated by Freya Hartas

Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers General Fiction Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on The Girl with the Dragon Heart

In a nutshell: delicious mix of intrigue, dragons, fairies – and chocolate!

Like the first adventure in this series, The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart, this is a clever and inventive fantasy, with characters readers will love. This time Silke is the hero of the story – smooth-talking, determined, but more than a bit reckless. When the Crown Princess recruits her to spy on a royal party of fairies who have suddenly arrived to set up trade partnerships, Silke is both excited and alarmed – she knows how dangerous the fairies can be.  As well as being a thrilling story - girl and her dragon best friend versus malevolent fairies - this is also about love, trust and loyalty, and slips in subtle messages too about refugees, and the importance of welcoming people who need a home. I hope there’ll be another book in this excellent series.

Andrea Reece

The Girl with the Dragon Heart Synopsis

Silke has always been good at spinning the truth and storytelling. So good that since arriving as a penniless orphan, she has found her way up to working for the most splendid chocolate makers in the city (oh, and becoming best friends with a dragon). Now her gift for weaving words has caught the eye of the royal family, who want to use her as a spy when the mysterious and dangerous fairy royal family announces it will visit the city. But Silke has her own dark, secret reasons for not trusting fairies ... Can Silke find out the truth about the fairies while keeping her own secrets hidden?

From the author of the magical The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart comes a second magical adventure perfect for fans of Cressida Cowell and Cornelia Funke

The Girl with the Dragon Heart Reader Reviews

Some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel members were lucky enough to read and review the first in this series, The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart. Click here to read their full reviews.

  • Zoe Basson, age 9 - 'This book filled me with pleasure, exactly the same kind that you get from chocolate, but in word form...This book taught me to stand out from the crowd, stand up for myself and the importance of friendship.'
  • Toby Little, age 9 - 'I liked this book because it’s full of excitement and happiness, and a tiny bit of sadness. Sometimes, the people you love don’t share your passion, and you have to decide where you belong.'
  • Isaac East, age 10 - 'The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart deserves 10 out of 10 for its perfect mix of adventure, laughs and a lot of action.'
  • Tomasz Hawryszczuk, age 11 - 'Not your typical dragon/human story you might expect. Throw in a bit of chocolate, a dragon who transforms into a girl and you have a great story that will fire your imagination.'
  • Anya Fuller, age 9 - 'A wonderful book full of dragons, dreams, chocolate and friendship.'
  • Suhaiba Khan, age 8 - 'A wonderful read where you easily get lost in the world of dragons and chocolate.'
  • Mariyya Khan, age 10 - 'This book is amazing (also very chocolatey). If I were you I would read this book as soon as you see it...it’s amazing!!!!'
  • Alexander Bisland, age 11 - 'I recommend this book to 9+ make-believe lovers and chocoholics. I thought this book was slow to start off with but I soon got into it and wanted to read on.'
  • Ellen, age 7 - 'This book is epic, amazing and outstanding in everything!  I really really loved this book because the dragons are said to be fierce but actually they are very nice.'

The Girl with the Dragon Heart Press Reviews

A glorious whirlwind: city streets, royal courts, dragons, princesses and the dark webs and darker designs of the fairies under the earth. The colours leave you spinning, the air is chocolate scented, there is a storytelling heroine with a quest ... You couldn't ask for more!   Hilary McKay

Praise for the Dragon with a Chocolate Heart

Funny, moving and deliciously full of chocolate, I loved it!   Holly Webb

Dragons, best friends and chocolate! All my favourite ingredients in one gorgeous story   Hilary McKay

If you loved this, you might like these...

You Ain't Seen Nothing Yeti!
Max Einstein: The Genius Experiment
Snowglobe
Pirate Blunderbeard: Worst. Movie. Ever.

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781408880777
Publication date: 09/08/2018
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens Books an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781408880777
Publication date: 9th August 2018
Author: Stephanie Burgis
Illustrator: Freya Hartas
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens Books an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 288 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: General Fiction
Recommendations: eBooks
Other Categories: Reviewed by Children

About Stephanie Burgis

Stephanie Burgis decided to be a writer when she was seven and sold her first short story when she was fifteen. She fell in love with Regency England when she discovered the novels of Jane Austen and Georgette Heyer. Now she writes full-time and lives in Yorkshire with her husband, fellow writer Patrick Samphire, their son, and their crazy-but-sweet border collie, Maya. She wrote A Most Improper Magick while living in an old stone cottage in Yorkshire, where the story is set.

More About Stephanie Burgis

More Books By Stephanie Burgis

Cover for The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart by Stephanie Burgis
Cover for A Tangle of Magicks by Stephanie Burgis
Cover for A Most Improper Magick by Stephanie Burgis
View All Books By Stephanie Burgis

Share this book

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.